Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.

<p>This Toshiba Digital DVD Recorder and VCR combo allows you to record programmes directly to DVD discs whilst allowing you to watch VHS video tapes that are still in your collection. The DVR20 has built-in Freeview and also a HDMI port allowing for upscaling to near HD quality. </p><p>DVD recorder with VCR</p><ul><li>DVD region 2.</li><li>Digital tuner.</li><li>8 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>Upscales to 1080p.</li><li>Playback compatibility: DVD, DivX.</li><li>Recording compatibility: DVD-R/RW and DVD+R/RW.</li></ul><p>VCR features:</p><ul><li>12 programme events timer.</li><li>Auto tuning.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 HDMI port.</li><li>2 SCART inputs.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required 2 x AA (included) .</li><li>Size H10, W43.5, D38.8cm.</li><li>Weight 4.9kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>On mode power consumption 35 watts.</li><li>Standby power consumption 5 watts.</li></ul><p>EAN: 5017151624974</p>
Overall rating:
4.314 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 124 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
8
109 of 12488%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Review 1 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toshiba DVR20KB DVD/Video Recorder
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Cornwall, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" My previous machine died on me after several years of much use. This replacement recorder was easy to set up, I just had to get used to pressing different buttons on a new remote and one or two other variations from the old recorder. I am very pleased with the quality of the recordings that I have made from both TV and quite old Video Cassettes. It is simple to use for the purpose that I bought the machine. I haven't used the Free-view as I have satellite TV so can't comment on that aspect. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Norfolk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Very pleased to find this product as they are now discontinued can play all my videos have not tried to dub yet instruction look very complicated but guess I will muddle through if you can get one do its a shame they are not making this product any more. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted12 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I have only recorded one program on dvd and the picture quality was first class. I had some old tapes that were 20 years old and the picture quality was very good. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job
Posted03 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Has everything you need for a combi....Good product and looks good too. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use dvd recorder
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Heanor
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought to replace a LG dvd recorder, which had given us nothing but trouble so this Toshiba model was great to use. Didn't want video really but couldn't find just dvd recorder model on its own, didn't want tv recorder box because wanted use discs. This model has been great, easy to use, simple to record from tv to disc, playback good quality. Not used the video side so can't comment on its performance. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to set up and easy to use. Have 'dubbed' numerous VHS tapes to DVD's for friends and was a very easy process. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not easy!
Posted11 November 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:bedfordshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" We bought this unit after reading reviews ...we expected it to be quite easy to set up, but it has taken us almost two weeks to even get it to play back DVDs!!! I think one problem is because we have a Tivo box it doesn't make it easy. We have now managed to record from the TV...... Next is copying old vhs tapes to DVD ......but need to sit and read the book again. We shall see!!! All in all a bit disappointed but I suppose when we get the hang of it it will be ok. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Posted10 November 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Lincolnshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Wasn't able to use this item as it turned out to be incompatible with my TV. I thought the instructions for connecting it could have been clearer too as I'm no techno geek.When I contacted Toshiba with a simple question, firstly it took about 4 days to reply and then when they did they said 'get intouch with Argos technical dept'!!!! I only needed a yes or no answer for goodness sake so this item is now back in store & I have no video/dvd player "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not much choice
Posted05 November 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Oxfordshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" There is not much choice nowadays if you want a machine to play your old videotapes and also family DVDs and record off the TV on either video or DVD. The Toshiba DVR20 does all this. My difficulty was in learning to work the thing, buttons on the remote and the screen messages being difficult for a dim old pensioner to suss out. My last combi, a Panasonic, was easier to work, but kept breaking down, and I'm not surprised they don't make it any more. I hope the Toshiba will prove more reliable. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versatile product
Posted27 October 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Hertfordshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" People who have bought this product have either liked it a lot or found it unreliable, especially if bought mail order, so it may be too soon to say how good it is. So far I have it found it very good. Everything seems to work OK. The quality of picture on TV, DVD and video tape is all very good. It is quite complicated to use especially if you use it mainly for VCR tapes as it defaults to DVD, but the manual is very comprehensive and you are OK if you follow the instructions carefully. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TOSHIBA DVR20 VCR COMBI
Posted14 October 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Rowhedge, Colchester, Essex, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The unit can be linked to old & new kit . The unit has
av inputs & outputs + hmdi link.
The unit can up scale to H D .
You can record from tape to dvd . This will improve the
quality of the recording . The menus are a no brainier.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TOSHIBA VCR/DVD
Posted03 October 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:n wales
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" since aquiring the toshiba, two weeks ago, i have used it daily and it goes well.
the instuctions book needs to be studied carefully to get the right results.
copying cassette to dvd and tv to dvd went smoothly and produced good results(i haven't recorded tv to cassette yet as there is not much use for that).
overall i would recomend this product to others but bear in mind it has not had the full time test yet, only two weeks.
jp "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hope This is 3rd Time Lucky
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This is the 3rd one of these which I have had, the 2 previous one developed faults and had to be replaced. Each one developed a different fault and to be fair to Argos there was no problem getting them replaced. However the hassle involved in disconnecting the faulty unit and then connecting and tuning the replacement was a nuisance.I only hope this one doesn't develop a fault . I would say that when working properly it is a good piece of equipment. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toshiba DRV20 DVD/VCR recorder
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:England, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I am very pleased with this product as we still prefer the use of VCR Tapes for ease of use.
This machine satisfies all our requirements
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Toshiba Freeview DVD/VCR Combi
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good make, easy to use and good all round quality. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great Toshiba product.
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Glasgow
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This unit is perfect for those of you out there that still have a VHS collection, It has a VCR and DVD recorder which is perfect, and built in freeview. The freeview is easy to use, and playing of VHS and DVD is also easy to use. The instructions for the recording side of things need a bit of time to understand, be patient!, took me 4 hours...but once read, this machine is fantastic! works perfectly, Great quality and design, good purchase, i would recommend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good purchase
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Oxfordshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought to replace my combo that had an unrepairable VCR - that was five years old "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toshiba DVD/VCR Recorder
Posted11 September 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:england,Lancs.
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent quality,I bought this recorder to transfer a lot of old video tapes on to discs.It can record on both disc and tape so its very versatile.However,I actually use it to transfer tapes from its VCR deck to another DVD recorder! It's a lot easier editing wise than doing it on the one machine,hence 4 stars for ease of use.This of course is only my opinion and preference.I would still recomend it if you want a versatile recorder. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent in some ways, frustrating in others
Posted16 July 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Plays tapes very well, makes good quality DVDs, and is very easy to use once you find out how (some functions are not at all obvious until you find the right part of the manual). There are problems though (e.g. the DVD title editing dialogue is awful).
It's particularly good at archiving old videotapes to DVD (which is what I bought it for), but has quite a few restrictions on what it allows you to do. It won't copy NTSC tapes, for example, and it won't write to 8xDVDs (16x worked fine). "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba DVR20 Freeview DVD and VCR Recorder Combi.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
machine was defective
Posted09 July 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Rhondda Cynon Taff
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" I collected it, tried to set it up, spent 2hrs on the phone at my expense to Toshiba, before they agreed it was not working, then had to travel over 20 miles to return it to Argos, extremely disappointed. had a refund instead of the offer of a replacement of the same make "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>