Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.

<p>This Nikon 5MM F1.8G AF-S Nikkor lens is a bright, lightweight standard lens that gives a bright image in the viewfinder and is ideal for low light and shallow depth of field when desired. Improvements include a Silent Wave Motor fot extra quiet and fast focus, plus an aspherical lens element for even sharper image quality </p><p>Model JAA015DA</p><ul><li>Nikon F-Mount lens mount.</li><li>Compatible with Nikon DX &amp; Nikon FX Format cameras.</li><li>50mm focal length.</li><li>Aperture range of f/1.8 to f/16.</li><li>Manual and auto focus.</li><li>Silent wave motor.</li><li>58mm filter.</li><li>Macro lens.</li><li>Diagonal angle of view 31&deg;.</li><li>Includes lens cap, hood and case.</li><li>Weight of 185g.</li></ul><p>EAN: 18208021994</p>
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 of 19100%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Review 1 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Amy2014
From:Guildford
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"I bought this lens after taking a photography class and learning my lenses couldn't open larger than f5.6, so I was missing out on some interesting shots. I have been taking photos non stop and I am loving it. Only downside is that you may have to move more because you don have the zoom option."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bit of kit!
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Charl
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"Love this lens! Have already taken some great photos!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Affordable quality prime lens
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By CJS
From:Greater Manchester
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Works great on my D3100. Quality images, very happy with it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great nifty fifty lens
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By lordsuperfred
From:Milton Keynes, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"I bought this as my t-photo was unreliable on portrait work and a prime lens was needed , I was not disapointed , after using the sharpness and quick focusing is as good as I have ever had ,the F1.8 min aperture is perfect for both low light and flash work , it also works very well in manual focus , it is in short a great little lens for a remarkable price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent prime lens from Nikon
Posted07 November 2013
Customer avatar
By Duggy
From:Hampshire, England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Wanted a 50mm prime for my D300 and this little lens is a positive gem. Image quality, especially with the lens stopped down, is first class and autofocus is fast and accurate. The widest aperture also allows you to throw the background out of focus and the bokeh is not at all unattractive. Build quality is also decent. Using a fixed focal length lens instead of a zoom encourages you to think more about the pictures you're taking. If you have a Nikon DSLR I can thoroughly recommend this lens."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thrifty 50 Yes, Nifty 50 Most Definately
Posted08 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Richard137
From:Rochdale, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"I recently bought this on recommendation of a few reviews made. All I can say is that it lives up to its reputation, Sharp, ease of use even for beginners to photography.
Would I recommend the Lens? Yes, every photography bag need this in its arsenal!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nikon 50 mm lense
Posted08 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Jeepo
From:Nottingham, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Bought this lense for my nikon D3200 , I can't believe the quality of this lens , it's crisp an clear photos are amazing , I'm more than happy with this lens john from Nottingham"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prime Lens 50mm
Posted01 October 2013
Customer avatar
By ANPhotography
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"Absolutely a must when taking potraits / detailed shots. Definitely worth every penny. Nikon is by far the best."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nikon lens
Posted17 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Jim
From:Antrim
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"This was recommended to me by a professional photographer as a good lens to use for wedding pics etc & boy was he right...simple to use & does exactly what it says on the tin, I have only had my camera 2 weeks and the pics I have taken with this were of great quality."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic portrait lens
Posted09 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Bill
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Bought this to go with my D300S after reading loads of reviews on this lens and the 1.4g version. Went with this one and have not been disappointed. Superb sharp portrait photos, with backgrounds nicely blurred out.
Can't comment on the 1.4g lens, but I can recommend this one!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted21 August 2013
Customer avatar
By kp
Age:18 to 24
"Amazing lens, perfect for portraits and use in low light, a great professional lens!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lives up to expectations
Posted21 August 2013
Customer avatar
By John
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Before buying this lens I read numerous reviews on the internet, almost all of which were very favourable. In the short time I've had it I have been very impressed. Compared to the standard kit lens it's sharper, much faster and gives excellent control over depth of field. It's not a zoom lens of course, but you soon get used to framing by moving closer or further away, just like in the old days !
It's a very good lens at a reasonable price.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Lens
Posted08 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Maggie
Age:25 to 34
"This lens is amazing.You can take great pictures at night with low light!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sharp as a pin!
Posted07 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Mark
From:UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Perfect for use as a portrait or street lens and pin sharp with it. The low 1.8 aperture makes this lens ideal for low light situations. Nikon's best value lens in my humble opinion. If you are thinking of getting this lens then do it, you will pleased you did. I love it!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Lens.
Posted21 May 2013
Customer avatar
By JAN
From:WILTSHIRE
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"iT DOES THE JOB i@M SATISFIED THANK YOU"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bokeh here we come!
Posted24 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:Birmingham, United Kingdom
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"This lens instantly makes your photo's better whatever your level of ability. I have only recently started getting more serious about photography, having bought a DSLR as an upgrade from my bridge camera, and this lens makes even shots from an amateur look like they have been taken by a pro.
If you're looking for the blurred background effect (known as "Bokeh") then just snap this lens on to your camera, dial the aperture setting down to 1.8 and bingo! Your subject will be clear, crisp and sharp while the background blurs into a soft haze of colours. It performs very well in low light and there's no need for a flash at all. I have taken shots in a room lit only by normal house lights and this lens produces images that are bright and clear with an ISO setting of as little as 400. Now you can really take photos of people indoors without the need for expensive flashes that blind and dazzle your subject.
The build quality is first class, much higher than that of the cheaper 1.8f lens which still takes good photos but has a cheap, tacky look. This G lens also has a SWM (Silent Wave Motor) compared to the cheaper F lens which has a very noisy motor. No longer will people be looking around for Robocop whenever you use auto-focus!
My favourite feature of this lens is that you can focus it manually without having to switch to manual mode. If you try and turn the focus ring on a lot of lenses when they're set to Auto mode then you can damage the motors but this one doesn't mind, you can use auto or manual focus without having to switch between the two.
It has an aspherical lens inside, a more expensive and higher quality kind of glass, producing more detailed photo's compared to the cheaper 18-55mm kit lens. The only drawback i have found with this lens is the same for any 50mm - there's no zoom so you have to walk around a lot more to get the right shots. You also have to be quite some way back to take photos because the angle of the lens is not very wide. This combination of no zoom yet having to be some distance from your subject takes a bit of getting used to but you'll be glad you bought this lens when you see the results!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have !
Posted02 October 2012
Customer avatar
By Kenneth
From:Melton mowbray
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"10/10 if u got a dslr then u must get this!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Lens.
Posted18 September 2012
Customer avatar
By Bownsway
From:Sheffield
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Great for landscape and portraits this is the ideal lens."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nikon 50mm F1.8G AF-S Nikkor Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good additional lens
Posted03 April 2012
Customer avatar
By Wendy
From:Yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"I bought the Nikon D3100 which came with a bundled lens and needed something more suitable for portraits etc, I reserved this lens and when I got it home tried it on my camera, I was very pleased with the results, I used my grandchildren as models and loved the blurred background which I got with this lens or bokeh as the pros call it.
The subjects are pin sharp and the colours are good, definately a good addition to my new lens collection.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.