Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.

Ensure you capture those unexpected special moments with this Hitachi HD digital mini camcorder. Lightweight and ultra compact, the D36FT is ideal to slip in your pocket or bag to carry around with you on your travels. Complete with 3in LCD touch screen, it records to a stunning Full HD quality and has SD and SDHC memory card compatibility. Camcorder model number D36FTPocket camcorder.5 x optical zoom.4 x digital zoom.3in LCD touch screen.1080p high definition recording.Accepts SD and SDHC memory card formats.Recording time dependant on memory card size.DIGIC DV picture processing.Mono sound.Features:CMOS sensor.Auto focus.5 special effects.Dual digital and optical image stabilisation.Multiple fade and wipe combinations.Analogue.General information:AV output.DV input and output.HDMI connection.Battery level indicator.Rechargeable Li-ion battery supplied.Includes USB cable, HDMI cable and AV cable.Weight 136g.Size H10.9, W8, D2.8cm.EAN/MPN/UPC/ISBN: 5014024999849.
Overall rating:
4.268 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
63 of 7189%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Review 1 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Good Value
Posted21 August 2012
Customer avatar
By JCTY
From:England
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Good quality picture. Bargain at the reduced price.
HD Recordings at a reasonable price.
Sound level may not suit everybody.
I found handy & useful for my purposes.
Highly recommended for general use.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A decent HD camera
Posted02 August 2012
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:Northamptonshire
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
" This is the first HD camcorder I've got, so for the price this is pretty darn great.
It features all the functions you'd expect on a top quality camera only with the quality lacking in some areas in this case. The sound quality is unfortunately very quiet (which can be changed in editing software thankfully), and the video quality can be rather grainy when used indoors in a dark area, which is where the camcorders light comes in handy.
You also get all the cables you would ever think of needing with the set also and the Hitachi can be charged via USB or the mains, something that I hated about my previous camera; having to use batteries!
So all in all, for a first camcorder it is great, but if you are thinking about replacing an older one and aren't on a budget like me then I'd probably pass up on this and getting one with a higher spec. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic little camcorder
Posted24 July 2012
Customer avatar
By craig
From:essex
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" excellent!
easy to understand
takes good photos as well as hd film
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value
Posted05 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Hill
From:Scotland
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Probably not the best cam corder on the market, but excellent value for money. I'm not tech minded, but was able to use it straight away. Even managed to post a video on to you tube.
Very satisfied.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Mini Camcorder
Posted27 June 2012
Customer avatar
By Jennie
From:Newport South Wales
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" As yet I haven't really used it, so far I have played around with it and have found it easy to use, light to carry and easy to understand and work, This is my third camcorder and so far the easiest to use, the smallest and the lightest.
So here's hoping the weather in Guernsey this weekend will improve and that I'll have lots of sunshine,
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great value for money
Posted10 May 2012
Customer avatar
By Bill
From:Wiltshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I've always been a still camera user and decided to buy a small cheap video camera to record a short holiday with old friends. I found this great value for money and easy to use. The only complaints I had were that the screen was very difficult to see in bright daylight and the recorded sound levels seemed quite low. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money
Posted07 March 2012
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:Buckinghamshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" For the price this is a great bit of kit, not very good in low light but think how often will you use it in low light, used it around London the other day and the results are very good. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
product faulty
Posted15 February 2012
Customer avatar
By Mobimbi
From:norfolk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Hi, re the camcorder above, Note I had to return as it was faulty, the sd card would Not stay in the sd card slot, so I asked for a refund.
Mobimbi
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cheap one
Posted11 January 2012
Customer avatar
By TommyPP
From:cambridgeshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" This Camcoder is quite cheap .. good picture ... handling of zoom functions not easy at all, even with small fingers.=, Menu and handling also not very good. Body with plastic feelling. Battery last only 30 min or so ... if you need it, it's runing out of power. Only used one.. now in the drawer for remain....RIP "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camcorder
Posted18 August 2011
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I am really pleased with it. I don't think you could buy a better one for the money. Picture quality when viewed through an HD tv is excellent, and I was very impressed that all the cables (including HDMI) came in the box. Very easy to use and battery life is surprisingly good. I would definately recommend it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome quality budget DV Camera
Posted09 August 2011
Customer avatar
By PeteY
From:Cardiff. Wales UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Bought this DV camera as a bit of a toy, thought how good could it be, after all you get what you pay for. I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised. The picture quality when played back on our 42" HD TV was awesome! And I was impressed by the cameras ease of use and the features available.
I would recommend this for any one who is looking for a great value high quality DV camera "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent valkue for money
Posted26 July 2011
Customer avatar
By ianc
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great results for a small hand-held recorder "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value
Posted02 July 2011
Customer avatar
By Pootle
From:england
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to use, you just need a little practice to hold it steady and use the zoom. Also found the camera coped well with filming from strong sunlight into shadows. Very pleased with the results; played my videos back on TV and just turned up the TV volume to hear the sound.
