Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.

Samsung's highest ever zoom camera with an incredible 18x Optical zoom allows you to zoom in and get closer to your subject than ever before. With a Schneider 24mm ultra wide lens and 12 mega pixels you will get stunning results. With a one touch button to record and capture HD quality movies. HDMI output to display your photos and videos on your HD ready TV.Model number WB69012 megapixels.Silver.Aluminium and plastic body.24mm wide angle lens.18 x optical zoom.4 x digital zoom.3in LCD screen.Features:PictBridge compatible.Dual digital and optical image stabiliser.Face detection up to 10 faces.Continuous shooting up to 6 frames per second.Red eye reduction.720p high definition movie capture and playback with sound.Maximum ISO 3200.45 scene modes.Intelligent scene mode.Manual override.Self timer.Built-in flash.General information:Includes carry strap.Li-Ion battery (included).Size H5.89, W10.49cm.Depth 2.49cm (when switched off).EAN/MPN/UPC/ISBN: 8806071587660
Overall rating:
4.762 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
39 of 4293%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Review 1 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compact but powerful
Posted14 July 2012
Customer avatar
By John
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I wanted a good quality, feature packed compact camera that I could easily carry in my pocket and this camera fits the bill in every respect.
It feels solid yet lightweight, the battery is charged via a plug in lead provided and the picture quality is equal to my much more expensive bridge camera. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great camera for the price
Posted10 July 2012
Customer avatar
By peter
From:Lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" good pictures good video good anti shake good camera, very pleased "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best zoom for price
Posted10 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Lynette
From:Preston
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I lovethis camera,after researching for a while this was the best budjet camera available and very easy to use with amazing features. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
samsung WB690
Posted10 July 2012
Customer avatar
By helen
From:west lothian
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" love this camera .so easy to use and good quality photos . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent compact.
Posted04 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Chris
From:UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Smaller than my older Sony Cybershot, but more megapixels, better zoom, higher ISO, with same amount of functionality. Has worked extremely well in all situations used in so far, and am impressed with the image quality. Description is wrong in that the size of the camera is actually 3.3cm deep when switched off, so be aware if buying a case at the same time. As stated in other reviews, instruction manual is on a CD-Rom, and even though I am well used to digital cameras, being a different make to ones used before, there were times when I had to look up how to do something (such as macro mode only works in certain setups). Can not fault the camera itself, a good purchase. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great zoom
Posted03 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Mark
From:West Glam
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this as a substitute for both my Fuji bridge and Casio compact cameras. A great combination of bridge type long zoom with compact size. The case lacks grip, so wearing the strap is essential. Video is good, as there is no noticeable jerkiness. A bargain for the price! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Eventual decision
Posted27 June 2012
Customer avatar
By lurchsprocket
From:Kent
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" After studying Argos catalogues for ages and ages I was impressed with the offer of a Samsung at a sensible price which had a good technical spec. When this one came along with a 24mm wide angle lens and an 18x zoom, That swayed things for me.
Although somewhat heavy and maybe not as smooth to handle, I am happy to use its extensive facilities and when I have managed to master them all it will of course be out of date!!!
I have found it sometimes gets switched on a little too easily but so far all my efforts have turned out O.K. So while this is not the professional model with 30 to 50 megapixels, its fine for me as an economical purchase but beware.... you have to download the instructions which is 129 pages if you print at A4....... Well, there you have it. You get what you pay for!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Value Camera
Posted27 June 2012
Customer avatar
By Anne
From:Edinburgh
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Wanted a camera with good zoom so that I can take wildlife pictures. Am a complete novice so spent a fair bit time on key features and this camera really stood out - especially considering the price is so attractive. Didn't want to spend a lot in case I am not quite the 'David Bailey' I hope to be!
Agree with other reviews that it's a bit of pain that the main instructions are on DVD. Will have to remember to put onto my Sony e-Reader to access more conveniently.
The only downside and the reason I have put 'build quality at average is that after a dozen pictures the whole camera froze and I had to remove battery. Just hope it's a one-off! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solidly made camera with a quality lens..
Posted22 May 2012
Customer avatar
By Demon.
From:Renfrewshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I compared sharpness of a park notice notice shot with a friends Canon SX220 and found that the small type was noticeably clearer on the Samsung under the same conditions. The screen resolution is low compared to costlier travel zooms but is very clear. Only in almost dark conditions does the screen fare less well than the Canon. In full sun its about the same as I`ve seen on higher resolution screens. . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Samsung WB690
Posted12 May 2012
Customer avatar
By Roger
From:cheshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great buy, very pleased with the quality, pictures are great the wide angle lens and 18 x are brilliant
Just wish instructions for use were in book form instead of disc.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good buy
Posted27 January 2012
Customer avatar
By crocket
From:cumbria
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" excellent pictures.very professional .dvd must be studied to obtain maximum results from this camera.. Zoom function is fantastic "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Samsung Digital Camera
Posted26 January 2012
Customer avatar
By LynK
From:Cheshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent value for money. Would recommend every time. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hitachi wb690
Posted25 January 2012
Customer avatar
By cab
From:devon
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" would have liked booklet on instructions for use , being a novice on computers, however love the camera and it's capabilities..... never to old to learn. OAP. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
samsung wb690
Posted24 January 2012
Customer avatar
By buster
From:nottinghamshire
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great little camera at a bargain price "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top class
Posted24 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Dave XL5
From:GTR. Manchester.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" After a lot of searching many different web sites
mainly looking for samsung because I have had a couple in the past and like the picture quality. I bought this for the many features and the good price. I have only used it once at my grandsons christening but I am more than happy with the pictures I took, I also took a couple of short videos and I am pleased with those too. The only thing with it is that there are so many features to get to grips with it will take a while till I have tested all on offer. I do wish that makers would go back to putting instructions in a booklet it is much more convenient, but this is a top class camera for the price. I have taken thousands of pictures with many different cameras and would say this is one of the best I've used, if you ues it in "smart mode" it's just point compose and click the camera will do the rest and you have loads of zoom if you need it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Little Camera
Posted19 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Essemess
From:Sheffield
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" After spending literally months trying to decide between a compact, system, bridge or DSLR I took a chance on the WB690 as it was so cheap and the reviews were so good. I was not disappointed!
This is a great point and shoot camera that has loads of manual settings if you do want more control. The picture and video quality are excellent as is the easy to navigate menu system.
Highly recommended. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OK for the price
Posted19 January 2012
Customer avatar
By mr man
From:cambs
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Not the best but OK for the half price I paid. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
it's a good, but not excellent
Posted18 January 2012
Customer avatar
By pan
From:sunderland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" advantages: move model, Image Stabilizer, scan picture
disadvantages: blurred person image in the night, not full optical expecially over 13* optical, some functions are not easy to use...
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trust me!
Posted18 January 2012
Customer avatar
By me
From:london
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" If your one to take your time making a purchase, especially as grand as a camera and you dig deep for so long you lose hope...thats me until I found this. I looked online and shopped round. This is the one. I haven't had a go at every possible feature but its filled with promises. Only downside - instructions on CD, if your in a hurry not great. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung WB690 12MP Compact Digital Camera - Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good buy
Posted18 January 2012
Customer avatar
By John
From:LEICESTER
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" better than some more expensive camera's.
close to the benefits of a bridge camera but in a smaller frame.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>