Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.

<p>The combination of superzoom performance and small size makes the PowerShot SX500 IS perfect for capturing unexpected moments. The 30x optical zoom with image stabilisation and a 16MP sensor can capture great detail no matter how far you zoom. Finally the dedicated movie button allows HD movie (720p) capture.</p><p>Model number: SX500</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>16 megapixels.</li><li>30x optical zoom.</li><li>4x digital zoom.</li><li>3in screen with LCD technology.</li><li>24mm wide angle lens.</li><li>Up to 0.8 frames per second.</li><li>CCD sensor.</li></ul><p>Lens information:</p><p>Features:</p><ul><li>Minimum ISO rating 100 and maximum ISO rating 160.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li><li>720p HD recording.</li><li>Video capture with sound.</li><li>PictBridge compatible.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatibility:</p><ul><li>SD, SDHC and SDXC memory card formats.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Colour: black.</li><li>Includes strap and USB cable.</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Size H6.9, W10.4, D8cm.</li><li>Weight 341g.</li></ul><p>EAN/MPN/UPC/ISBN: 8714574586328</p>
Overall rating:
4.828 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 169 reviews
5 Stars
145
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
164 of 16997%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted
Posted28 January 2014
Customer avatar
By sarahjo
Age:35 to 44
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This was bought for my as a birthday present and I couldn't be happier! I have a larger bridge camera but always felt conscious of how big it is, this camera though it perfect. It has all the features of my other camera plus a few extra, it's easy to use and it's just the right size. I would recommend this camera to everyone x "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A really good camera for point and shooters
Posted23 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Retep
From:West lancashire UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" I have got it with me on holiday and am using it for the first time. The optical length is ideal pulling in detail were you want it. Also, it seems to balance differing light levels beautifully.
The only down side so far is I forgot my tripod.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cute Camera For a Good Price
Posted21 January 2014
Customer avatar
By meluk
From:surrey
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" This camera is a fully fledged bridge camera bursting with features. The best thing about it is its size and weight. No neck ache with this one! Its light and compact and sturdy at the same time. Only negative is the rear display which is fuzzy to look at. Could be me not understanding all the settings. Pictures are however clear. In terms of the service at Argos was ok until the shop girl started to insist that I could not return it and if there were problems I had to go to to Cannon. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang on
Posted21 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Malcolm
From:West Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" An excellent product - we were very pleased with the purchase. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FABULOUS CAMERA
Posted17 January 2014
Customer avatar
By sam
Age:25 to 34
" I bought this as a christmas present for my boyfriend and he absolutely loves it. Great zoom feature, he is using this as sort of a starter camera before we move onto the next stage. The quality of the photos is spot on and its easy to use. I would recomend this and the price was excellent. I bought the case and sd card aswell, weve taken pictures in the lake district and they look amazing.. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great camera
Posted15 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Slugoireland
From:Sligo
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" Wanted to tell whole truth but they rejected my true review but the camera good that all I can say "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant litttle camera
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By linda
From:south yorkshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Bought this for my husband for a trip to Asia and it was amazing what a fantastic little camera it is. The zoom capacity it has is phenomenal for the price .Would realistically have expected to pay far more for the features it has. Excellent buy. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon powershot
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By David
From:Northern Ireland, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" Great camera. Very easy to use. Battery is excellent and lets you take a lot of photos/videos on one charge. Good value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this camera
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Rufless
From:Kent, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" Easy to use - does what it says on the box! I've had several compact cameras over the years, but decided it was time for an upgrade. Using vouchers I received for my birthday it was definitely worth the extra few pounds. It's encouraged me to have lessons re photography. Lots of great features. Great buy if you are looking for an upgrade or wanting to venture further into photography without paying for a more complex camera. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
80th birthday present
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Happy snapper
From:Surrey UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" A surprise gift from my wife which came the day after it was ordered! The ease and simplicity of the camera has lifted my picture capability immensely. I am particularly pleased with the large size of the rear viewfinder and the 30X zoom facility. The manual is pretty intense as opposed to the scant printed detail provided with the camera. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ideal camera for amateur
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Jimbo
From:Essex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" I had a digital camera which had it`s limitations,so to a rank amateur like me it was "To Infinity and Beyond"to purchase the SX500IS.I have yet to try all of it`s many features,but have been extremely pleased with my progress so far. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
in love
Posted13 January 2014
Customer avatar
By shxn
From:United Kingdom
Age:17 or under
Gender:Female
" I brought this camera because I wanted to start photography. I had a hard decision on actually picking what camera to buy but I'm so glad I picked this canon as I couldn't live with out! The quality is amazing! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon powershot sx500 is
Posted13 January 2014
Customer avatar
By milly
From:Lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" bought this as a gift for a relative,and they are delighted as you can get attachments they have bought additional lens for it very easy to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good camera, nice looking
Posted12 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Mum
From:UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" Really pleased with the camera. I am a basic photographer and so happy with the functions and the look. I have been using the camera and happy with the results. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
Bridge Camera Case - Black and Grey.
4.4 out of 5(83)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannon powershot sx500
Posted10 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Fred
From:Lancashire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Easy to use and well worth the money would recommend this camera to anyone "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon powershot SX500
Posted10 January 2014
Customer avatar
By kathy
From:portadown
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" this is a fantastic camera. I bought it for my daughter as she had a new baby daughter and I wanted to get decent photos of her. it is brilliant and easy to use and shows up every detail. fantastic value for money. would highly recommend it. anybody can use it as its so easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mostly suits what I need
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Iris
From:Suffolk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" My last camera was a Canon a560 so this is a definite step up in the world. I knew my last camera inside out and really pushed it to it's limits, the sx500 seemed the most affordable next step.
Comparing it to my last camera, it's mostly better. I love the adjustable strength flash.
The main point that doesn't compare favourably is the rather long interval between shots when I do multiple shots(burst).
Although the sx500 doesn't fit in my pocket like the a560, it's still small for what it is. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera, Great price
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Nigel.L
From:Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" Only had camera 2 months, first photos have come out amazing. I just hope holiday photos turn out just as good. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
easy to use on auto
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Annie
From:devon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" lighter than I thought and easy to use on auto, needs more experience and revision of instructions to enable me to take moving people etc "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
THIS PRODUCT HAS ALL WHAT I NEED.
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By MUKHTAR
From:BUCKINGHAMSHIRE
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" THIS CAMERA TAKES GOOD PICTURES N VEDIOS AND IS SUITABLE FOR ANY AMATEUR
THE ONLY THING I DO NOT LIKE IS THE USE OF 4 AA BATTERIES . I THINK THIS MAY AT ALONG RUN BE MORE EXPENSIVE N INCONVINIENT.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next >>>