There is a protective film over the lens which has REMOVE printed on it in red - I hope the previous reviewer discovered this and was then pleased with the resulting quality of video picture. (There is also a protective film on the viewing screen)
I would have liked a lens cover, but for the money a very good buy.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointing
Posted29 June 2011
Customer avatar
By fathead
From:England
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This camera is small, light and easy to carry. It can be recharged using the USB port on my computer and the movies and pictures easily downloaded onto my Mac.
It gives very good results when used outdoors on a bright day. Indoors, however, the camera gives very poor results. The video is blurry and noisy. The camera doesn't cope well with normal indoor lighting.
The camera is generally easy to use, but the thumbwheel used for the zoom is fiddly and will not suit those with large fingers.
The case is badly designed and does not protect the lens - which has no cover at all.
If you will only use this outdoors on a bright, sunny day then buy it - it's good value. Otherwise avoid it.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great camera
Posted20 June 2011
Customer avatar
By Ben
From:Isle of Skye
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" i took this camera on holiday and i use the video and camera. I found them both excellent quality!
i brought this product mainly for video use but i found myself taking a number of stills as the quality of the stills where superb!
i am extremely happy with this camera it is very easy to use with amazing high definition video footage!!
a would recommend this product to all!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for the money
Posted17 June 2011
Customer avatar
By Fred&Neil
From:Snodland, Kent
" It looks great and is very easy to operate. The instructions are simple and the whole thing is not too complicated.
We are generally very pleased with it although possibly a little disappointed with the final quality of the film, and we found the software a bit pointless, preferring ther windows movie making software already on our PC.
Also, the case is a little pointless, it's nice to have it as part of the package, but annoying that you have to remove the whole camera and strap everytime you want to use it (why isn't the strap at the other end of the camera - you have to thread it back through the bottom everytime you put the camera back in the case.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very poor sound quality
Posted10 May 2011
Customer avatar
By John
From:west midlands
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Diaappointed with the extremely poor sound quality Also dvd made using supplied software will not play on dvd player ok on computer.Downloaded video dvd maker free and was able to make dvd that would play on my dvd player.Other than sound very easy to use just what I wanted. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not good
Posted26 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Hazel
From:U.K.
Picture Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Took ages to read the instructions which are confusing. When looking back at filmthere is a haze of red across the picture I may even return this product as it hasnt lived up to expectations. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Good FHD Camcorder For Price
Posted13 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Millie
From:England
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Overview:
I brought this camera as part of a course I am studying for as I was looking for a small camera to make practice shots and experimenting with. For this it works very well with very clear pictures with lots of choices of modes to play with (including various colour cast modes, sepia mode and negative mode. It also has a night mode but this is quite grainy - even with the use of the light under the lens).
Having said this, this camera would be perfect for family videos and day-outings to capture those memorable moments.
Physical Features:
Firstly this camera has a flip out screen which can be turned 180 degrees so the lens and touch screen are facing the same way - which is idea for those wannabe 'vloggers' out there.
It also has a thread on the bottom so it can be attached to a tripod.
The picture files are .JPEG and the videos are .AVI.
Picture:
Full HD video is very good for the price and you can link the camera up to any TV (a standard TV and HDTV) with all leads supplied and watch them back immediately.
I rarely use the picture capture as I would consider this fairly poor and the few images I have produced usually blurred.
I found that the focusing does struggle sometimes if theres considerable distance between the object being filmed and the background - but this tends to be only if a tripod is used and the object being filmed is moving.
Zoom is good but I would recommend a tripod when zoomed at full 20x and the sound of it can be picked up by the microphone.
Sound:
Not the best as it is fairly quiet. The microphone is built in, on the back of the touch screen.
Ease Of Use:
Anyone can use this - the touch screen means that everything is clear and the buttons on the screen are of a reasonably large size to press.
The included instructions are simple to grasp as well.
Battery Life:
With a memory card I can record approx 60-70 mins before I need to recharge the battery. (This is approx 4GB of video recording).
The battery can be recharged by plugging the camera into a computer (USB) or plug socket and takes about 4 hours to fully recharge from being completely exhausted.
Accessories:
The camera comes with a simple case - which isn't waterproof - but gives reasonable protection.
Comes with wrist strap.
Box included a CD for an application for managing the camcorder's media, burring videos to DVD and a direct upload software to a well-known video-hosting website (for PC only).
PS:
Don't forget your memory card! Theres only 1 minute of inbuilt memory.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+57points
57of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hitachi D36FT HD Digital Mini Camcorder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXCELLENT LITTLE CAMCORDER
Posted13 April 2011
Customer avatar
By shack
From:ENGLAND
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very handy and compact. easy to use.no problems what so ever,definately recoment this product.Super quality when viewed on tv via hdmi cable. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>