Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.

Cross cut. Throat width 220mm. 25 litre waste basket. Accepts staples, credit cards CD/DVDs. Shreds 12 sheets into 4 x 35mm pieces. Auto start/stop. Safety cut-out on head removal. Overheat protection. Size H46.4, W36.7, D25.1cm.
Overall rating:
4.725 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
39 of 4098%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Review 1 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good choice
Posted08 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Eric
From:Northern Ireland
"The shredder works well, if a little noisey. The description says it can take staples, but the icon on the machine says it cannot."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stuff
Posted01 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Koby
From:UK
"Not yet used for CD and credit card but superb and fast on paper."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good at what it is meant for.
Posted01 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Davie
From:Scotland
"Shreds the paper extremely well.It can shred up to 12 sheets at a time theerefore saving time."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product at a reasonable price
Posted16 February 2011
Customer avatar
By May
From:Kilmarnock
"This product was excellent and done the job perfectly."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lives up to expectation - and more!
Posted03 February 2011
Customer avatar
By Florence
From:Scotland
"Because I was continually having to unblock my previous (several years old) shredder, I bought the Alba 12 sheet cross-cut model. I haven't tried to shred more than six sheets at a time but it has dealt with all my requirements so far. The handle is very useful - much better than having to lift off the working top with two hands - and the large size of the collecting bin means that I don't have to empty it often. So far I am very pleased with my purchase."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good workhorse if you accept it's shortcomings
Posted01 February 2011
Customer avatar
By David
From:UK
"I read a number of positive reviews of the Alba as I was looking for a shredder that would cope with a decent volume of paper. The manufacturers say 12 sheets max but I would recommend no more than 4 if you don't want it to overheat. The sensible maximum is 6 sheets but it depends on the thickness of the paper."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Satisfying
Posted09 November 2010
Customer avatar
By swill
From:london
"Easy to use and quite a robust, heavy duty feel to it. Now keen to find more to shred."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Product
Posted09 November 2010
Customer avatar
By Chief.
From:Stirlingshire
"I have bought cheaper Shredders before never again ! Pay that little bit more and the Alba 12 Sheet Shredder pays it's way ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best one i've had!
Posted29 October 2010
Customer avatar
By Tubby
From:UK
"The Shredder works very well and quite quietly. I've been impressed by the CD shredder as well as the main one. The handle on the top part makes it easy to empty. All in all the best one i've had!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Some machine
Posted12 October 2010
Customer avatar
By Barry
From:UK
"Without doubt the Daddy of all shredders."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job
Posted12 October 2010
Customer avatar
By Nick
From:UK
"Comfortably handles up to 8 sheets at a time.
Seems to be robust enough to do the job.
Although maximum capacity is 12 sheets I never push my luck with shredders.
Useful handle to remove top from bin.
Bin capacity is ample.
This was on special offer, so it was paricularly good value for money."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Customer
Posted29 September 2010
Customer avatar
By Mars
From:London
"I choose this shredder after reading the good reviews here and I am very happy with it. It seems very robust and I haven't experienced any problems with paper jams or over-heating as I have with other shredders. Not too noisy either."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted24 September 2010
Customer avatar
By Sheila
From:Lancashire
"Considering the price of this shredder, it is excellent value for money.. It does exactly what it claims and I am more than pleased with it.
I would recommend it to anyone who needs an efficient and quiet machine. Much better than my previous one - which incidentally cost about the same.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shredder I have ever used
Posted20 September 2010
Customer avatar
By Steve
From:Lincs
"Nothing stops this thing. CD, credit cards and paper are just eaten by this thing. It just goes and goes. It is by far the best shredder we have ever had and I think it is the best one I have ever used. It makes short work of those bits of paper you have been meaning to shred for ages and cuts them in to small pices. I would highly recomend this to anyone."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Mower
Posted19 September 2010
Customer avatar
By Bob
From:Hampshire
"As they say it does exactly what it says on the tin. Soon went through the pile of stuff to shred with no trouble. If you want something that is close to a pro machine then buy this one."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent purchase
Posted16 September 2010
Customer avatar
By sal
From:south yorkshire
"I have had several shredders in the past that either got jamed or over heated. this one works every time its quieter and dosent interfere with the TV like the others did. I'm really pleased with my purchase and the price means it's good value too."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shredding can be fun
Posted15 September 2010
Customer avatar
By andromeda
From:London
"I have had 5 shredders in 5 years, including WHSmith, Fellowes, Sainsbury's own brand.
This one is by far the best. Smooth, fast, powerful shredding, hasn't jammed yet, which is remarkable considering the cardboard etc., that I have put through. Remarkably quiet.
It can take up to 12 sheets, so I don't have to spend time breaking up documents.
It's heavy probably because it's powerful, but easy to empty because of the handle for lifting the lid off.
I bought it with a £20 reduction, and would never have entertained paying full price before trying it, but having used it I think it's even worth paying the full price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shredder
Posted15 September 2010
Customer avatar
By Karin
From:Cambridgeshire
"Very impressed with this product. Quick, efficient and quiet."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy shredder
Posted02 September 2010
Customer avatar
By Jonathan
From:London
"I am happy with my purchase. The shredder has a separate slot for CDs which it shreds into a separate bin within the main bin. I thought this was an excellent idea as it means the plastic waste doesn't contaminate the paper waste, which can be recyled. I made the mistake of putting a credit card through the CD slot so it would go into the plastics bin, but it got stuck. The CD shredder just shreds CDs into 2" wide strips, and the credit card wasn't wide enough to be pulled through the mechanism. Apart from that, the shredder has a large bin and a useful handle."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alba 12 Sheet X Cut Paper Shredder.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent purchase
Posted31 August 2010
Customer avatar
By andy
From:yorkshire
"good value for money
large bin ideal for home use
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>