Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.

12 mega pixels. Plastic body. 5x optical zoom. 4x digital zoom. 18Mb internal memory. Uses XD or Micro SD memory cards (to use Micro SD use the card adaptor included in the camera box). 2.7in LCD screen. PictBridge compatible. Digital anti blur. In-camera red eye fix. Face detection, up to 16 faces. Movie capture with sound. Cables output to TV. Maximum ISO 1600. 12 scene modes. Auto focus tracking. Self timer. Built-in flash. USB connection. Includes AV cable, USB cable, microSD adaptor, instruction manual, 2 x AA batteries, hand strap. Depth of camera 2.67cm. Weight 112g. Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
6 of 786%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Review 1 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for the price
Posted11 May 2010
Customer avatar
By Doug
From:Lothian
"I found the camera easy to use and as a relatively inexperienced photographer I had no difficulty with it or the software for transferring to computer."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted06 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Mandy
From:Surrey
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Really easy to use just great for my 12 year old!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
An unfocussed camera
Posted10 November 2009
Customer avatar
By Terry
From:West Yorkshire
Picture Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great little camera with some brilliant features but the one that we got wouldn't focus to take just a simple portrait shot standing in front of the subject. Every photo was slightly blurred. It probably was just a faulty camera so I will give it the benefit of the doubt.
Weightwise it is light and looks a bit on the cheap side but a good small size and easy enough to carry around with you.
Good features and very easy to set and use. A very bright screen which was a bonus as usually it is difficult to see in certain lights.
You couldn't complain about the price as it is cheap and a cheerful camera but a good make.
Featurewise it is very good for the price and the ease of use is a bonus. Easy to delete any photos you don't need or want and with the choice of two different types of memory cards there should be no problems with getting extra memory for the higher quality photos.
A shame that this one was faulty but otherwise a very good camera for the price and make."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great
Posted27 October 2009
Customer avatar
By misty
From:west midlands
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I live this little camera it's light and takes lovely photos, the video is not the best but I bought it for taking photos! The extra features are good to and the screen is nice and big. A lot of my pictures have red eye though which I have to fix on my computer"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't believe it until I bought it
Posted27 October 2009
Customer avatar
By Fabiola
From:UK
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For a 12 mega pixel camera excellent value for money. Bought the pink one, as then the boys won't want to use or try to damage it. Really easy to use. It was a replacement for an 8 mega pixel 2.5 inch screen camera so great buy. I had an XD card already, so lack of one with the purchase didn't really bother me. Lovely and compact, a lot slimmer than the previous digital camera I had. The larger 2.7inch picture screen was an added bonus. Camera functions easy to work out. Overall delighted with my purchase, now I can continue taking too many pictures of my lovely children and collecting the evidence."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good little camera
Posted15 October 2009
Customer avatar
By kay
From:london
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Nice camera, great picture quality, and relatively easy to use."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
olympus camera
Posted14 October 2009
Customer avatar
By pauline
From:north yorkshire
Picture Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"thought the picture quality would have been better for a 12mp but was disapointed. easy to use and good for a basic camera."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent for the money
Posted13 October 2009
Customer avatar
By sandra
From:Essex
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have always used a Fugifilm, but decided to try this Olympus, as the price was good for the pixels size. I have found it very easy to use, although the instruction are not very informative, it has nice size screen to view pictures. seems to be quite a good program for altering your pictures, ie; turn them from colour to black and white ect overall I am very pleased with my purchase"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fab camera
Posted13 October 2009
Customer avatar
By dawn
From:surrey
"Absolutely fab easy to use and easy to understand"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ideal for technophobes!
Posted13 October 2009
Customer avatar
By Debs
From:West Yorkshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Fantastic camera! Really easy to use for a technophobe like myself. with 12MP photo quality is excellent - even better when uploaded to my computer. Best camera i've ever owned or used and i've already recommended it to my friends!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great camera
Posted13 October 2009
Customer avatar
By Lynne
From:castleford
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this for my 8yr old daughter, it was so easy to use, lots of features but so simple and took a fantasic picture so I went and bought one for myself."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
camera
Posted04 October 2009
Customer avatar
By pearl
From:oxford
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this for my daughters 21st birthday,
she is very pleased with it.
easy to use small and compact..
takes good pictures.
Bought it at sale price so even better.
excellent camera.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase
Posted29 September 2009
Customer avatar
By angela
From:Wirral
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This Olympus camera is great and the price also. I bought the accessory kit as well . I am very pleased."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY
Posted29 September 2009
Customer avatar
By CLAIRE
From:GWENT
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This cameraq is eay to use and gives really good quality pictures"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
18.9.09
Posted18 September 2009
Customer avatar
By Sarah.
From:sittingbourne
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Is just what the daughter ordered.. is very happy... shame when you ordered it you didnt get given the option of the xd memory card that comes with it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Olympus X-42 12MP Camera
Posted17 September 2009
Customer avatar
By Ben
From:Lanarkshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great little camera for the money,in fact this camera has all the features of some of the more expensive camera's"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
X-42 review
Posted15 September 2009
Customer avatar
By Darren
From:Lincolnshire
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Good camera for the price. Easy to use and the automatic scene selector does a good job. Fairly solid in the hand. Just wish the lens was a little better."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great as a gift
Posted15 September 2009
Customer avatar
By Madgesmum
From:West Sussex
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this for my daughters 13th birthday as she was desperate to have it! Really pleased with it - only criticisms are the ones raised by others - shame it is a black back, no case is definitely a minus point and it would be nicer to have a bigger memory card but none of these things would have put me off buying it to be honest. Great value for the price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted15 September 2009
Customer avatar
By RonD
From:Hampshire
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Olympus X-42 12MP Camera
THE CAMERA IS VERY GOOD HOWEVER, WHEN USING THE ZOOM CARE HAST O BE TAKEN TO REMEMBER TO ALTER THE PIXELS.
THIS IS NOT DONE AUOTOMATICALLY WHICH IS THE ONLY NEGATIVE POINT
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Olympus X-42 12MP Camera - Pink.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use camera
Posted15 September 2009
Customer avatar
By Jackieb
From:Cornwall
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is such a neat little camera, bought after seeing my friends on holiday and the subsequent pictures. It is simple to use and switches easily into video mode which I like. The picture quality is good and the keypad and zoom buttons are easy to operate whie you look on the display screen at your picture subject. Playback of pictures is easy and the batteries seem to last very well. I bought the 4mb memory card and so can snap away without having to worry about running out of storage space. I have recommended this camera to others."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>