Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.

Model number V5399 5 mega pixels. Plastic body. 4 x digital zoom. 2.4in LCD screen. Features Memory card compatibility: SD. Movie capture with sound. Maximum ISO 200. 8 scene modes. Splashproof. Waterproof up to 10m. Self timer. Built-in flash. General information Accessories included: USB cable carry strap. Batteries required 2 x AAA (included). Weight 95g. Size H5.5, W9, D2.8cm.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
1 of 520%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Review 1 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good waterproof feature
Posted31 March 2010
Customer avatar
By Steve (Pontypool)
From:Pontypool.Wales
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Picture quality not the best and disappointed at the size of the camera"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quite dissapointed
Posted09 February 2010
Customer avatar
By Louise
From:Worcestershire
Picture Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Build Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"the waterproof case is great however the actual camera itself feels quite cheap."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Purchase
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Carol-Ann
From:Clydebank
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"we bought this camera for underwater pictures in Florida.
The pictures were quite good quality but the only draw back was due to the sunlight we didnt know wether it was on or not as we couldnt see the screen.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Rubbish!!
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By HC
From:Essex
Picture Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Build Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Purchased to take on last minute holiday to Egypt, absolute rubbish product not fit for purpose, buttons on outer casing did not operate the camera, could not see screen to view what was taken when it did randomly work, after 2 days it stopped working altogether so no pictures of the red sea for us, took it back for refund. If your looking at the product thinking it's just the job for your underwater snaps you may end up disappointed."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wouldn't recommend
Posted28 October 2009
Customer avatar
By Brewster
From:South Yorkshire, UK
Picture Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Build Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Bought this camera primarily because of the waterproof case and the ability to use it both in water and out of the case as in a normal camera.
The viewfinder is very poor and you cannot see anything at all in dim lighting, even in daylight sometimes its difficult to comprehend the picture. The flash was very intermittent and I couldn't get it to come on sometimes (not sure if it is faulty or just temperamental). I tried out the waterproof cover in the kids paddling pool before going in hols and found the function buttons were again temperamental, you struggled to see what you were photographing through the viewfinder and there was no markings on any of the buttons on the case to indicate which one did what.
The build of the camera itself felt quite plasticy and almost toy like, flimsy, I wouldn't fancy its chances of coming through being dropped accidentally unscathed.
I took a few pictures as well to see the picture quality and some of them came out distorted for some reason.
All in all, I'm not sure if this camera is faulty or not but it is being returned as soon as I get the chance. In the end I had to fork out for a more expensive waterproof camera at the airport on the way out (but thats down to my bad planning rather than Argos!!!). Not impressed at all by this item."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great l'lcamera
Posted29 September 2009
Customer avatar
By megg
From:Scottish Highlands
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great Little Camera, everything I need for a camera to carry everywhere. Cannot imagine my ever using it under water but always handy to know I can"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use, great pictures.
Posted01 September 2009
Customer avatar
By Jem
From:Somerset
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this to go surfing with, to take some action shots out in the waves. Its really easy to use , the waterproof case is brilliant, sturdy and works extremely well! The case floats, so if you do drop it in the water, it won't sink!
The picture quality is good, more than I was expecting.I was really impressed it was 5mp.
It's not rechargable, which I think is actually better for this camera. You can just pack extra batteries and not worry about chargers/plugs when on holiday. The batteries lasted me 2 weekends worth of taking photos, viewing them and deleting them.
I would really recommend this camera and case, for the very reasonable price, you can't go wrong.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
dont even think about it.
Posted18 August 2009
Customer avatar
By D8hole
From:bordon, hants
Picture Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Build Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"i got this camera as i wanted it for a summer holiday and the waterproof case for taking pics underwater, big mistake!
first off the build quality is so poor, it feels light, cheap and very plasticy. the image displayed on the screen is grainy and jerky, also the screen goes blank for about 3 seconds after u take a photo or whn the camera is doing something like adding an effect to a photo, why?
there is no auto focus so your images are more often thn not out of focus, there's no image stabilisation so if u make the slightest movement with your hand whn u take the photo it'll be blurred, whn i use the flash it often makes the photo just white from the flash or u may be able to see some of the image but it'll have a huge white patch in it from the flash.
if u do manage to take a decent photo, the quality of the picture is so poor, its supposed to be a 5mp camera but my 1.5mp mobile phone takes a better picture!!
on the plus side the underwater case feels very stirdy, well made and the camera fit's perfectly in to it, however once in the wp case u cannot access the macro switch on the side of camera, but appart from that its ok.
finally. after having the camera for a week it suddenly stopped working, went totally dead! which was handy as that ment i could take it back and get a refund. the girl at the counter told me they have a lot of returns from this make of camera. nuff said really.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing
Posted09 June 2009
Customer avatar
By Margaret
From:Lancashire
Build Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Had to return the camera.
