Top-rated product

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.

<p>Compact, high performance standard all-round lens provides sharp detail from near to far focussing distances. The Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens features a built in AF motor to provide fast, direct AF performance. With a minimum aperture of just f/1.8, this lens is perfect for photography in dark-lit areas, producing bright clear images in a range of lighting conditions. </p><p>Model f/1.8 II</p><ul><li>Canon EF lens mount.</li><li>Compatible with Canon EF cameras.</li><li>50mm focal length.</li><li>Aperture range of f/1.8 to f/22.</li><li>Manual and auto focus.</li><li>52mm filter.</li><li>Fixed focus lens.</li><li>Diagonal angle of view 46&deg;.</li><li>Includes lens cap.</li><li>Weight of 130g.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4960999212722</p>
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
39 of 4098%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 11 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Review 1 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted20 August 2014
Customer avatar
By KarlaAitch
From:East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
"Very good price and a great camera lens"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great camera lens
Posted05 August 2014
Customer avatar
By ireev
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"recommended great product"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
camera lens
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By alan
From:uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Very pleased with the lens good price works fine would recomend it"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant lens, great price
Posted29 January 2014
Customer avatar
By JX247
From:Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"I bought this item for my partner for his birthday, as he was impressed with it on my daughter's camera. It has now fast become his favourite lens as it is very versatile.
Efficient service from Argos, I reserved it online.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great addition
Posted05 November 2013
Customer avatar
By Craig
From:Derby, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"Anyone with a DSLR should get one of these lenses, great quality on close up images. Yes it is a little noisy, especially when on auto focus, but that doesn't detract from the overal satisfaction with this product, great value for money!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens
Posted11 September 2013
Customer avatar
By ianjmcd
From:Paisley, Renfrewshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"First prime Lens really helps take you beyond your previous thinking on framing shots , makes you work harder for the same shot and much better quality"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic
Posted27 June 2013
Customer avatar
By janeanddavy
From:kirkcaldy
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"very pleased with the nice sharp photo's.everything stand's out bright.best birthday present."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little lens
Posted14 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:Cleveland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Lets plenty of light in being an f1.8. Every Canon owner should have one of these in their bag. If like me you have been spoiled by USM lenses, you'll hate the noise it makes when focusing, It is noisy and it is plastic, but optically its a great bit of kit. . ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Budget Lens
Posted08 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Alex
From:Cheshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"A superb purchase for beginners (like myself) and excellent service within the Argos branch.
Excellent on both fronts"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little lens
Posted16 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Mr T
From:Lincoln
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"The Canon Ef 50mm f 1.8 II is a compact lightweight little lens with a big punch. Perfect for those close up shots, the wide aperture gives you the ability to shoot in low light conditions. The downside is a little noisy on auto focus, as you can hear the ultrasonic motor racing back and forward, a little plastic to the touch but, all in all good lens for the money."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Argos Camden Town
Posted28 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Martin
From:London UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"was served by a very helpful Irish chap. He has served me before and was helpful that time too. Makes a nice change these days. This branch could do with a bit of a makeover.
Happy with the lens but not used it much yet as the weather has been so awful. Loads of portraits planned.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lens for the price!
Posted26 February 2013
Customer avatar
By Jack
From:West Yorkshire
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
"This lens is excellent value as the optics are rather sharp and the performance is excellent."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what I wanted.
Posted21 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Jiff
From:England
"Does what it says on the box."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good compromise
Posted07 November 2012
Customer avatar
By JoeyTheEye
From:North London
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"This is a reasonable compromise beween a big aperture and big money. The autofocus is a bit slow and hard to get use to, but when it's right it's really right. At the right price, it's a good value lens."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good night-time shots + fantastic portraits
Posted25 September 2012
Customer avatar
By Marc C
From:Nottingham
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"The Canon 50/1.8 is a nice little lens, I wouldn’t say the build quality was any worse than the kit lens that come supplied with the camera, the focus ring is small but you soon get the hang of it. It’s extremely light weight and compact, the AF works very well in good light and switch on the side of the lens barrel selects between auto and manual focusing modes. It takes a very sharp pictures wide open and indoor or low light photography become a whole new ball game thanks to the super low f1.8 it produces some stunning night-time shots, as well as being very capable of capturing some fantastic portrait snaps. No doubt there are the glass snobs who will point out the corners of the images are soft, the motor is noisy and the mount is plastic.. but if you’re like me and don’t want to break the bank and enjoy photography for what it is I think you will love this fantastic versatile little lens. Ideal for those trying to be a bit more creative and want to break out of shooting in Auto mode. This is a fixed focus lens not a zoom lens, meaning YOU have move closer to the subject, reading the reviews I think some people haven’t realised this. Only downside is that Argos has this item marked as excluded from the 30 day return, so check its all ok before leaving the store! ☮"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Plastic fantastic
Posted19 September 2012
Customer avatar
By Bumblebush
From:United Kingdom
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Bought for low light photography, this lens does not fail. At f1.8 this is a very fast lens for most situations. The only down side is it is not stabilised, so some form of support of continuous shooting is called for.
Overall for the price you pay you can't go wrong
.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
rubbish lens plastic
Posted23 August 2012
Customer avatar
By gray
From:Cornwall
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"This is rubbish very plasic not worth it"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-34points
0of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent value at the price
Posted14 August 2012
Customer avatar
By Jeff P
From:UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"I read several professional reviews before buying this lens and they all came to much the same conclusion. Yes, it's plasticky. Yes, it focuses slowly and noisily. Yes it's soft around the edges on a full-frame camera. Yes, the five blade iris gives a poor bokeh. But otherwise it's very sharp, and on a DSLR with an APS-C sensor the soft edges are all but lost and you get an excellent 80mm equivalent portrait lens at a ridiculously low price. The f1.8 aperture gives you plenty of low light photography opportunities as a bonus. If you have only occasional use for a 50mm F1.8 prime lens, buy this one. At the price you can't go wrong."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase
Posted31 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Becci
From:North Lincolnshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Having read all the reviews I was very pleased with this lens.
Don't be fooled by the price because the quality is excellent.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Lens
Posted12 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Gazza7384
From:Merthyr Tydfil
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"This lens is an excellent for studio photoraphy. its fast and easy to use. I who higly recommened to any studio photograher"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>