Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.

<p>This Canon Powershot SX40 12.1MP bridge camera combines the great features of SLR cameras with a compact design. Featuring an ultra-wide 35x optical zoom, the SX40 allows you to capture stunning shots and even shoot Full HD video with sound. A powerful optical image stabiliser allows you to always deliver crisp and clear images - even in low lit areas. </p><p>Model number: 5251B011AA</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>12.1 megapixels.</li><li>35x optical zoom.</li><li>4x digital zoom.</li><li>2.7in screen with LCD technology and .</li><li>24mm wide angle lens.</li><li>CMOS shift image stabilisation.</li><li>Up to 2.4 frames per second.</li><li>CMOS sensor.</li><li>67mm filter.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>View finder.</li><li>Minimum ISO rating 100 and maximum ISO rating 3200.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li><li>Hot shoe for additional flash.</li><li>1080p HD recording.</li><li>Video capture with sound.</li><li>PictBridge compatible.</li><li>Features intelligent scene mode feature.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatibility:</p><ul><li>SD, SDHC and SDXC memory card formats.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Colour: black.</li><li>Includes strap and USB cable.</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Size H9.24, W12.29, D10.77cm.</li><li>Weight 557g.</li></ul><p>EAN/MPN/UPC/ISBN: 8714574573021</p>
Overall rating:
4.824 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 of 17100%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera, great value, zoom is fantastic
Posted28 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Pat23
From:Northern Ireland, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Fantastic photos, great all-round camera. Zoom has to be seen to be believed. Can be set up to be fully manual or (like me) idiot-proof! If I was asked to find a fault, I would say the digital viewfinder is not great - but it is sufficient, given the large screen on the rear. Would not hesitate to recommend. Canon make quality cameras."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy with product
Posted20 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Bloom
From:London
Age:17 or under
Gender:Female
"I am happy with the product but I thought you could get this with any camera. I use this camera mainly for video, but the picture quality is exactly the same as any other camera, there is nothing special. The best thing about this is the flip screen because it's great for movie making which I do. The one thing I hate about this camera is the weight.
I suggest you buy the Canon Powershot SX500 instead as it is cheaper and the upgraded version. Nikon camera's are great too.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
Canon PowerShot SX500 IS 16MP 30x Zoom Bridge Camera-Black.
4.8 out of 5(169)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon PowerShot SX40 12.1MP Bridge Camera.
Posted03 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Mrs Blackbeard
From:Dorset
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"We love this Canon PowerShot SX40 12.1MP Bridge Camera.
The zoom is fantastic, love the video side of it & the viewing sceen, easy to use, comes with a lens cover and lots of things such as charger, did need to get a memory card & case.
We are still learing new things about it, my partner is planning of taking a photography course as he is so impressed with it, used it for numerous pictures from ebay selling to my dog, wildlife photos & the garden. Connect up to the TV easily. Very impressed & would definately recommend we have never had such a lovely camera."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First class camera purchase
Posted10 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Norman
From:North Norfolk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"A very good camera,excellent delivery time.Slightly disapointed that no card was included but local Argos store came to the rescue."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very satisfied
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By alanj
From:cheshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"I am still learning all the features, some of which I will never use but it takes good pics from what I have seen up to now --a very good buy. I have ordered some filters for it and a lens hood is also required. Good software supplied with it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great
Posted12 September 2012
Customer avatar
By stuey
From:scotland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"This is my first 'proper' camera and I'm happy I picked this one.
The zoom range is simply fantastic and combined with the image stabilisation - you can take some great photos with this camera. Video too seems to be high quality.
The camera feels well-built and is pretty easy to use right away - of course there is a lot more functionality available when you're ready to explore the camera's settings.
For the money, I'm delighted with my purchase. I can see myself having a lot of fun with this camera over the next few years."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value
Posted11 September 2012
Customer avatar
By Richy
From:North lincolnshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"After reading positive reviews I bought this camera and I was not disappointed. Very easy to use, excellent picture quality. Just what I was after. Don't forget to buy a case as it does not come with it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovin' this camera
Posted05 September 2012
Customer avatar
By Niqi
From:Co. Antrim
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Haven't had the opportunity to explore the full functionality of this camera yet, but so far have been really impressed with how easy excellent results have been to achieve. The 35x zoom has caused camera envy in a couple of my more photo savvie friends. The fact that when you upload the next batch of photos onto your laptop it automatically puts them into a new folder and if you don't delete them from the camera the next batch you upload will just be new photos and not the old ones has made it much easier to manage my photos."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
canon sx40
Posted21 August 2012
Customer avatar
By dickpet
From:LINCOLNSHIRE
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"IT does like it says on the box
Not a heavy camera to hold . And it tells you how to use it on the screen .
