Top-rated product

Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.

<p>The Nikon D3100 features Nikon's enhanced Guide Mode giving you step-by-step instructions of how to change the camera settings and ultimately guiding you to becoming a better photographer.</p><p>The D3100 also features HDMI CEC connection to enable easy playback of photos and videos on your HD Television. Comes with an 18-55mm vibration reduction lens. </p><p>Camera model number D3100 </p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>14.2 megapixels.</li><li>3in screen with LCD technology and live view.</li><li>CMOS sensor type.</li><li>Lens focal length 18 - 55mm.</li><li>Image stabilisation.</li><li>Continuous shooting up to 3 frames per second (JPEG).</li><li>Continuous shooting up to 3 frames per second (RAW).</li><li>Shutter speed of 30 to 1/4000 sec.</li></ul><p>Lens information: </p><ul><li>Zoom lens.</li><li>Aperture f/3.5-5.6.</li><li>Silent wave motor.</li><li>52mm filter.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>11 focus points in the viewfinder.</li><li> ISO range from 100 to 3200.</li><li>1080p video capture with sound.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li><li>Hot shoe for additional flash.</li><li>PictBridge compatible.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatibility:, </p><ul><li>SD.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Colour: black.</li><li>Eyecup and shoulder strap.</li><li>Rechargeable battery.</li><li>Weight 455g.</li><li>Size H12.4, W9.5, D7.45cm.</li></ul><p>EAN: 18208919567</p>
Overall rating:
4.892 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 130 reviews
5 Stars
117
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
128 of 13098%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 60 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Review 1 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted04 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Di
From:East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband has just upgraded from a bridge camera and is very impressed with it so far."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera
Posted23 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Steved
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Great beginner DSLR camera with lots of features"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nikon d3100 14 mp dslr camera
Posted23 January 2014
Customer avatar
By trevor
From:Oxfordshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Excellent service from Argos as usual, Brought this camera as my first dslr camera, used it now for a week, good features easy to set up, good all round camera, takes excellent photos.
Features easy to use and set.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted10 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Marky
From:S yorks
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"bought this for my 13yr old grandson and is a very good entry level DSLR with the option to add on.Takes great pictures and he has got the hang of it quickly."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first time user dslr
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By john
From:west lothian
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"brilliant as far as I can tell so far though only used it to take portraits of my granddaughter the quality is excellent and the camera is robust yet light and easily handled the guiding feature is a great learning tool for the senior amateur photographers like me :)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nikon D3100
Posted08 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Barney
From:Cardiff, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Purchased this Camera for business use, did exactly what I needed with excellent quality."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nikon D3100, a great mid entry DSLR camera.
Posted24 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Mr Cole
From:North Wales
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased this camera for use in a Secondary School for my Art Dept. as a camera to help out in the Photography Club. It's a robust camera, which it needs to be in a school!! It's also fairly easy to use with the AUTO & GUIDE modes. It can be used manually with knowledge of Shutter Speeds, aperature settings etc. but good imagery can be captured with ease (especially with the Guide Mode to take you through the steps)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted27 August 2013
Customer avatar
By john
From:derry
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Exellent quality and easy to use"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good camera
Posted06 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Gemma
From:Lincolnshire
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
"I've always had basic cameras so this was a huge upgrade at an affordable price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great
Posted31 July 2013
Customer avatar
By AM27
From:England, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
"Great camera bought for A level course and should hopefully help me achieve photos I require"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good camara
Posted03 July 2013
Customer avatar
By kevin
From:Bristol kingswood
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"This is a very good camera being used for our letting business to take pictures of rooms"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent First DSLR
Posted26 June 2013
Customer avatar
By ChrisC
From:North Yorkshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"I was moving up from a Lumix FZ48 Bridge Camera. I was very happy with the Lumix as a camera, but had reached the point where I wanted to learn more about photography and do more with my camera than the limitations of a bridge camera with no external flash would allow. The D3100 has been an excellent choice so far it is easy to learn and the majority of the controls can be access sufficiently from individual buttons or controls meaning no delving into some of the more complex menus as was necessary with the Lumix just to change your ISO value, the function button can be set up for this very purpose. The image quality, to my reasonably untrained eye is excellent and certainly belies the cost of the camera and lens. I have paired the kit up with a 55-200mm medium telephoto and I have all the camera and lens I am likely to need for the foreseeable future. The lower quality LCD is of little consequence to me, and although the lack of flip out screen will, I'm sure become a little irritating at some point in the future it is by no means the end of the world. Battery life has been excellent so far and the camera has worked well with my existing Eyefi card. All in all this is an excellent camera for the money which competes well with cameras from other manufacturers at twice the price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera
Posted26 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Mike
From:Halifax, West Yorkshire.
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"I was surprised that Argos was selling quality DSLR cameras, as previously they haven't done so. My Nikon D3100 is a brilliant camera, giving me great results - exactly what I was looking for. I'm enjoying getting to know just what it is capable of, currently, but I will certainly consider shopping at Argos for my future photographic needs."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!
Posted24 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Nathan
From:Rochester, kent
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"Not good at reviews but all I can say is I love this camera. I brought this on recommendation and I haven't looked back. Needless to say I no longer use my compact camera.
Takes time to learn the settings but it is worth it.
This camera takes amazing photos.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nikon D3100
Posted05 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Norman
From:United Kingdom
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Bought this camera as I had a slr film camera before and enjoyed it .Have had the camera for about 2 weeks now and am very pleased with the results .I have taken over 100 photos and I like the camera very much. At the moment I am only using it on auto and am looking forward to using it on manual as I have looked at the teach me part of the camera and it looks very good .I would recommend this camera to anyone who has not used an slr before"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy
Posted20 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Angel
From:Oxfordshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"This was a present for my partner. He is very impressed with it"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Camera
Posted19 May 2013
Customer avatar
By BigRed
From:Derbyshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"I wanted a decent camera for some time to pursue a hobby in photography. I did my research and went with the D3100 based on the positive reviews . This camera is simply fantastic, it is such an easy device to use and best of all the picture quality is amazing. I recommend this to anybody looking for an SLR."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New to DSLR
Posted15 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Ben
From:Uk
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"Recommended by someone from design and photography department at work. First outing the Lake District, good quality, intuitive design, easy to use, light enough to take to the top of a tarn with ease. I have been told the HD video quality is also spot on."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase
Posted14 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:Birmingham
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Brilliant DSLR, easy to use, with many advanced features."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nikon D3100 14MP DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice camera
Posted14 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Dharmender
From:Eastleigh
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"Its fantastic camera. Though I am still learning how to use it, but the snaps taken so far are excellent."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>