Top-rated product

Nikon Flash Gun.

<p>This Nikon SB-400 flash gun is compact and lightweight and is perfect for enhanced twilight shots or for adding impact to daylight images. </p><ul><li>Compatible with all current Nikon SLR cameras.</li><li>Ultra compact.</li><li>TTL flash.</li><li>Maximum working range 20m.</li><li>Bounce flash function.</li><li>Metal mounting foot.</li><li>Speedlight controllable with camera.</li><li>Case, .</li><li>Batteries required 2 x AA (not included).</li><li>Weight: 127g.</li><li>Size: H5.7, W6.6, D8cm.</li><li>EAN: 18208048069.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.679 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 of 2095%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Nikon Flash Gun.
Review 1 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nikon flash gun
Posted21 October 2014
Customer avatar
By tazluti
From:south west england
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compatibility 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Works a treat with my Nikon D3100, much better results than the built in flash, the flash keeps up with the shutter speed - for example, taking photos in portrait mode in fair to good natural light conditions, but it will not keep up with the shutter if taking shots in low light conditions. The tilt function on this unit, known as "bounce" is a great feature, clearer shots and most of all the person wont be blind sided by the flash. compared to the built in flash. I would recommend this unit."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Flash
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By mboy67
From:Stirlingshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compatibility 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Purchased this after researching many options to fit my Nikon D3200.
Flash is small, compact, very light and performs excellently.
I would advise purchasing a diffuser for it to use when wanting to dim the flash slightly.
Would definitely recommend it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This Flash does not suit all Nikon Cameras!
Posted05 June 2014
Customer avatar
By DAV
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Argos very kindly did accept the return of this flash gun which they did not have to under the terms and conditions!
If you have an older model of camera do your research.
Sadly Nikon will not be of much help to you but after finding this flash did not work I did a lot of trawling through the internet and found an old flash that was suitable.
Be careful your ARGOS store might not be as friendly as mine.
Thank you for taking it back.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nikon SB400
Posted19 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Nosha
From:Northamptonshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Simple like me! Just an on/off switch, smaller than I thought, but works very well on my Nikon D3100.
Should work perfectly on any Nikon D-SLR due to the iTTL dedication system, you can almost 'fit & forget'.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nikon SB 400 Flash
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Bravo
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
User submitted photo
"Excellent flash and amazing improvement on my images now,
Highly recommended for the D7000 works perfect"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good
Posted09 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Quintin
From:Scotland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"I was suppricesed that it keeps up with the shutter speed good flash for the price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really lights up the room
Posted12 June 2012
Customer avatar
By Alan
From:Halifax
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Great product for a beginner. Lightweight and easy to set up and use.
Really improves indoor shots over the built in flash..
I'm using it on a Nikon D5100.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent robust flash.
Posted14 March 2012
Customer avatar
By Mickxy
From:Cheshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"I did a very silly thing, within two hours of purchasing this item I droppped it onto a tiled floor from table height. The flashgun survived my clumsiness, in fact it was completely undamaged and has gone on to produce first class results. Small, light and of course robust. This is a first class product and a great companion for my Nikon D5100 DSLR."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy !!!
Posted11 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Duggi
From:Lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Great litle flash... complete with accessory bag... wonderful !!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SB-400 NIKON FLASH
Posted08 November 2011
Customer avatar
By Dr Foster
From:doncaster
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Very good,taken a few shots really pleased with it.Would recommend it for the price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good flash
Posted27 September 2010
Customer avatar
By Olly
"I'm an amatuer photographer and have been looking for a flash but most were out of my price range so when I saw the SB400 at this price I had to get it. It's a nice compact bit of kit that will fit in my bag easy. It could do with some diffusers being readily available for it. I have taken some nice pics already with this flash fitted to my d40. Recommended"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase
Posted24 September 2010
Customer avatar
By Bill
From:England
"Suitable for my needs & works well with the Nikon D80, being able to angle the head to get bounce of the ceiling works well a good buy."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nikon flash gun
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By charlie
From:lancs
"excellent bit of kit for taking photos in low light in larger rooms."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Won't be using built-in flash again !
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Fairycake
From:The north
"I spent a long time researching into a flashgun, for my D40. I looked at both Nikon brands and other brands. I chose the SB400, as it was cheap and had great reviews. It is very highly-rated by Ken Rockwell, who uses his SB400 more than his SB600. I also chose it as it is much smaller & lighter than the SB600. The only downside is that you can't take portrait-length photos with it, but there are ways round this and, surprisingly, I havent found this to be a problem. I was amazed at what a difference the SB400 has made to my photos and can't imagine using the built-in flash again. The SB400 is so small, it can be left on the camera all the time. It is also very simple to use: with only an on/off button. No options or fancy screens. Love it !"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I needed
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By johnthepictureman
From:Cornwall
"Just what I needed a small easy to carry around flash gun. Excellent buy for anyone with a good quality camera."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple, Light and "does the job"
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Cogent
From:Hertfordshire
"Really easy to use. Put in the batteries, lock the switch (to the hot-shoe) and turn it on and off you go. In the Program mode you only need to decide the angle of bounce on the adjustable flash panel. Only thing I wish it could do is rotate 90 degrees so you could use the flash in portrait orientation rather than just landscape orientation. Overall an excellent product, extremely light so you can leave it on the camera all the time really, just in case you might need it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Camera Flash
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Sue
From:east sussex
"Bought this for my husband for his birhday, he was very pleased and thouth it was a very expensive piece of kit little did he know how reasonably priced it was. Easy to use and very good results."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect for entry level
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Symon
From:Bradford
"This Flash is great for those with entry level D40's or D60's as you don't really want the flash bigger than the camera. However the more professional phiotographer may prefer a more complicated flash. This one is easy to use and makes a massive difference to the on board flash"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Handy little flash
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:KENT, UK
"More powerful than the built in flash obviously but it is a trade off between not being that big and not being that powerful. Recharge time is good. Turns on and off with my camera and it was as simple as slide it on and start shooting. Main advantage over built-in flash is that this can do bounce flash off the ceiling which gives better pictures in most people's eyes. I considered the bigger SB-600 but it seemed bulky and I didnt think I would use horizontal bounce so what was the point of lugging the extra weight and size around."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nikon Flash Gun.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nikon flash gun
Posted16 October 2009
Customer avatar
By lynn
From:west sussex
"nice and light/compact"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>