Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.

Plug and play. Compatible with Windows 2000, XP, Vista and Mac OS X 10.2.8 - 10.5. LCD display. Built-in memory 512MB. Voice activated. Recording time 221 hours in long play mode. 5 folders. Built-in microphone and speaker. Headphone and microphone sockets. Can be used as a mass storage device. WMA files can be transferred and played. Includes: USB cable. General information: Weight 63g. Size H3.7, W10.2, D1.8cm. Batteries required 2 x AAA (included). Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.
Overall rating:
4.641 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
44 of 4794%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Review 1 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Olympus VN5000PC
Posted15 February 2011
Customer avatar
By Eltel
From:Carlisle
"Excelent recorder very clear play back , easy operation"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really is the appliance of science
Posted15 February 2011
Customer avatar
By Tom
From:UK
"Dictaphones have been around for years, but Olympus have nailed it with this product.
Easy to read screen
Dead easy to use controls, the folks at Olympus seem to have understood what people will actually use this for and have built it with that purpose in mind (its very intuitive to use - who actually reads instruction manuals anymore - or can be bothered to goto www and download blah blah blah...) Its very touchy feely, controls are a nice size and right under where your thumb normally sits.
Sound recording quality is great and I can recommend the Olympus accessories especially the phone recorder to go with it.
This is a spot on product. Real good value.
Its not much bigger than a box of matches, if I was a student I would use this in lectures and not miss a thing.
Build quality is great, it emulates the quality Olympus put into their cameras.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent buy
Posted02 February 2011
Customer avatar
By zindy
From:UK
"I was a little concerned about how this would work as I have always taped in the past. The sound is clear and it is so easy to copy recording to disc on PC. Showed it to my friend she was so impressed she is going to buy one for herself."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Olympus VN-5500PC is EXCELLENT!
Posted01 February 2011
Customer avatar
By John
From:United Kingdom
"This machine works out of the box. Very simple to operate and has a sensitivity setting which enables you to filter out external noise or record a conversation in a quiet hall. I was making notes on the high sensitivity setting and it clearly recorded a conversation in the next room.
Computers (Windows,LINUX) pick it up immediatly when plugged in via USB port.
I love it!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dictaphone
Posted23 November 2010
Customer avatar
By Judy
From:England
"I needed this item to tape a meeting. The sound quality was excellent. Easy to load on to PC. Better than expected for price. The instructions were very easy to follow"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for lectures
Posted10 November 2010
Customer avatar
By JD666
From:England
"Excellent for recording lectures, wish I`d bought one for my first year.
Make sure you get the PC version if you want to save any recordings, which is very easy to do.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone
Posted09 November 2010
Customer avatar
By Matt
From:England
"Worth spending a little more to get something that enables you to copy recordings onto your PC. I purchased this dictaphone so that I could record the stories and memories of a D-Day veteran; it worked perfectly first time and was simple to use and copy onto my computer. Smaller than a mobile phone, but buttons are large enough to use easily and picture is easy to read. I would recomend it!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent
Posted09 November 2010
Customer avatar
By jax
From:South Lanarkshire
"Have now had a chance to use the Dictaphone. It is absolutely fantastic. Great product and easy to use. Have also used it with an external microphone. Could not believe how clear the sound was and from a good distance away. During a recent telephone call, the dictaphone was on. It managed to record the other callers voice without being placed near the phone.Using only the built in internal microphone. Very surprised, I would not hesitate to recomend the product to friends. Excellent product. Well worth the price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Results
Posted28 October 2010
Customer avatar
By stells
From:Enfield
"As long as you're not too lazy to read the instructions, this is a very easy to use item with excellent results. I used this for lectures at Uni and have learnt that the result may be 90%, which is still good, depending on other factors in the room eg speakers. Trial and error and you get used to the best placement. Transferring data to my lap top is easy-peasy.
In all a very valuable gadget
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really Good
Posted26 October 2010
Customer avatar
By JSP
From:Oxford UK
"This voice recorder is well worth the money, really works well"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great gadget
Posted12 October 2010
Customer avatar
By SPC1
From:N. Ireland
"This digital voice recorder was really bought for use in work but could have a number of uses outside the office. Its size has to be the first advantage as it's not much bigger than a mobile phone. The controls are easy to use and the quality of playback is extremely clear.
The item can be connected to a computer via a USB cable (which was supplied). All in all this item will be very useful.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
very disapointed
Posted23 September 2010
Customer avatar
By janpick
From:uk
"I am a hypnotherapist , I bought this product so that I could record self hypnosis sessions to give to my clients. However the voice sound is very poor. It's so bad that I cannot give my recordings to anyone.
As a dictaphone it is good, picks up voices clearly but this is not what I wanted it for and I don't think I will ever use it again. What a waste of £50.
However I do know there is a mic that goes with it but as far as I know you do not have it in stock and because the voice sound is so bad I would hesitate before wasting any more money.
When I purchased this item I was told by the assistant that I could not return it just because I did not like it. So sadly I am stuck with it.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT BUY!
Posted31 August 2010
Customer avatar
By katieboo83
From:gloucestershire
"Fab item great for many things.
would recommend to any one
good features with many different files to access.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for money
Posted20 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Leandro
From:London, UK
"Great product, simple to use and reliable."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
very poor
Posted06 July 2010
Customer avatar
By IRISH EYES
From:Armagh
"If you have used one of these before you my find it easy to use, but the instructions that come with it are very poor. Took it back to the shop, ask the duty manager to explain how it worked but he too give up and let me return product."
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it says
Posted01 July 2010
Customer avatar
By wilieB
From:UK
"I used this to record a conference meeting ( with permission) with about 80 attendees with the recorder on the vacant seat next to me, about 5 rows back from the front. All the presenter were recorded clearly enough to transcribe and as a bonus all the question and answers after the presentations were recorded as well.
So its looks good for conference recording. Oh and its easy to use with a computer and you can upload the .wav files to a website directly so they can be heard easily with most web browsers."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the Job
Posted08 June 2010
Customer avatar
By Ronald
From:Wiltshire
"Small discreet and incredibly easy to use. File copying to PC is simplicity itself. The sound quality is very good and can do 36 hours straight off...wow! I suspect it is not exactly cosher to record conversations when others are not aware of it being done but it does put you in a powerful position when you have total recall......."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did the job !!!!
Posted25 May 2010
Customer avatar
By PFOFR
From:United Kingdom
"Excellent product and easy to operate."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good item
Posted11 May 2010
Customer avatar
By brian
From:London
"In case you are worried about volume (both recording and playback) you needn't be. It's a very good product"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Olympus VN-5500PC Digital Dictaphone.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice
Posted11 May 2010
Customer avatar
By cherries
From:London
"i dont know what more you could expect a recorder to do to be honest. it does the job perfectly fine. im pleased with what i purchased.
i didnt give it 5 stars because i wasnt impressed with the material used.. (i think its plastic). it is really light weight so feels like holding a toy. nevertheless, im satisfied.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>