Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.

Cross cut. Throat width 230mm. 18 litre waste basket. Accepts staples, credit cards paperclips. Shreds 11 sheets of A4 into 3.9 x 35mm pieces. Auto start/stop and reverse. Safety cut-out on bin removal. DIN level 3. New SafeSense Technology automatically stops shredding when hands are too close to shredder throat. Size H55.4, W39.3, D27.4cm. Manufacturer's 2 year machine and 5 year cutter guarantee.
Overall rating:
4.623 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 85 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
36 of 3797%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Review 1 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shredder I've owned
Posted18 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Speedylee
From:Bury
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" I bought the DS-1 to replace my previous Fellowes shredder. This one is taller which is better for your back, easy empty bin, safety features are fantastic, it's quieter and also allows you to shred 11 sheets of paper with no problems. I would defidently recommend this product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great at what it was built for.
Posted18 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Adam C
From:Devon
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
" This shredder is very well made and shreds paper and credit cards etc very well. It has not jammed up on me so far and the large basket is great for non stop shedding for a while.I would like to have seen a handle either side of the shredder because it is a little heavy and it would make it much easier to move around.
Some people mentioned how the shredded paper spills out when (if full) you try to remove the basket because the shredded paper fills up towards the back of the basket but i found if you push the step which is connected to the basket and tap it up and down with your foot 2-3 times the shredded paper falls the the front of the basket and therefore stops any paper spills. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the Job
Posted11 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Tony
From:Middlesex
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Having previously worked three cheap home shredders to extinction in short order, this one seems to be holding up well to fairly frequent and moderate scale usage.
It is simple, and a good size and shape. It has a gauge for overheating, and isn't too messy -unless you empty it only when it is overflowing!
So far, so good .....!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent product
Posted24 November 2011
Customer avatar
By harry@home
From:england
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" very practical very efficient and easy to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great
Posted15 November 2011
Customer avatar
By Office 01
From:Midlands
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Best shredder by far, good power, see through basket which holds a lot and it is easy to empty!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DS1 Shredder
Posted03 November 2011
Customer avatar
By Terry
From:UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" This the best shredder I have ever used. Large see through basket. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very easy to use
Posted01 November 2011
Customer avatar
By Lynn
From:Essex. UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Being disabled I have had trouble with shredders that are too heavy at the top and having to lift this off in order to empty the basket or unblock it was very difficult and awkward. Just lifting off the front basket of this one is so easy and not heavy at all. It performs well, and am very pleased. The only downside is that it is so tall, check the height before buying. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So Far So Good
Posted27 October 2011
Customer avatar
By Clarence
From:UK
" This shredder has so far done the job, easy to empty and good at cross-shredding. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb
Posted18 October 2011
Customer avatar
By Sian
From:South Wales
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Excellent shredder, works quickly and efficiently. Ploughed through a backlog of shredding in no time at all. Waste basket is easy to empty. I have bought the oil recommended which is easy to use and am oiling it regularly and have had no problems so far. Wish I'd bought one of these sooner. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fellowes Shredder
Posted06 July 2011
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:Lodnon SE1 7QY
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" A good reasonably priced machine, suitable for a small office. Efficient machine and easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant
Posted28 June 2011
Customer avatar
By Sue
From:Devon, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Having moved house I decided to have a massive clear out - this shredder has lived up to and exceeded my expections. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says ...
Posted28 June 2011
Customer avatar
By Kitty
From:Dorset
Age:55 to 64
" ... efficiently, quietly, unobtrusively and effectively.
Let us hope it lasts.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than expected
Posted21 June 2011
Customer avatar
By boss
From:england
" bigger than I had realised but so very easy to use and makes great hamster bedding! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paper Shredder
Posted12 April 2011
Customer avatar
By dc
From:England
" This is the third "paper Shredder" I have purchased & this is by far the best one.
Not only will the shred the paper securely it makes emptying the full bin easy without dropping the contents on the floor. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SHREDDER
Posted29 March 2011
Customer avatar
By NICK
From:LONDON
" I FIRST BOUGHT A SIMILAR ITEM LAST YEAR, AND FOUND IT HANDLED EVERYTHING MOST EASILY, HOWEVER, IT HAD A TENDENCY TO OVERHEAT AFTER A VERY SHORT TIME OF USE, AND HAD TO BE REPLACED WITHIN THE YEAR. BUT WHEN IT WORKED IT WAS VERY GOOD INDEED. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality shredder a few niggley things though
Posted01 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Andy
From:UK
" I do love this shredder and purchased it for low to medium usage in the office.
Argos had the best price at the time of purchase
Things to be aware of:
Don't trust the level gauge, if it looks 50% full then that’s the point to empty it. It easily spills over when removing the bin if you go beyond around 50%
Sometimes the clever auto-cutout feature will turn off the shredder even when your not touching it because the paper your shredding has skewed side wise and touched the top surface. Its just something to be aware of and easily fixed by hitting reverse.
All in all it’s far better than the cheaper ones we have used in the past and its keeping my office tidy so can't complain. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted16 February 2011
Customer avatar
By lin
From:England
" Fine if you dont put too much paper in at once "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works like a dream
Posted15 February 2011
Customer avatar
By Dale
From:Uk
" This is my second Fellowes Shredder. When it's worn out I'll get another the same. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mean Machine !
Posted15 February 2011
Customer avatar
By Cass
From:England
" Great shredder, great design and very sturdy ! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fellowes DS-1 Cross Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well for a home use model
Posted18 January 2011
Customer avatar
By Shelley
From:London
" Efficient shredder and looks smart in black with a silver basket.
Practicle for use with the large basket capacity - but you need some space in a room to stand it as it's not the smallest size overall.
I would recommend this rather than the less expensive home shredders as at least it doesn't keep overheating and stop working! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>