Top-rated product

Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.

<p>This powerful and efficient Challenge Xtreme planer will assist you with your woodwork and carpentry tasks. It&apos;s a sturdy tool with a powerful motor so whether you need to trim doors or level wooden surfaces, this planer will give a professional finish every time. <br \><br \></p><ul><li>900 watts. </li><li>Dust extraction with dust bag. </li><li>Additional features: aluminium base with V groove. </li><li>Cord length of 2.5m. </li><li>Includes spanner, parallel guide, depth guide and 2 TCT blades on machine. </li><li>Weight 3.4kg. </li><li>EAN: 7110986. </li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.672 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
95
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
100 of 10298%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Review 1 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Item but Attachment let it down
Posted19 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Mike51
From:Bethersden, Ashford, Kent, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" The plane itself is good have no problems with it but the stupid little bag that catches the shavings the zip broke after one use and shavings were going everywhere Not a major problem just annoying. Argos were as usual very accommodating and changed it without quibble we will see if this bag lasts. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VKD
Posted19 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Vijay
From:Leicester
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Better machine 900 watts makes the job a lot easier dust bag works "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great piece of kit
Posted03 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Mum renovating a house
From:Cumbria
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great piece of kit, would definitely recommend - very easy to use, very good value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy it
Posted02 May 2015
Customer avatar
By tony
From:NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Quality tool for a good price. It is very powerful and planes brilliantly. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy and powerful
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By GauravK
From:Uxbridge, Greater London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Had to smoothened the surface of warped door.. its very quick powerful and efficient . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent design & use
Posted08 March 2015
Customer avatar
By keny-ro
From:Wales, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this item for a specific job and proved an excellent product, It is well designed (solid housing etc.) and comes with additional features for 'rebating & exact planning'. Would recommend this to anyone who is after a quality planer at a realistic price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice tool
Posted03 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Colin
From:Wolverhampton, West Midlands, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" nice tool at a good price did the job the job I bought it for without any problems "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good budget entry model
Posted25 February 2015
Customer avatar
By DaveDIY
From:Co Durham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to set up and use, although bag fills very quickly and the zip to empty the waste is already broken! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job asked of it .
Posted18 February 2015
Customer avatar
By steely dan
From:Killarney, Co. Kerry, Ireland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Replaced my old similar sized plane that burned out suddenly. I've used it extensively since purchase and find it comfortable ,easy to adjust and has a very useful fine cut lowest setting.I find the dual ,mirrored release button a good idea and natural to use. Like most portable tools a longer cord would be welcome but as it is it's adequate .
Al in all I'm happy with the item.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted30 January 2015
Customer avatar
By aidey
From:norfolk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This is my first planer . I was attracted to it by the 5 star reviews
and also the price.
So far I have hung 2 doors with it and its been absolutely fine.
I would agree that the dust bag is to small although I have overcome this problem by getting the dust bag caught in the blades and completely destroying it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money
Posted28 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Paul52
From:England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good value for this type of power tool. Does exactly what it says on the box "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
planer
Posted06 January 2015
Customer avatar
By phil
From:notts
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" good value good performing item,diy tool good enough for my needs. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little plane
Posted04 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Trevor
From:West Midlands
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great plane easy to use decent depth of cut and markings easy to read. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect tool for DIY
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Waqas
From:Bolton, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very handy Tool.... Did the job perfectly... "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great price for a great product
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Shaun
From:Sw London
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" For the price you can not complain !
It's a great price for a great product !
Found it easy to use and the settings are child proof . A great little tool for all !
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great item
Posted25 November 2014
Customer avatar
By micky
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great item simple to use, recommend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disaster
Posted25 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Adytay
From:Alfreton, Alfreton, Derbyshire DE55, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The internal drive belt disintegrated after using for less than 5 minutes. Would expect better from Argos "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great item Great Price !!!
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By chick78
From:Shropshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" My Husbands Sander (which was a lot more expensive than this one) had a problem so i orderded this one for him and he is more than pleased with its performance excellent !!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
plane sailing
Posted11 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Billy
From:United Kingdom
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this planer to plane three doors.It is very easy to use and does just as good a job as a more expensive planer The only draw back is the dust bag is not big enough. Great price, great finish, great job.... "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value
Posted11 November 2014
Customer avatar
By SteveP
From:Leicestershire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Product was exactly as described. Found the product easy to use, and it gives a great finish. The collection bag is rather small, so needs emptying regularly. Product compares very well with much more expensive products, overall I am really pleased. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>