No need to carry aload of extra lens like the DIgital SLR
GOOD PRICE FROM ARGOS
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Bridge Camera
Posted08 August 2012
Customer avatar
By richjam
From:Yorkshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"One of the best bridge cameras available. Used it first at the olympic stadium with excellent results, huge zoom, good quality images, packed with features. Good value buy for those wanting more than a normal compact"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera
Posted07 August 2012
Customer avatar
By Kirsten
From:Cheshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"I've only had this camera for a week but so far I'm very impressed with it. It has performed even better than I expected - now I need to learn how to do even more with it to make the most of the fantastic features that it has."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Bought one
Posted01 August 2012
Customer avatar
By DIYMAN
From:Newcastle under Lyme
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"For me Its all about Quality, Versitility, ease of use and Value for money.
Sure, next Year will bring a better model "but thats" NEXT YEAR".
The SX40 was my second choice after a big disapointmet with my first choice, but I've am very satisfied with The SX40.
I'd preferred to have a longer strap, so that its still around my neck when I'm holding the camera up or away from my body.
The inside of the strap is antislip coated (great for carrying over the shoulder (but it rubs on my neck) so swivel ends on the straps would nice.
RAW image recording was the only thing which made the SX40 my second choice.
But overall you get a good camera from a very respected company.
I could ramble on about its obscure gimmics, but the one feature thats top (in my view) is the "Bracketing option" it takes 3 images with a single press of the shutter .
The 1st as the camera light meter sees it.
The 2nd "under exposed" (less light reaches the cameras semsor.
The 3rd "over exposed" (more light reaches the sensor).
Unless you are "into photography" you probably won't know this.
Camera light meters see white as a shade of grey, so a brides dress or snow wont look quite right, (and the same applies to any one or any thing dressed in black)
The "Bracketing" feature deals with these two extremes and is in itself variable from "one third" up to "Two full stops" under (or over) exposed!!!.
If you were to use a comparison on a film camera you would only get 12 subject exposures from a 36 exp roll (very expensive).
I've always found Canon cameras to be well made and reliable ( i still own 4 of them ) plus the powershot compact i bought in 2008. (I do own other makes) I'm not biased!!!
Lastly (ease of use) my son who's 27 took some really nice shots of me (and my 2yr old grandson) at the park, straight out of the box without reading the start up guide.
Be creative "Buy Canon""
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent all-rounder
Posted05 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Laurie
From:Surrey
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"As expected, from many independent reviews, this camera does all that most amateur photographers would wish for.
The range of shooting modes is amazingly comprehensive - the video quality exceeded my expectations.
All in all, I am delighted with my purchase.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great camera -good value
Posted20 June 2012
Customer avatar
By country girl
From:u.k.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"I really like this camera as someone who likes to take photos fairly spontaneously it truely does bridge the gap between point and click and all that fiddling about changing lenses with an SLR . I have had a Canon before so I found it quick and easy to get going, although having read the manual on the laptop I will never remember all the features so I expect quite a few will never get used. Oh for the days of an instruction book! The only negative, which I had read on a previous review is that there are several buttons very close together and very close to the area where you are supposed to hold the camera body, which is a bit irritating when you accidently trigger one when you are just about to take a picture - once you know I guess you get used to it and are more careful with how you hold it, a bit of poor design though. That said I have already taken some wonderfully sharp pictures and I like that you can trim and edit the pictures in the camera before you transfer them. I think it was worth the money and if it lasts as well as my previous canon cameras it won't be expensive."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Camera
Posted06 March 2012
Customer avatar
By Ollie J
From:Cornwall
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"I purchased this camera to replace my Fujifilm Finepix HS10 and so far have not been disappointed."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Canon PowerShot SX40 HS 35x Zoom Compact Camera - Black.
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product