Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.

The Alba Pocket camcorder offers approximately 30 minutes recording time based on a 1GB SD card. Pocket camcorder. Red. 8 x digital zoom. 2in TFT screen. Memory card compatibility: SD SDHC. Recording time dependant on memory card size. Digital picture processing. M-JPEG file format. 3MP digital stills. Mono sound. Features Auto focus. 3 special effects. Multiple fade and wipe combinations. Analogue. General information: AV output. Battery level indicator. Batteries required 2 x AA (included). Accessories included: AV cable. Weight 84g. Size H11, W6, D2.5cm.
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
29 of 3485%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Review 1 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ideal for a child
Posted21 February 2012
Customer avatar
By Teresa
From:Essex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"My 9 year old daughter purchased this from her birthday money, for the sale price. It is easy to use and the pictures are of a fair quality. I would say it is ideal for children as their first camcorder."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great item
Posted19 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Katerina
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"especially good for kids as very easy to work and pretty good quality to, buy a battery charger would be good also"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Value
Posted12 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Bob
From:uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brought as a present for my 6yr old daughter.She was delighted with it and had no trouble operating it.Highly recommended."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product
Posted10 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Catriona
From:Inverness
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Perfect for 8 years and above, my little one has lots of fun recording/taking pictures, keeping her amused for ages. It does need memory card for longer recording which can be picked up fairly cheaply."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought when it was on offer.
Posted10 January 2012
Customer avatar
By gail
From:derbyshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Nice compact and easy to use, bought as a gift for my 11year old daughter, nice starter movie camera. No flash or light so it needs to be used in GOOD light. Low price so you get what you pay for."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Camcorder
Posted01 September 2011
Customer avatar
By mel_y
From:England
Age:17 or under
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This camcorder is absolutley brilliant, perfect size to carry around and great picture/sound quality. Looks very stylish and is great for use on holiday and at family events. Only criticism is that because some buttons have multiple uses in different scenarios, can be difficult to use but keep the instruction book handy and it's perfect!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pocket Camcorder
Posted20 July 2011
Customer avatar
By FR
From:Scotland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The Alba Digital camcorder is probably best relegated to the realm of a child's present. The zoom is digital and therefore quality deteriorates almost immediately. The only advantage in this item over a reasonably good digital camera is the flip round screen which allows self recording and unusual angle recording."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good purchase
Posted24 January 2011
Customer avatar
By Linda
From:Whitley Bay
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This was not bought as a main present for my 9 year old Grand-daughter but has been well used since Christmas. It is easy to use and light and so compact. When she gets fed up with it I shall certainly borrow it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product
Posted18 January 2011
Customer avatar
By Greeny
From:Glasgow
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I got this for my 6 year old daughter - she loves it as it is red and she can record and take pictures. Had to buy a memory card for it as on Christmas day only with 30 seconds recording it ran out of memory."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase
Posted18 January 2011
Customer avatar
By loolabelle
From:UK
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought this for my 7 year old daughter for christmas and she absolutely loves it !! Very easy to use , perfect for kids ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not impressed
Posted01 September 2010
Customer avatar
By mick
From:dorset
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"first one had to take back no sound no problem exchanging this new one sound is a bit better but i still might take it back"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Funny noise on playback
Posted17 March 2010
Customer avatar
By Earlsdon
From:Coventry
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This should be an ideal product - cheap and does simply basic recording, but I had to return it.
The only flaw was a noise on the playback of a recording like a shutter continually clicking. It occured when using internal memory and was worse when using the sd card. The noise was not just on camera playback, but was part of the recording. The same fault occured on a replacement, so I assume it must be a feature.
Shame as most equivalents are 4x the price.
Argos were very helpful, as always
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+14points
19of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for a 7 year old
Posted16 March 2010
Customer avatar
By Deb
From:Glasgow
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Bought this for my daughter's 7th birthday - she is over the moon. She was able to use it immediately as it is really simple to use - you don't need to read an instruction manual first. Picture and sound quality are good enough for her, and I would definitely recommend this model to my firends. It also cost a lot less than the very similar Hello Kitty model.......excellent value for money."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very poor quality camcorder
Posted03 February 2010
Customer avatar
By Liz
From:Northumberland
Picture Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"A waste of money. The first one I got had faulty buttons so I got a replacement. The internal memory is useless as it only holds a few minutes of filming so I had to buy a memory card for it. The picture quality of the stills and the movie footage is very poor. There is no flash so filming has to be done in daylight. Got this for my son and he has hardly looked at it because basically it is useless."
No, I do not recommend this product.
-12points
2of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great gift
Posted31 January 2010
Customer avatar
By ginger
From:Mid glam
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"bought for 7 year old granddaughter who thinks it's fab. she got to grips with it really quickly."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Alba Camcorder for kids
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Geoff
From:Antrim
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Simple, not too expensive, just about right for a 8 or 9 yr old"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
alba camcorder
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By sharon
From:West Yorkshire
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very happy bought this for my 6 year old and he loves it, perfectly ok for what we wanted. If you want really good quality then you need a proper camcorder but for a child its excellant!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quality for the price
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Deags
From:South West
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great pictures, sound is rather fuzzy at times though.
Very easy to use, even for a techno-phobe like me!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alba Pocket Camcorder
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By sasa
From:Surrey
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought this camcorder for my 5 year old instead of the kids camera/camcorder after reading their terrible ratings. I rate the Alba 10/10 for the price and the durability when used by an age 5 who of course if a big responsible boy. Only little prob is that when used indoors you need good lighting, has no flast but we love it anyway."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alba Pocket Digital Camcorder - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pocket cam
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By abb
From:Flint
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was a good present for someone who is hard to please.
Very easy to use and takes great videos.
I have told loads of friends about it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>