Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.

<p>The LG DRT389H DVD recorder allows you to record programmes directly to all DVD disc types while also upscaling them to near HD quality. It comes with a built-in Freeview and an 8 day programme guide, making it even easier to record your favourite shows. The USB port allows you to play media from a memory stick and it has an impressive selection of formats that it supports. </p><p>DVD recorder</p><ul><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>8 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>Upscales to 1080p.</li><li>Progressive scan.</li><li>Playback compatibility: DVD, DivX, .</li><li>Recording compatibility: DVD-R/RW and DVD+R/RW.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 HDMI port.</li><li>2 SCART inputs.</li><li>1 USB port.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required 1 x AAA (included) .</li><li>Size H4.9, W43, D24.5cm.</li><li>Weight 2.6kg.</li><li>On mode power consumption 18 watts.</li></ul><p>EAN/Barcode No: 8801031162185</p>
Overall rating:
4.367 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 300 reviews
5 Stars
176
4 Stars
90
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
6
1 Star
13
204 of 23487%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Review 1 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
inexpensive d vd recorder
Posted04 November 2013
Customer avatar
By mitilda
From:carmarthenshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" easy to manage and does what it is suppose todo "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LG DVD Recorder.
Posted29 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Cliffie
From:Cleveland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A very good well priced machine for anybody who still likes to record onto your own discs. Supports most disc types.
I would recommend this machine if you dont require a hard disc recorder.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic value
Posted29 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Chez
From:St Andrews
Age:45 to 54
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to operate. Does all that is required from a DVD recorder "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted08 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Steve
From:Swindon
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Extremely good value for money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it says on the tin
Posted08 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Clive
From:UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Stretched picture when recording from a virgin cable TV HD box. OK on Freeview SD. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased
Posted01 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Steven1963
From:Woking, Surrey, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I was very much in need of a new DVD recorder, but did not need one with a hard drive as I have all my things either on my sky box, Or old discs, so this LG recorder was perfect for me.
Very easy to use it does what it says on the tin, great quality picture great sound, and nice and quiet.
Would definitely recommend this product.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Think twice before buying.
Posted28 September 2013
Customer avatar
By MJS
From:Ayrshire, Scotland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" As this had high definition upscaling, I jumped to the conclusion that it would get HD channels. It doesn't. (I've made this mistake before. Perhaps this should be made more clear on all television adverts.)
Unlike other reviewers, I didn't find the setup at all easy.
It isn't bad for the price, but I wouldn't recommend it. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliable DVD recording
Posted25 September 2013
Customer avatar
By PAGs
From:West Berkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I purchased this to replace the same product that conked out after a couple of years. It is not state of the art but is an easy to use DVD recorder that gives a great picture/sound without the frills. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't Bother!
Posted18 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Ynis
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" The manual for this product was not laymen friendly. In fact I had to take it to PC World to set it up.
Within one week it was asking me if I wanted it to format pre-recorded DVDs!
I tried to record on the Verbatim DVD+RW and although it was successful at first with a couple of days it kept saying disc error or no disc.
The whole thing was very fraustrating and I never felt more delighted in returning a product as I did with this one!!
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
L.G. Digital DVD Recorder.
Posted16 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Robbo 57
From:Devon
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very easy to set up and has a good range of functions. All round good value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Remote control
Posted09 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Ian
From:Redcar, Redcar and Cleveland, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" The Volume/Mute/Programme change functions on the remote control did no work. I contacted LG directly and they were very helpful. The problem was that I needed a code to sync the remote with the DVD recorder. The LG guy helped me through it. Its OK now. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
value for money dvd recorder
Posted07 September 2013
Customer avatar
By smithy
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Amazing value for money! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Only lasted a week
Posted04 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Egbert
From:Leicestershire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" When it worked, it was quite good. It handled most of my discs OK, but sadly missed the end off some recordings by perhaps a minute or so, even though there was enough space on the disc. However, after about a week, it took longer and longer to start up until it just said hello on the display, and got no further. Argos were very good and gave me an immediate refund as they didn't have any more in stock locally. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LG DRT389H DIGITAL DVD RECORDER
Posted28 August 2013
Customer avatar
By harris
From:uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A VERY GOOD BUY FOR THE PRICE. ITS NOT GOT A HARD DISC BUT ITS JUST WHAT I NEEDED "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a DVD recorder (no HD or HDD)
Posted22 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Proxima
Age:45 to 54
" As long as you understand the title to this review then you wont be disappointed. I record a heck of a lot and this purchase was to replace a recorder of the exact make/model that I worked to death.
No freeview plus, no hard disk so if you need/want those then avoid - otherwise well worth the money! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
simple and easy to use.
Posted06 August 2013
Customer avatar
By TopGearGordon
From:Margate,Kent
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" A great DVD recorder that is simple to use and most importantly for "technophobes" like me easy to set up. Reasonably priced too.Yes i could recommend this to someone else.I would have given it 5 stars but it is not HD it does use LG's 1080 up scaling whatever that?, is but its not as good as a full Model though !. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LG DRT389H Digital Recorder
Posted01 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Rob
From:Wiltshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" The recorder was easy to set up and on the LP setting to record the picture quality is good. It is very straight forward to record using the EPG menu. A useful feature on the handset is being able to set it up to control basic functions on my Sony television. I would have liked a programme scan for the DVD tuner, but overall this is a good product . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder
Posted30 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Biker 56
From:Warwickshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Better quality image / sound than previous recorder, But had to finalize the previous discs on my previous machine, before this machine would recognize them. (So don't wait for your "old" machine to die). "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EASY TO SET-UP & USE.ALSO LOOKS SMART
Posted23 July 2013
Customer avatar
By David 17
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Easy to set-up instructions. Excellent recording quality.
Looks smart with the Sky+HD box on top.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for LG DRT389H Digital DVD Recorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product
Posted23 July 2013
Customer avatar
By MrsS
From:Wirral, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" This is a replacement for a previously faulty one that was still in warrantee. No quibble replacement. The main feature I like about this recorder is that if you mark a program for record and the previous program has run over it will not start the record until the actual program starts. With my previous make this was a continued problem of missing the start or end of a program. Very impressed with LG. Just hope that the problem that I encountered with the replaced one is not inherent to LG. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 Next >>>