Top-rated product

Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.

<p>This Toshiba Digital DVD Recorder and VCR combo allows you to record programmes directly to DVD discs whilst allowing you to watch VHS video tapes that are still in your collection. The DVR20 has built-in Freeview and also a HDMI port allowing for upscaling to near HD quality. </p><p>DVD recorder with VCR</p><ul><li>DVD region 2.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>8 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>Upscales to 1080p.</li><li>Playback compatibility: DVD, DivX.</li><li>Recording compatibility: DVD-R/RW and DVD+R/RW.</li></ul><p>VCR features:</p><ul><li>12 programme events timer.</li><li>Auto tuning.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 HDMI port.</li><li>2 SCART inputs.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required 2 x AA (included) .</li><li>Size H10, W43.5, D38.8cm.</li><li>Weight 4.9kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>On mode power consumption 35 watts.</li><li>Standby power consumption 5 watts.</li></ul><p>EAN: 5017151624974</p>
Overall rating:
4.34 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
65
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
7
93 of 10688%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
184 Questions | 191 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Review 1 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent in some ways, frustrating in others
Posted16 July 2014
Customer avatar
By S W.
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Plays tapes very well, makes good quality DVDs, and is very easy to use once you find out how (some functions are not at all obvious until you find the right part of the manual). There are problems though (e.g. the DVD title editing dialogue is awful).
It's particularly good at archiving old videotapes to DVD (which is what I bought it for), but has quite a few restrictions on what it allows you to do. It won't copy NTSC tapes, for example, and it won't write to 8xDVDs (16x worked fine)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
machine was defective
Posted09 July 2014
Customer avatar
By mal
From:Rhondda Cynon Taff
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I collected it, tried to set it up, spent 2hrs on the phone at my expense to Toshiba, before they agreed it was not working, then had to travel over 20 miles to return it to Argos, extremely disappointed. had a refund instead of the offer of a replacement of the same make"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has great features
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Sparkle
From:UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought it and had to take it back to the shop as there were faults but I got a replacement without any fuss so am pleased with it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The product I purchased has good features
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By wills
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Yes I would recommend this item but I would suggest you improve the instructions by putting them in lay men terms to make connecting easier"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great product
Posted21 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Genie
From:Surrey
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am very happy with this machine. I can now play old videos and record them on to DVD discs. Would recommend this product."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gave poor review as it didn't work
Posted08 May 2014
Customer avatar
By railway
From:Frinton-on-Sea, Essex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Didn't work so returned it ti store!!Another 40 mile round trip!!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another great purchase from Argos
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By mags
From:Kettering, Northamptonshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this product is great to use"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good buy
Posted08 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Alexandrite ***
From:Suffolk, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Easy to use ,worth the money, advantage of Bluetooth for playing iTunes etc"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what is says on the tin
Posted08 April 2014
Customer avatar
By musicmanchris
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought this for my parents to replace an old Tevion machine. Very easy to use, and being able to dub (copy) VCR to DVD was important for them as they did not want to spend hundreds of pounds paying someone to convert their old VHS tapes.
Simple instructions, interface and use :)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DVD VCR Recorder Combi
Posted25 March 2014
Customer avatar
By kenneth
From:lancashire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I am very happy with this product although I miss the clock display which I had on my previous Toshiba recorder.
I would recommend it to anyone.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Considering returning this item....
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By KJA
From:Rugby
Age:45 to 54
Picture Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Toshiba's DVR20 ticks many boxes for me. My problem though is that it seems I may have bought a bad unit, as there is a strange flicker when the unit is using it's freeview tuner (viewing channels or recording. Pre-recorded material plays back fine... but...."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TOSHIBA DVR20
Posted05 March 2014
Customer avatar
By OATS
From:Hayes
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"It was bought for my father in law.. But he is over the moon with it, saying in simple.."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A good buy
Posted04 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Brian
From:Northumberland
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I bought this VHS/DVD mainly to convert VHS tapes with family content onto DVD.
I think I have mastered that operation and the results are good.
Generally, the 74 page instruction book requires a lot of attention, especially when you are getting on in years, but I seem to be getting more "expert" with use."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted11 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Betsy
From:sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a excellent item, easy to set up ( leave these type of things to our son) who had it working in no time. So good to watch all our dvds now, which we had trouble doing with our old one."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good recorder
Posted20 January 2014
Customer avatar
By grandaddy
From:London, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Had one of these before and it does all it says it will. Can now continue to either watch old videos or transfer them easily to a dvd to watch on the pc"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Non-starter
Posted17 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Poppy
From:Northumberland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"I bought this to replace my no longer working Panasonic recorder. Unfortunately it failed to work - it would switch on but refused to do anything else! No problem returning it but big problem finding the Panasonic one to replace it. This one now works fine - so far."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD&vcr recorder combi
Posted10 January 2014
Customer avatar
By david64
From:Armagh BT61, UK
Age:55 to 64
"Very good product always pleased with argos plenty of choice makes shopping easy."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Toshiba DVR20 Freeview
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Tynesider
From:uk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Disappointed with the whole thing the instructions are way to complex & is hard to set up with SKY
would never buy anything with the Toshiba name on ever again
will replace it as soon as I can .
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted19 November 2013
Customer avatar
By stimpy
From:Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is the second time I have purchased this item.I find it easy to use ,Great to transfer my old video tapes to DVD..Love this product."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-6points
7of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
every home should have 1!
Posted08 November 2013
Customer avatar
By tigerlilly
From:Camblesforth, North Yorkshire YO8, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"easy to set-up & use,looks good, you can put all your vcr recordings on dvd my footage of my kids when they were young is very good quality also easier to store dvd's & tapes can break then your precious footage would be lost forever,The reason I gave 4 stars not 5 is due to it being a bit noisy at times."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>