Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.

Television Picture Quality. High Definition Ready. Integrated digital. 42in 106.7cm) widescreen TV with 106.7cm visible screen size. Resolution 1024 x 768 pixels. Brightness 1500 cd/m2. Contrast ratio 20000:1. Viewing angle 175/175 degrees. DNIe + picture enhancement. Connectivity. 3 HDMI sockets. 2 SCART sockets. Headphone socket. S-video socket. AV socket (side). Sound Quality Nicam stereo sound. 2 x 10w RMS power output. Digital sound processor. Freeview Features Digital text. Digital audio broadcasting (DAB). Digital video broadcasting (DVB) subtitles available. Auto setup. Auto scan for new channels. Now and Next electronic programme guide. Additional Features Teletext. UHF tuners. Auto setup. Auto search tuner. Auto search sorting. Auto search labelling. Sleep timer. Child lock. Remote control requires 2 x AAA batteries (supplied). 230v AC mains operated. Complete with tabletop stand. Size of TV (H)66.8, (W)105.5, (D)9.62cm. Size of TV with stand (H)72.5, (W)105.5, (D)31.6cm. Weight of TV 28kg Weight of TV and stand 30.5kg Suitable for wall mounting (brackets not supplied).
Overall rating:
4.639 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
Sort by Customer reviews for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Review 1 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In my opinion
Posted09 June 2009
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:Blackpool
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The Samsung tv is lovely to the eye the picture is superb. The sound however tended at first to vibrate or buzz but this was fixed by adjusting the sound equalizer settings. overall a good unit for the price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bargain
Posted27 May 2009
Customer avatar
By Mick
From:Suffolk
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent Tv Briliant picture,
Worth every Penny
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hmmm Don't expect too much!
Posted26 May 2009
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:Gwent
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Having read all the reviews on Argos for this TV bought it with great expectations!
First thing I would say is don't expect this to be the best TV ever, especially if this is the first large TV you have purchased.
This was our first experience with the world of LCD/Plasma and quite frankly I expected more.
Yes it looks great etc but the picture quality is average, the sound is OK. To be honest we got a better picture with our 14 year old Grundig!!!!!
In fact it was so miserable I called an Engineer out just to check that our signal was Ok etc...it was 100%! According to him, my eyesight was too keen to appreciate the size of the screen, if you have average to poor eyesight you are in for a treat! Anything more and you may want your money back!
Its ok but the earth hasn't moved. But apparently I have to pay thousands to expect that!!!!!!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good
Posted15 April 2009
Customer avatar
By robert
From:North Wales
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"well designed good picture very easy to
connect ,up and running in five minutes
but you will need two people to unpack
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
telly
Posted15 February 2009
Customer avatar
By sandra
From:England
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this plasma television looks good and when it arrived it automatically tuned all the channels to a good quality picture and we have cable so there wasnt a problem tuning it to cable it was quite straight forward we payed a good price as it was in the sale the instructions that came with it were quite straight forward as well"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXCELLENT BUY
Posted13 February 2009
Customer avatar
By DIANNE
From:Greater Manchester
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Im so pleased with my new 42" plasma, and such good value for money. I would recommend anybody to purchase one."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good value for money
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By debinreading
From:berkshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"value for money ....nice style .. brought samsung home cinema 2-1 surround soundbar to go underneath looks stylish...."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a TV
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By Daz
From:Leicestershire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great all round big plasma tv. good picture, nice sound, easy set up and easy to use. All the connections you could ever need, and looks absolutely great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
super TV
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By andy
From:manchester
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I think people will struggle to find a TV spec as good for the price.
After hours of research we opted for this TV, it is our first plasma and we were torn between an LCD and a plasma, but there is no doubt that plasma is the better option.
Picture quality is excellent and the sports and movie settings really improve the TV.
The TV looks superb and the setup is really easy.
The only down sides are the sound quality which can be a bit 'tinny' on high volume but a surround system will solve that. Also no freeview built in but we have Sky so don't really need it.
I really recommend this TV which gives a better spec than anything else in price range."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
our new tele
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By woodwizard
From:hants
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"over the moon with this tele, looks good was easy to set up and best of all great picture especially when watching sport."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for the price!!!
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By Mike H
From:Merseyside
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Overall very happy with the TV! picture quality seems to suffer a little when watching fast sport but - apart from that- good for the money!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Hassle Purchase
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By J
From:Lanarkshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Order processed and everything explained about delivery actually happened. Wouldn't hesitate to buy from Argos this way again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased so far
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By keith
From:dorset
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"can't complain about anything so far excellent tv but have only had it for a month."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value Television
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By Babs
From:uk
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this on impulse and i'm delighted with it. It looks better than more expensive models and is easy to set up."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By Jo
From:Cheshire
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I am very happy with my purchase great value for money - looks really stylish just the job"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best deal ever
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By radio star
From:Hamilton
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy installation, looks great, perfect picture.
Would highly recommend this TV
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant
Posted10 February 2009
Customer avatar
By Luke
From:North Yorkshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Absolutely perfect, exactly what we were looking for, so easy to set up - crystal clear sound and picture quality.
I would recommend this TV to anyone and as a result of getting the 42" Samsung, we bought a 32" Samsung for our bedroom!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SAMSUNG PLASMA
Posted25 January 2009
Customer avatar
By EMMA
From:DERBY
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"VERY PLEASED WITH TV, LOOKS GREAT SOUNDS GREAT AND OVERALL A BARGAIN. ALTHOUGH COLLECTS DUST! THANX"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceed's Expectations!
Posted16 January 2009
Customer avatar
By snootch72
From:Leicester
"This is a series 4 samsung and i have to say that the picture quality is top notch!!! You will read here and elsewhere that there are problems with the sound. In my opinion the sound is adequate. A bit quiet perhaps, not a lot of bass.... true, as good as any other TV in the price bracket? YES!!! If you want amazing sound then by a home theatre system (that's what I plan on doing!) Picture is excellent with sky (non HD) and also my Xbox360 (I don't use HD for that either... just the cable that comes with the console,) so I could not comment on what that is like. If you have the money, just buy it!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung PS42A457P1DXXU 100Hz 42in Plasma TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good
Posted14 January 2009
Customer avatar
By nataliebd
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Good overall Tv. easy to setup and use. good purchase"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>