Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.

Portable DVD player 7 inch visible screen size. TFT LCD screen. Resolution 480 x 234 pixels. Contrast ratio 250:1. Brightness 80cd/m. Shock resistant. DVD region 2. Playback compatibility: DVD, DVD-R/RW, DVD+R/RW DivX. 2 hours battery life during playback. Can be operated via a 12V car socket (cable included). Sound quality: Built-in speaker. 2 channel audio output. Dolby Digital decoding. 1 headphone socket. Additional information: Mains AC power adaptor included. Size H19.7, W15.3, D3.7cm. Weight 710g.
Overall rating:
4.55 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
36 of 3992%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Review 1 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portable DVD Player
Posted08 August 2010
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:West Midlands
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Only had it for a few weeks. Has all the feature you would expect from a portable DVD Player.
Good sound, picture and worked well in the car on the move with no break-up of picture.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Little Player!
Posted03 August 2010
Customer avatar
By Nic
From:Leicester
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is a great portable DVD player for the price it looks stylish, the screen is not a bad size and it has a good picture and sound quality. We brought it to use with our 2 year old when we go on holiday and travel long distances in the car, she loved it and so did we.
You get the mains and the car charger in the box which is great as others don’t supply both. Battery life is about 2 hours but I just plugged it in when using in the car so it did not run out.
The only down side is that the play/pause skip buttons etc are not very clearly marked as they are black the same as the rest of the player. The plus side to this is that when using with small children this prevents them pressing them as they don’t know they are there. I would recommend this product its well worth the money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Portable DVD Player
Posted07 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Penny
From:UK
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this for my 84 years old mother, its perfect for her when she doesn't feel well enough to watch the TV, she finds it easy to use but sound could be louder. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
a gift
Posted23 June 2010
Customer avatar
By deb
From:london
" bought as a gift for my sister so i cannot give any feedback on this product at the moment. my initial reaction though was that the screen seemed smaller than what was advertised. apart from this it seemed portable and compact enough for the purpose it was purchased. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Product
Posted08 June 2010
Customer avatar
By Leigh
From:Darlington
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this for my daughter who is 2.5yrs and she loves it! Great as you can put it on the headrest and she does not get sticky fingers all over it! The journey was much quieter for us parents as she sat and watched her favourite movies whilst we drove 7 hours to Cornwall. Its easy to use and the hold button on the side means if they do press buttons nothing happens. Sound is not as loud as I thought it would be but its a fab product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted25 May 2010
Customer avatar
By Vivien
From:Norfolk
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" An ideal product, at a good price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for kids in car
Posted25 May 2010
Customer avatar
By WFC
From:Herts
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is perfect for kids to use, it kept mine quiet for 2 hours in the car until the battery ran out. It comes with an in-car charger which I forgot to take. Simple to use, good value. The discounted 7in Black Portable DVD Gadget Bag I bought with it straps easily to headrest in car. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted12 May 2010
Customer avatar
By archie
From:wolverhampton
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" great small portable dvd player .good sound and great picture "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Long Journey? Kids? GET ONE OF THESE!
Posted11 May 2010
Customer avatar
By Gary
From:Durham
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" On planning a visit to the in-laws, a 400 mile round trip, we decided to invest in one of these players for our 2 1/2 year old daughter.
IDEA OF THE YEAR SO FAR!!
A trouble free, tantrum free, "are we there yet" free, 3 hour journey......NICE!
FOR: Build Quality, Picture Quality, Features
AGAINST: The black on black controls for play, pause etc are difficult to see. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good
Posted13 April 2010
Customer avatar
By Renard
From:Edinburgh
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very good DVD player.
Nice and compact with a built in battery which is a nice feature for use when traveling.
Doesn't have a remote but that is not a big problem.
Transformer is also nice and compact.
Very satisfied "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value for money
Posted30 March 2010
Customer avatar
By jackie
From:north warwickshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" this portable dvd is a great buy for the money the picture and sound are great, it also nice to look, the top looks like it might scratch easy, so I bought a case to store it in "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Life?
Posted19 March 2010
Customer avatar
By flockdog
From:Berkshire
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" the advert claims 2 hour battery life. If you charge this player till the red light goes out you will be lucky to get 1hr 20mins however if you charge it for approx 24hours you can just about squeeze 2hours from it. (we took one back and got a replacement believing the battery was faulty). Screen is not great in bright conditions but overall value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted17 March 2010
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:MIDDLESEX
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I BOUGHT THIS DVD PLAYER FOR MY 2 YEAR OLD FOR HIS B-DAY NEARLY 3 WEEKS AGO IT'S GREAT IN THE CAR OR IN THE HOUSE, IT HAS ALREADY BEEN KNOCK OVER , DROPPED DOWN THE STAIRS TO MY SHOCK IT HASN'T BROKEN SO TO ME IT DOES WHAT IT SAYS ON BOX, GREAT VALUE. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice !
Posted02 March 2010
Customer avatar
By Greg
From:Worcestershire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good purchase ! Quality player. Everything is great , except buttons. Function button are marked very poorly.To see what button it is you need check that from very close ( my eyesight is OK ).Otherwise all OK ! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By sstevens3452
From:Bedfordshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought for the kids to use in the car for long journey. Travelled up to family on Christmas morning - very easy to use - just plugged into cigarette lighter - and they were off. Very simple to use ! Good value for money ! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice and compact
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By tibby2
From:fife
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought 2 had to return 1 as it had totally scratched 3 dvds that had been played on it. Was replaced as were the dvds by Argos. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great dvd
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By angela
From:wishaw lanarkshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" the only problem i have with this dvd is that , while it looks great it is easily scratched, but having said that i got 2 one for a 5yr old & one for a 2yr old and they love them! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Philips Pet 7 in Portable DVD Player.
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Olga from Sheffield
From:South Yorkshire
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" My child like this dvd player.Very simple,and easy to use for child 3 years old.Good quality for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ever!!!
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By basiaghirl
From:Rayleigh, Essex
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this dvd player for my 4 year old son and he loves it, quality is fantastic, just what I expected from the brand LG, I am very happy with the product and would recommend to anyone considering buying a portable dvd player!!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips PET721D/05 7 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality DVD Player
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Mike
From:shropshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" after much seraching around for a DVD player for our youngest daughter I chose this one..its simple for her to operate ( shes only 6) has good battery life and the in car charger is very useful..picture quality is good and the screen size is also good..for the price paid this was a much better quality product than some of the more girly versions out there and my daughter is very happy with it. I think they may do a pink one now so that would be ideal for a girly girl...very happy with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>