Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.

With a 27mm wide angle lens you can fit everything into the frame of this red Samsung compact digital camera. The PL221 boasts an impressive 10x optical zoom and 16 megapixels, ensuring that even beginners are sure to capture fantastic snaps. Lightweight and slim, it also boasts 720p high definition move capture with sound - to really bring your memories to life. Model number EC-PL221ZBPRGB16 megapixels.10 x optical zoom.5 x digital zoom.27mm wide angle lens.3in LCD screen.Image stabilisation.Red eye reduction.PictBridge compatible.Features:720p high definition movie capture and playback with sound.Maximum ISO 3200.28 scene modes.Intelligent scene mode.Smile shutter.Blink detection.Self timer.Built-in flash.Memory card compatibility: microSDHC and microSD.General information:Size H5.85, W10.04cm.Weight 120g.Depth 1.97cm (when switched off).Rechargeable battery.Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).Colour: red metal body.Includes USB cable and carry strap.Manufacturer's 1 year guarantee.EAN/MPN/UPC/ISBN: 8806071798059
Overall rating:
4.61 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 146 reviews
5 Stars
105
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
137 of 14694%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Review 1 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted19 March 2013
Customer avatar
By annee
From:Pembrokeshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" this little camera, small enough to fit in my handbag went with me to London last week to attend a very special occasion at which royalty attended. It took photos of groups of people and individuals, buildings and objects alike and performed well whatever I wanted to photograph! For the price, megapixels and zoom capacity I think it was fantastic!
The only criticism I have is that on the website it did not link it to micro sd cards but to the ordinary sd cards - which I purchased and then had to take back and change in my local Argos store - but they were very helpful there and changed it with no bother at all.
Thank you Argos - another star buy!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
This review is from:Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
samsung PL221 camera
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By buccaneer bob
From:cheshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" excellent camera full of useful features and easy to use very pleased with my purchase "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
This review is from:Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted15 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Isa
From:West Lothian
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" I bought this camera as a gift since it had all the features required but was being sold for a very competitive price.
I had some reservations as to whether the lower price might be reflected in poorer quality but I am assured by the recipient that this is not the case and that it does exactly what is required and because it is a slim and compact model it fits easily and unobtrusively into a pocket.
The only other concern I had was that there was no return guarantee ( unless of course it was faulty) because the camera had the ability to store information so was therefore exempt. Had I not been successful in picking the correct model then it would have been money lost as the recipient could not have returned it to make a potential exchange.
I reserved it online and picked it up in one of the local stores which was a smooth and trouble-free process.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
This review is from:Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Camera
Posted15 January 2013
Customer avatar
By annw
From:Durham
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" This is an Excellent Camera with easy to follow instructions, well worth the money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Samsung
Posted07 November 2012
Customer avatar
By Heidi M
From:Essex
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Really easy to use, the zoom is amazing and clear even in the dark. Love the function that allows snapshots from video, all in all a wonderful little camera.Perfect for an amateur like me. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best product....
Posted23 October 2012
Customer avatar
By kevi
From:surrey
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Thanks happy with my purchase "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Camara
Posted03 October 2012
Customer avatar
By Glyn
From:LANCASHIRE
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This Samsung Camara is my second one due to losing my first and is excellent. Great build quality with metal casing which feels like the camara should be more expensive, easy to use and the pictures are great.
Unlike some camaras you don,t have to remove the battery when charging, a good idea.
All in all a great camara for the money.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted03 October 2012
Customer avatar
By Martyn
From:Bristol
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I Had the fore runner to this camera and abused it something chronic. I lasted for 3 years in a very harsh environment.
This camera is built in much the same way.
It takes excellent pictures and has the most valuable option to adjust the picture quality. Some cameras the same cost dont allow that.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
This review is from:Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bargain buy
Posted16 November 2012
Customer avatar
By frank
From:west midlands
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" present from my wife, I chose it, we reserved it , and collected it same day, excellent. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!
Posted20 September 2012
Customer avatar
By Best
From:UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Build Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Im not a professional photographer- just your average customer wanting a basic but good camera.
I bout this camera as it had few bad reviews on the Internet. I was looking for a simple point & shoot, but one that takes good quality pictures. The main use would be to take photos while travelling around the world. I wanted a camera that was quick, simple & decent quality.
This camera was the opposite of that!
The picture quality was ok indoors & outdoors, but it was PAINFULLY slow. It took 7-9 seconds to reload between each shot, meaning that i missed many potential picture moments.
It was complicated to use - having to go through the menu to use any features, including flash, macro & video. I like cameras where there are specific buttons for these features. to make matters worse it came with no instructions.
Another minor quibble - it takes micro SD cards which it didn't indicate on the box. It also didnt come with one in the box, so i had to buy one separately. for me this was a nuisance as I had an SD card.
Needless to say I returned the camer the next day! Luckily Argos were very helpful with this, saying they'd had several problems with this model.
Avoid avoid avoid!!! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a nice camera
Posted17 September 2012
Customer avatar
By cobby
From:cambs
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" easy to use, reasonable value "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
click and go
Posted15 September 2012
Customer avatar
By Miss D
From:london
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" bought this to replace my sony cybershot camera.
its really easy to use and the quality is good also my only hang up is the flash isn't as bright as my old one.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
This review is from:Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good
Posted10 October 2012
Customer avatar
By mojay
From:london
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" it good,i have used it for a month but so far so good "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
This review is from:Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted04 October 2012
Customer avatar
By sammyj
From:uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" great value. great pictures. love it!! :-) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
This review is from:Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neat camera
Posted16 September 2012
Customer avatar
By Janet
From:Somerset
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I read all previous reviews before purchasing this camera and was impressed. Im still learning how to use it as the manual is over 100 pages long when printed from the CD. The instructions are comprehensive and very detailed so its a good idea to read up on how the camera works. Am still working on how to get a decent picture with the zoom instead of just a grainy one. You will need to buy a memory card as the camera doesnt come with one. Otherwise Im very pleased and would recommend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
This review is from:Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best camara
Posted11 September 2012
Customer avatar
By dave
From:suffolk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This camara does everything it says on the box. easy to use, excellent quality, point and shoot, but with all the bells and whistles. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant buy
Posted20 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Andy M
From:Herefordshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought as a present for Mum on reading previous reviews, wanted something to point and click, with ease of transfering to pc. This ticked the boxes.Good quality pics for a very reasonable price plus a video option too! Metal case has good sturdy feel! Mum was over the moon and loved the funky red colour! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted17 July 2012
Customer avatar
By paml
From:bedfordshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" easy to use and a lovely small camera "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Camera
Posted17 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Yemi
From:London
" The camera is worthy of the price with fantastic functions. The 10x makes it to be better than most of its rival. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung PL221 16MP Compact Digital Camera - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever
Posted10 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Geordielass
From:staffordshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Brilliant camera!!!! Very easy to use and superb picture quality "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>