Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.

White outside and black inside. Visible screen size 7in. LCD TFT widescreen. Screen resolution 480 x 234. Brightness 200Cd/m2. Contrast ration 250:1. Dolby sound system. Supports region code 2. Playback compatibility DVD, Picture CD, SVCD, Video CD, DVD-R / -RW, MP3-CD, CD-R / CD-RW, DVD+R / +RW, CD, CD-RW, MP3-CD, CD-R, MPEG4. DivX playback. Remote control requires 1 x CR2025 3V battery, supplied. AC/DC adaptor, car kit (cigarette outlet adaptor 12vDC), 1 x AV cable. 12V battery operated via cigarette lighter, cord supplied. Built-in batteries. Battery life 2 hours. Size (H)3.7, (W)19.7, (D)15.3cm. Weight 0.71kg.
Overall rating:
4.676 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Review 1 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted10 June 2009
Customer avatar
By JDLR
From:Perth & Kinross
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The DVD player was purchased for a child with special needs, so it had to be robust - there is, ofcourse, no way of telling whether or not it will be, until you have seen it, that is, until you have bought it!
It APPEARS very light-weight and does not feel robust, but perhaps it is just cleverly designed - time will tell! It works well, and its new owner is happy with it so far! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
rubbish
Posted10 June 2009
Customer avatar
By bob
From:bolton
Picture Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" kept on pausing during a trip a aboard poor packeting and would not reccomed to anyone travelling i bought Toshiba SDP71SKTB 7in Portable DVD Player.much better "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfied customer
Posted12 May 2009
Customer avatar
By AnnieH
From:Surrey
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very happy with this purchase, looks good but also sturdy, easy to use and good picture and sound quality "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dvd player
Posted11 February 2009
Customer avatar
By elana909
From:Lancashire
" very nice player, sound clear, picture clear, nice size screen, would recommend to a friend. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By Nicky
From:Cheshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this item after returning two acoustic solutions pink dvd players which were both faulty. This item was well worth the extra money and my five year old daughter loves it. It works really well and is good quality. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By ppmito
From:Cheshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great little player, tried many others, this always give a great performance, and will take the knocks and bangs, will also convert easily to muli-region. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dvd palyer
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By Mark
From:Cambridgeshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" purchased for elderly relative...easy to use and pleased with quality "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good exchange
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By kirsty
From:surrey
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" this product was bought in exchange with another dvd player that was bought for a christmas present. overall a good product but considering 'higher quality' has less 'attachments' than cheaper players ie headphones "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ideal for what we want
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By Hayley
From:Isle of Wight
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I looked through the internet for a good deal for a portable DVD player for our Honeymoon in New Zealand & Fiji (lots of stops in airports!) I couldn't find any better deal than the price for this one. I really brought it for the brand - I know Phillips is a name you can trust. Only tried it when we first got it to make sure it works ok and it did!! Very light and nice looking - would recommend. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent little item
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By coco
From:cornwall
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Smart looking design, compact but great picture quality. At the price I think it is a very good buy! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted31 January 2009
Customer avatar
By eileen
From:liverpool
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" great product,easy to use,sound quality average, plays all cds+dvds,picture great. ideal for all age groups. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very useful purchase
Posted17 January 2009
Customer avatar
By Lissy
From:Kent
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" So far so good! Bought for 9 year old daughter who has used it alot on recent long car journeys. She has also used it at home to watch her own dvds, which means she can still sit with the family. It replaced an Acoustic Solutions one which stopped working, although that one was a nice shade of pink, my daughter prefers this one as it has a built in battery, therefore very convenient, compact and easy to use. Picture quality is good too. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy for kids
Posted16 January 2009
Customer avatar
By claire
From:hants
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We bought this on Christmas Eve and its been brilliant.It comes with the car charger and a plug for the wall so you never have it not working really. The sound is fine unless you are on a motorway but you could buy headphones. The only drawback is no carrycase but Im sure they are less than a tenner so perfect all round. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Christmas Present
Posted16 January 2009
Customer avatar
By Lou
From:Durham
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" We bought this portable DVD player for our son who is 10 for christmas and he loves it. He has found it easy to transport,use and watch and wherever he goes so does it. It is easy to recharge and the picture quality is great. A superb buy. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good buy
Posted16 January 2009
Customer avatar
By Jackie
From:Essex
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Would recommend anyone to buy as no separate battery to attach as with other players.
Bought for my 4 year old grand daughter for Christmas. She finds it easy to use. Plays all formats + and - and rewrites so I can record some of her favourite tv shows on DVD.
I bought the travel case which was advertised with the player. This was not very good as the player could not be attached to the car seat securely. The player is too small for the case. The quality was also poor with very little padding to protect the player.
The Phillips case would probably be a more viable option. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philip DVD player is a good product
Posted15 January 2009
Customer avatar
By princess
From:UK
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" There is noting to talk about, just that i love the product and also Argos is a good place to puchase good product with different manufacturers. So it depends on the product you want. Also Philips is a good manufactures and everlasting. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted14 January 2009
Customer avatar
By RUBY
From:Romford, Essex
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Took abroad xmas and new year. Excellent to watch while I was having an afternoon relax. It will also be good when I take my grand-daughter on long car journeys. Well worth the money. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent portable DVD player
Posted14 January 2009
Customer avatar
By Adrian
From:Kent
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" An excellent way of entertaining the children and also a very decent DVD player generally. It can be much improved by adding a pair of external speakers. Has a rechargeable battery and can run from the mains. The quality of performance, features and build standard provide excellent value for money. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product
Posted14 January 2009
Customer avatar
By PatW
From:South Yorkshire
" This was purchased mainly as a means of being able to watch DVDs when the men in my life were watching other things on the one TV set that we have in the house. It's ideal for this, and also for watching DVDs in bed as an alternative to reading. The screen size is great and the player is easy to use. Sometimes travel on overnight coaches to holiday destinations and look forward to being able to pass the time by watching my favourite films and music! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips PET716/05 7in Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Player
Posted14 January 2009
Customer avatar
By buzios
From:Hampshire
" I bought those for my son and it has proved to be an excellent all round DVD player. I chose because of Philips brand name and also because it handled all disc types (which many don't) and came with a car kit. Picture quality is superb. Can find no faults so far. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>