Top-rated product

Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.

<p>This Nikon DX format 35mm lens features high quality optics and compact dimensions with a large maximum aperture of f/1.8 that offers a bright viewfinder image and is ideal for low light shooting situations. It delivers high resolution and contrast with quiet autofocus operation and fulfils the role of a standard wide-aperture lens. </p><p>Model JAA132DA</p><ul><li>Nikon F-Mount lens mount.</li><li>Compatible with Nikon DX &amp; Nikon FX Format cameras.</li><li>35mm focal length.</li><li>Aperture range of f/1.8 to f/22.</li><li>Manual and auto focus.</li><li>Silent wave motor.</li><li>52mm filter.</li><li>Includes lens cap and hood.</li><li>Weight of 200g.</li></ul><p>EAN: 18208021833</p>
Overall rating:
4.762 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 of 21100%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Sort by Customer reviews for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Review 1 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Biting sharpness at a great price.
Posted11 March 2014
Customer avatar
By CHRIS
From:CANNOCK STAFFS
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"If you've bought a Nikon Digital SLR this is your next purchase, as prime lenses (.i.e, non zoom) give superb quality pictures with biting sharpness.
An excellent 35mm lens I haven't taken it off my camera yet,you wont be disappointed and theres a cashback on it too !"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lens
Posted04 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Craigyp
From:Hyde, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"This is a great lens!! I've been after one for a while now, and decided to bite the bullet, an buy it! This is an awesome lens for street photography, and close up portraits!!
If this is the kind Of thing your in to, but it!!
Great value for money and all in all, a really good lens!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb lens for any cropped sensor DX camera
Posted01 March 2014
Customer avatar
By puggster
From:edinburgh
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"Got this lens as a first prime lens for my d3100,
it is equivalent to 50mm because of the crop factor, but this lens is pin sharp and very good quality images are produced,
it handles low light very well and manages to create some lovely blurred back grounds in portrait's or close ups,
its also very fast and accurate auto focus, with manual focus is available to you even when auto focus is enabled.
fabulous!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made a big difference to portraits
Posted08 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Justaguywithacamera
From:Weston-super-Mare, North Somerset, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"I have read many times of the importance of good lenses. My SLR is basic and quite old. In fact this lens is worth more than the camera. But, what a difference. I was able to take natural looking photos of the family over Christmas, indoors, no flash, crisp focused faces and nicely blurred backgrounds. Since buying this lens, I haven't used the original kit lens at all."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent value
Posted01 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Rod
From:Shropshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Bought this to use as a general purpose, everyday lense, because all my other lenses are zoom. Using it with nikon D7100. Fantastic quality for the price and would reccomend to anyone using nikon dx format. It is especially good for taking portrait shots as you would expect."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect lens
Posted19 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Loraine
From:Nottingham
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"This lens has been on my wishlist for ages and it didn't disappoint.The lens is a great walkaround lens, and is a comfortable weight when coupled with a heavy dlsr and flash. It gives a nice bokeh for portraits and handles low light quite well."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small,Quiet,Great
Posted17 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Boogle007
From:Wanlockhead, Dumfries and Galloway ML12, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
User submitted photo
"Excellent lens, though it was more expensive at Argos than anywhere else, takes nice sharp pictures and is much better optically than the standard 18-55, great for landscapes,portraiture etc and is amazing in low light situations , the Bokeh is nice and soft, so overall a great Lens if you have a DX camera body"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pin sharp lens
Posted04 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Mark
From:Essex
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"Bought this lens to use with my Nikon D5000 on a wedding shoot. This lens didn't disappoint. Wide aperture of f/1.8 meant a flash wasn't required in the church. Auto focus is fast and images are pin sharp. Awesome piece of kit."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Lens
Posted01 September 2013
Customer avatar
By CaroleO
From:Kent
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Good all round lens. Light enough to carry around on days out. Photos sharp and good in low light."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good lens for DX cameras
Posted20 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Fenboy
From:Somewhere in East Anglia
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"After all the bulky - but cheap - zoom lenses that Nikon supply with their consumer-end SLRs, having a small, compact and wide-aperture standard lens (this one equates to around a 52mm on the 35mm format) is a return to 'real' photography. The lens is decently well made and has great performance and sharpness. Mount this on a small Nikon DX-format DSLR body and you've got a really compact camera for your travels, holidays etc."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Lense
Posted05 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Samantha
From:Surrey
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
"If you are looking for your next lens or your first prime lense this is perfect. I couldn't decide between the 50mm or the 35mm but I know I made the right choice. One thing to remember is on a dx 35mm is equal to 52mm on a cropped dx lens, which means that a 50 mm would have been a 75mm focal length. Remember that 35mm is good but 50 always looks better so if you want a 50mm focal length go for the 35mm as 75mm is just too tight for most landscapes. If you are using it for portraits 75 isn't bad I personally like 100mm for portraits but the 35 on the dx looks fantastic too. It's a great lens to help you zoom with your feet and it is VERY very sharp."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great lens
Posted05 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Pete
From:Manchester
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Very good sharp photos,superb for the money.admittedly there are better lenses out there but much higher prices
Happy customer
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Lens
Posted10 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Gareth
From:Cambridgeshire
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
"A great deal for a high quality product. This lens is extremely sharp as most reviews will tell you. The lens bag is mega handy and it's essentially the classic 50mm (effectively 52mm because of the cropped sensor) allowing for the classic framing"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lens
Posted09 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Ian
From:Glasgow
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"A very useable lens. And for the price was pleased to find it has a metal mount. Very pleased"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
35mm nikon lens
Posted04 April 2013
Customer avatar
By marg
From:gillingham, dorset
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"good item, the quality I expected"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good lens
Posted21 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Dave XL5
From:GTR. Manchester.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"A very nice prime lens, very quick focusing and a very good alternative to the kit lens which are not always the best. f1.8 gives you plenty of light to play with, and more apertures to choose from ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every penny
Posted15 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Jim P
From:Kent
"Excellent lens that produces sharp pictures. Particularly useful in low light conditions and captures beautiful portraits.
Good second or third lens if you are looking to get more out of your Nikon D60 or D90."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ideal for general indoor shots
Posted13 March 2013
Customer avatar
By John
From:Hertfordshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"The large aperture makes this lens very suitable for indoor shooting where flash is not an option or would not give the results you want. I have not had time to test it out thoroughly but optical quality and colour rendition look good. Being a prime non-VR lens it is quite lightweight. Auto-focus is quick, smooth and very quiet.
Even at f1.8 the depth of focus is nowhere near as tight as on a macro lens. Some people may consider this an advantage as it means more elements in your picture will be in focus (or almost in focus). However, for portraiture or shots where you deliberately want to throw the background well out of focus so it does not distract from the main subject, this is probably not the lens to choose.
The closest it can focus is about 19 cm from the front of the lens. At that distance, an object that is about 12.5 cm wide will fill the viewfinder width-wise.
Delivered quickly, in good condition and in the Nikon box which was security sealed."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nikon lens
Posted12 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Tommy
From:Nottinghamshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"I have a nikon D40 and a D3000 and when using of automatic it gives better options of shutter and apature great for close ups to,and its a great price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nikon AF S 35mm F1.8 G DX Camera Lens.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great but careful which item you buy
Posted06 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:Lancashire
"A great lens for a competitive price although be careful as this lens is listed twice on the Argos site. One is £45 more than the other but its exactly same item!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>