Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.

<p>Capturing that perfect shot in stunning quality couldn't be easier with the Canon SX50. A range of image stabilisation features mean you don't lose image quality whether it's shooting at night, using the 50x optical zoom, or filming full HD movies, allowing you to preserve those moments in beautiful pristine quality.</p><p>Model number: 6352B012AA</p><p>Product specification:</p><ul><li>12.1 megapixels.</li><li>50x optical zoom.</li><li>100x digital zoom.</li><li>2.8in screen with LCD technology.</li><li>50mm wide angle lens.</li><li>Optical image stabilisation.</li><li>Up to 2.2 frames per second.</li><li>CMOS sensor.</li></ul><p>Features:</p><ul><li>Maximum ISO rating 6400.</li><li>Built-in flash.</li><li>1080p HD recording.</li><li>Video capture with sound.</li><li>PictBridge compatible.</li><li>Detect up to 30 faces.</li><li>Features intelligent scene mode feature.</li></ul><p>Memory card compatibility:</p><ul><li>SD, SDHC and SDXC memory card formats.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Colour: black.</li><li>Includes strap.</li><li>Batteries required: 1 x Li-Ion (included).</li><li>Size H8.7, W12.2, D10.5cm.</li><li>Weight 595g.</li></ul><p>EAN: 8714574586489</p>
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
13 of 1681%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Review 1 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon Powershot SX50
Posted15 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Chico
From:Dunfermline, Fife, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Excellent camera with great zoom. Would be better if it came with decent manual on paper as so many features to remember how to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best camera I ever had
Posted25 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Mmmmmm!
From:Merseyside
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Wow, I love this beauty! Elegant design, well-conceived, lightweight, easy to use. Picture clarity: excellent. Low-light sensitivity: better than naked eye. Image stabiliser: brilliant (at 200x with digital zoom I can take clear, sharp shots hand-held). Features: too many to fully explore yet.
Niggles: too many buttons, too close together, too much clustered around where your hand grips the body. Handbook on CDROM, not paper means you can't take it out with you.
Overall, though, it's love!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
value for money
Posted01 June 2014
Customer avatar
By jake
From:norfolk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Build Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Based on price paid pretty average not impressed didnt even come in own case,also no digital card. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
By MARAGHI
From:London, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Best lens in word and is small and light "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great camera
Posted20 December 2013
Customer avatar
By beau
From:leicestershire
Age:55 to 64
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" takes good quality photos, zoom is excellent. I use this Camera for wildlife photos, have set one of the programs(c1)for birds and c2 program for insects and close ups. Good camera alround. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon sx50hs
Posted05 November 2013
Customer avatar
By Lee
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Brilliant camera fantastic zoom it's got that many features it might take time to work them all out and looks a lot better made than the sony equivalent "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good camera, shame about the selection wheel !
Posted05 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Adrian
From:Sunderland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Build Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" The SX50's selection wheel is located on the back of the camera and is difficult to use. It is the outer ring of a three layer control and trying to select aperture value or shutter speed or set exposure compensation is virtually impossible without pressing the self timer section of the inner ring next to the selection wheel. This brings up the self timer info which has to be cancelled before continuing. Bad design !
No miniature manual - major pain considering price.
Otherwise a good camera. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon PowerShot SX50
Posted23 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Sally
From:Buckinghamshire
Age:55 to 64
" Great Camera, I am used to an SLR but fed up with carrying it around on holiday so this is a great alternative, lightweight with great features and amazing zoom capacity. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant
Posted18 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Teresa
From:north yorks
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" new to photography,this is amazing bit of kit "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent buy
Posted12 June 2013
Customer avatar
By nellyp
From:Nottingham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Recommended in a magazine being the main reason I went for this model. Great zoom and clear image even at full zoom hand held. 50X equivalent to 1200mm telephoto. Not used to all the setting yet so plenty of tests to come. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Canon Powershot SX50 HS
Posted05 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Steve
From:Surrey
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Good camera, very good optical zoom, would have given 5 Stars if lens could take standard filter to protect lens....separate adaptor required for UV filter to fit....other than this a nice camera "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top quality super zoom bridge camera
Posted04 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:Durham
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" A great camera from canon and nearly bought sony hx 300 but most reviews prefered the canon sx50. Crystal clear images and the zoom is unreal...even at x200 which is the digital end of the zoom but still gives great pics to be fair. Feels solid and well built and the 'offer' case you can buy with it is great value and fits well. Video quality is brilliant and the zoom is quiet when recording. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yes yes yes
Posted28 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Rick
From:Staffs
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" After testing the Fuji HS50exr I decided I wasn't going to be happy with it because of soft image quality and focusing issues, so I got my hands on the sx50 and wow im glad I did the picture quality is sharp and the focusing is spot on. The reach of this zoom is awesome. I sold my DSLR kit because I was fed up with lugging around my bag full of lenses. Its not a full frame sensor but it gives really good images. All i can say is that im very happy with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased
Posted21 May 2013
Customer avatar
By johno
From:hampshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Great camera and service, chose the right camera, very pleased. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent bridge camera with incredible zoom
Posted21 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Linda
From:cornwall
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" I bought this instead of a zoom lens for my Canon 650d, the picture quality while not as good as the DSLR is pretty sharp even on full zoom. To buy a zoom with half the range of this one for a DSLR would cost you twice as much and weigh at least twice as much, so unless you have a big bank balance and big muscles this is a much simpler option. I also had the SX40 and the extra zoom on this one certainly makes a difference. Also the burst option is excellent for capturing wildlife in action.
I wouldn't swap it for my DSLR for landscape photography but for wildlife shooting its a little gem, it does a pretty good macro shot as well. So five out of five stars for what it is, an outstanding bridge camera!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Canon PowerShot SX50 HS 50x Zoom 12MP Bridge Camera - Black.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0 out of 1 recommend this product