Top-rated product

Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.

<p>This Toshiba Digital DVD Recorder and VCR combo allows you to record programmes directly to DVD discs whilst allowing you to watch VHS video tapes that are still in your collection. The DVR20 has built-in Freeview and also a HDMI port allowing for upscaling to near HD quality. </p><p>DVD recorder with VCR</p><ul><li>DVD region 2.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>8 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>Upscales to 1080p.</li><li>Playback compatibility: DVD, DivX.</li><li>Recording compatibility: DVD-R/RW and DVD+R/RW.</li></ul><p>VCR features:</p><ul><li>12 programme events timer.</li><li>Auto tuning.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 HDMI port.</li><li>2 SCART inputs.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required 2 x AA (included) .</li><li>Size H10, W43.5, D38.8cm.</li><li>Weight 4.9kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>On mode power consumption 35 watts.</li><li>Standby power consumption 5 watts.</li></ul><p>EAN: 5017151624974</p>
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 114 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
8
100 of 11488%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
195 Questions | 202 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Review 1 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TOSHIBA DVR20 VCR COMBI
Posted14 October 2014
Customer avatar
By HANDYMAN
From:Rowhedge, Colchester, Essex, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The unit can be linked to old & new kit . The unit has
av inputs & outputs + hmdi link.
The unit can up scale to H D .
You can record from tape to dvd . This will improve the
quality of the recording . The menus are a no brainier.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TOSHIBA VCR/DVD
Posted03 October 2014
Customer avatar
By jp
From:n wales
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"since aquiring the toshiba, two weeks ago, i have used it daily and it goes well.
the instuctions book needs to be studied carefully to get the right results.
copying cassette to dvd and tv to dvd went smoothly and produced good results(i haven't recorded tv to cassette yet as there is not much use for that).
overall i would recomend this product to others but bear in mind it has not had the full time test yet, only two weeks.
jp"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hope This is 3rd Time Lucky
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Judy
From:Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This is the 3rd one of these which I have had, the 2 previous one developed faults and had to be replaced. Each one developed a different fault and to be fair to Argos there was no problem getting them replaced. However the hassle involved in disconnecting the faulty unit and then connecting and tuning the replacement was a nuisance.I only hope this one doesn't develop a fault . I would say that when working properly it is a good piece of equipment."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toshiba DRV20 DVD/VCR recorder
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By segruts
From:England, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I am very pleased with this product as we still prefer the use of VCR Tapes for ease of use.
This machine satisfies all our requirements
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Toshiba Freeview DVD/VCR Combi
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Netty
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Good make, easy to use and good all round quality."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great Toshiba product.
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Dave 1
From:Glasgow
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This unit is perfect for those of you out there that still have a VHS collection, It has a VCR and DVD recorder which is perfect, and built in freeview. The freeview is easy to use, and playing of VHS and DVD is also easy to use. The instructions for the recording side of things need a bit of time to understand, be patient!, took me 4 hours...but once read, this machine is fantastic! works perfectly, Great quality and design, good purchase, i would recommend."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good purchase
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By TV Fan
From:Oxfordshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought to replace my combo that had an unrepairable VCR - that was five years old"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toshiba DVD/VCR Recorder
Posted11 September 2014
Customer avatar
By mick
From:england,Lancs.
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent quality,I bought this recorder to transfer a lot of old video tapes on to discs.It can record on both disc and tape so its very versatile.However,I actually use it to transfer tapes from its VCR deck to another DVD recorder! It's a lot easier editing wise than doing it on the one machine,hence 4 stars for ease of use.This of course is only my opinion and preference.I would still recomend it if you want a versatile recorder."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent in some ways, frustrating in others
Posted16 July 2014
Customer avatar
By S W.
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Plays tapes very well, makes good quality DVDs, and is very easy to use once you find out how (some functions are not at all obvious until you find the right part of the manual). There are problems though (e.g. the DVD title editing dialogue is awful).
It's particularly good at archiving old videotapes to DVD (which is what I bought it for), but has quite a few restrictions on what it allows you to do. It won't copy NTSC tapes, for example, and it won't write to 8xDVDs (16x worked fine)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
machine was defective
Posted09 July 2014
Customer avatar
By mal
From:Rhondda Cynon Taff
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I collected it, tried to set it up, spent 2hrs on the phone at my expense to Toshiba, before they agreed it was not working, then had to travel over 20 miles to return it to Argos, extremely disappointed. had a refund instead of the offer of a replacement of the same make"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has great features
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Sparkle
From:UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought it and had to take it back to the shop as there were faults but I got a replacement without any fuss so am pleased with it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The product I purchased has good features
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By wills
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Yes I would recommend this item but I would suggest you improve the instructions by putting them in lay men terms to make connecting easier"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great product
Posted21 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Genie
From:Surrey
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am very happy with this machine. I can now play old videos and record them on to DVD discs. Would recommend this product."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gave poor review as it didn't work
Posted08 May 2014
Customer avatar
By railway
From:Frinton-on-Sea, Essex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Didn't work so returned it ti store!!Another 40 mile round trip!!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another great purchase from Argos
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By mags
From:Kettering, Northamptonshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this product is great to use"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good buy
Posted08 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Alexandrite ***
From:Suffolk, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Easy to use ,worth the money, advantage of Bluetooth for playing iTunes etc"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what is says on the tin
Posted08 April 2014
Customer avatar
By musicmanchris
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought this for my parents to replace an old Tevion machine. Very easy to use, and being able to dub (copy) VCR to DVD was important for them as they did not want to spend hundreds of pounds paying someone to convert their old VHS tapes.
Simple instructions, interface and use :)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DVD VCR Recorder Combi
Posted25 March 2014
Customer avatar
By kenneth
From:lancashire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I am very happy with this product although I miss the clock display which I had on my previous Toshiba recorder.
I would recommend it to anyone.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Considering returning this item....
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By KJA
From:Rugby
Age:45 to 54
Picture Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Toshiba's DVR20 ticks many boxes for me. My problem though is that it seems I may have bought a bad unit, as there is a strange flicker when the unit is using it's freeview tuner (viewing channels or recording. Pre-recorded material plays back fine... but...."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TOSHIBA DVR20
Posted05 March 2014
Customer avatar
By OATS
From:Hayes
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"It was bought for my father in law.. But he is over the moon with it, saying in simple.."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>