Flash didn't work at all. Camera stopped taking pics after 1st exposure. Girl in store very helpful and couldn't get camera to work either so I did get a refund.
Very plastic feel.
Upgraded to a better one.
Definately a case for you get what you pay for.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy
Posted29 April 2009
Customer avatar
By magnet
From:wrexham
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"fantastic waterproof camra case makes taking pictures in the worst weather easy i take it sea fishing really easy to use spot on buy even my gran could use it and my nephew whos 6 found it easy"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vivitar Camera
Posted19 April 2009
Customer avatar
By Barry
From:Ashford, Kent
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Ideal for our teenage son who is going on a school holiday, the water proof casing that came with it will almost certainly get used."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Posted18 April 2009
Customer avatar
By sammy
From:england
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"great fun to use in the water...as it came with a water proof case...good pictures when connected to the computer but you can only then hear any recordings"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not Bad But.....
Posted31 March 2009
Customer avatar
By Helen
From:Basildon, Essex
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Got this camera purely for the underwater aspect as we went on holiday to Egypt. At the start of the week it took good pictures and I could see the fish easily under the water on the screen to take the pictures but by the end of the week I couldnt actually see the fish on the screen and got lots of pics fish swimming away, my feet or the seabed!!!
Must admit though the once I looked at the photos I did take of the fish on my laptop when we got home were very good and clear.
Make sure you change the resolution down though as even when you put a memory stick in if the resolution is high you will only get about 20 pictures as I found out on our first visit to the reef. I was clicking away, got about 20 pics and the camera told me the memory was full!! Wasnt best impressed with that.
Put a good camera all the same and nicely lightweight even when in the waterproof casing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GREAT IDEA
Posted17 January 2009
Customer avatar
By HARRY
From:Andover
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This was perfect to take on holiday and the underwater picture quality was really good. The hinges of the plastic camera case for use under water sadly became rusty and the plastic cover was speckled (not sure what it was but it couldn't be cleaned off!) so we couldn't see anything underwater anymore (after 2 weeks). Without the case the camera took great pictures as long as the light and distance were perfect."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So easy - a 6 yr old can do it!
Posted14 January 2009
Customer avatar
By Evans31
From:Cardiff
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"We bought this as a first proper digital camera for our 6yr old daughter. It is very easy to use - though the flash function takes a bit of getting used to as it turns itself off each time you shut down the camera and you have to remember to turn it back on if you want the flash.
The underwater case is brilliant and we've had a lot of fun in the swimming pool with this.
We had to return the first camera as it drained the batteries (which also heated up in the camera), within an hour each time, but so far, we've had no problems with the replacement. For ease of use, functionality, picture quality and price, this is overall a good camera.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for the money
Posted14 January 2009
Customer avatar
By Moiac
From:Milton Keynes
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought this camera to use underwater and for the price it is a pretty decent camera. Not as good as my 'proper' camera but it was 1/5 of the price!
I found it easy to use both in and out the water proof case. Most importantly it didn't leak!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Underwater Camera
Posted14 January 2009
Customer avatar
By Andy
From:herts
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is a great little camera for in the pool and snorkelling, in fact as long as you stay above 5m you can also dive with it. Below 5m and the pressure on the buttons causes the camera not to function correctly but it recovers when you go above the 5m again"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for underwater photography!
Posted30 September 2008
Customer avatar
By rowtonlee
From:shropshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought because we were going snorkelling for first time ever and were very pleased with the picture quality underwater. Taking the casing off to take land photos was also easy, but you did need to take casing off otherwise photos were blurred. Altogether best purchase we made."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vivitar V5399 5MP Camera with Waterproof Case.
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Picture Quality 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5