Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.

Automatic and manual detection with buzzer indicator. Electronically locates hidden ceiling joists, wall studding, power cables, gas and water pipes. Includes battery.
Overall rating:
3.105 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
22
21 of 4250%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Review 1 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Detects wires, pipes & studs - just the job.
Posted13 September 2011
Customer avatar
By MeElizabeth
From:West Midlands
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" Simple unit to use and not too big to handle whilst holding other things.
Bought whilst reduced but did a great job cheaper than anywhere else.
Comes with a battery so just a case of opening up the box and you're ready to go.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
prevent DIY disasters
Posted23 August 2011
Customer avatar
By Doug
From:Scotland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" This product is ideal for the DIY enthusiast.
Simple to use without unnecessary gimmicks & actually does the job it was purchased to do.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted16 August 2011
Customer avatar
By Russell
From:UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Excellent value for the money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best purchase ever
Posted10 August 2011
Customer avatar
By cal
From:cheshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" does what it says [i know its safe to drill in any wall in the house now] brill for the price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted02 August 2011
Customer avatar
By Anthea
From:Bury,Lancs
" very good and great value you for money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXCELLENT PURCHACE
Posted02 August 2011
Customer avatar
By mikem
From:United Kingdom
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" VALUE FOR MONEY EASY TO USE ,LIGHT EXCELLENT "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finders seekers
Posted28 July 2011
Customer avatar
By onlyme
From:england
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Did just the job it was bought for.saved us blowing the house up, "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Its alright but not great
Posted27 July 2011
Customer avatar
By JGCP
From:England
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" The Challenge detector performed pretty much as I expected after reading the reviews. I needed to locate wooden studs in a dry wall to mount a TV bracket. Knowing that the studs would be 10 - 12inchs apart I had been knocking the wall to find them and had a rough idea where they were.
Not wanting to drill lots of holes to locate the studs I purchased the Challenge detector. The stud detector mode helped to locate the general positioning of the studs, but wasn't as accurate as I had hoped. I still had to drill more holes than planned.
I have also used the detector to find electrical cables in the wall. The voltage mode could not find anything, so I used the metal detector which proved more useful and located the cables.
The unit itself is light weight and easy to use. If I was going to be do alot of DIY that required the use of a detector I would buy a semi-professional model.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great value for money
Posted13 July 2011
Customer avatar
By DIY Doc
From:England
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
" Good product, quite sensitive but better to be that way than the other! Great value for money compared to other similr products which I doubt are any better for over double the price. Defintely worth a buy if you're only going to use it for a few odd jobs. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stud's and all
Posted21 June 2011
Customer avatar
By HomeSkillet
From:UK
" This is a great little device......allowed me to install my shower screen without any issues "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Another Gadget
Posted14 June 2011
Customer avatar
By Teg
From:Glasgow
" I was very happy with the product but disappointed with the size of the battery. Wouldve been brilliant if it came with a AA battery as i used alot of rechargers :( "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
stay away
Posted01 June 2011
Customer avatar
By tank
" Bought to find studs to secure a shelf to. The product was terrible - ended up drilling holes in all the wrong places; none of the places indicated were stud "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excelent Purchase
Posted10 May 2011
Customer avatar
By Jack
From:Leicestershire
" Would recommend this Wire,Pipe and Stud Detector The only critsism is that the Pipe finder can miss a pipe that has been well recessed "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safety first
Posted13 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Mike
From:Somerset
" This product is accentual if like me all your wiring/pipes and cables are hidden within the wall; until I bought this item I didn’t have the confidence to hang pictures on the wall, now I do.
Good value for your money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
rubbish
Posted30 March 2011
Customer avatar
By fatboy
From:aberdeenshire
" this thing could not find wood in a forrest worst buy ever "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Item returned
Posted29 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Frank
From:UK
" The unit did not find studs, a waste of time "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Works OK on 2 out of 3 Functions
Posted01 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Richard
From:UK
" For metal and stud detection this works fine. For Voltage detection it reported that the entire wall was live (despite being a brick wall and obviously not).
Luckily I did not need it for voltage finding.
I would most likely buy the more expensive version if I had to repeat my purchase. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted01 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:uk
" Indicated that the whole wall was live !!!!!!!! No use at all "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wire, pipe and stud detector
Posted15 February 2011
Customer avatar
By Mary
From:Coventry
" Thought it best to get one of these before doing some DIY and randomly drilling into walls. The challenge product is brilliant.
Easy to use and does exactly what it says on the packet.
Would definately reccomend this product.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Challenge Wire, Pipe and Stud Detector.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not very good!
Posted18 January 2011
Customer avatar
By jack
From:uk
" not sensitive enough beeped all the time! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>