Top-rated product

Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.

<p>This powerful and efficient Challenge Xtreme planer will assist you with your woodwork and carpentry tasks. It&apos;s a sturdy tool with a powerful motor so whether you need to trim doors or level wooden surfaces, this planer will give a professional finish every time. <br \><br \></p><ul><li>900 watts. </li><li>Dust extraction with dust bag. </li><li>Additional features: aluminium base with V groove. </li><li>Cord length of 2.5m. </li><li>Includes spanner, parallel guide, depth guide and 2 TCT blades on machine. </li><li>Weight 3.4kg. </li><li>EAN: 7110986. </li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.635 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 137 reviews
5 Stars
97
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
105 of 10897%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Review 1 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
electric planer with dust bag
Posted28 July 2015
Customer avatar
By yrapou
From:Wigan
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" little bit heavy for old person to use, very powerful, dust bag is a must on planers if doing home do it your self, to have a dust bag even if it fills up quickly. easy to set depth of cut use low settings on all planers then keep checking work piece to see if cutting line is reached. Not up to the finished build standards of well known brands but does the job for the do it yourself person. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Challenge xtreme planer
Posted22 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Ed1234
From:Cork
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very good easy to use and it does the job perfect "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plane does what it says on the tin.
Posted21 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Marcus
From:Caerphilly, Caerphilly, UK
Age:45 to 54
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I purchased this to plane 4 doors ,I planed them with ease.
This plane is just as good as a more expensive one I owned in the past.
Great value .
The bag fills quite quickly but that's not a big deal.
If you need a plane go for this one why pay more?
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent value for money
Posted01 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Papatrog1958
From:North Somerset, UK
Age:55 to 64
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Well done argos, a good value item that does what it says on the box "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value for money
Posted16 June 2015
Customer avatar
By MISTER DIY
From:Essex, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I purchased this product to help me I needed to plane too doors which it has done the job very easy to use it does make a bit of a noise and the bag is very small apart from that so far so good "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Spares ????
Posted26 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Roy 35
From:Devon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This machine is fine at the price , that is until a problem arises , as in the blade gets some damage which can always happen with any cutting tool that has high speed blades. We are told that the blade cannot be re-sharpened.
So the question is where do the spare blades come from, If at all?
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Item but Attachment let it down
Posted19 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Mike51
From:Bethersden, Ashford, Kent, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" The plane itself is good have no problems with it but the stupid little bag that catches the shavings the zip broke after one use and shavings were going everywhere Not a major problem just annoying. Argos were as usual very accommodating and changed it without quibble we will see if this bag lasts. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VKD
Posted19 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Vijay
From:Leicester
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Better machine 900 watts makes the job a lot easier dust bag works "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great piece of kit
Posted03 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Mum renovating a house
From:Cumbria
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great piece of kit, would definitely recommend - very easy to use, very good value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy it
Posted02 May 2015
Customer avatar
By tony
From:NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Quality tool for a good price. It is very powerful and planes brilliantly. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy and powerful
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By GauravK
From:Uxbridge, Greater London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Had to smoothened the surface of warped door.. its very quick powerful and efficient . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent design & use
Posted08 March 2015
Customer avatar
By keny-ro
From:Wales, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this item for a specific job and proved an excellent product, It is well designed (solid housing etc.) and comes with additional features for 'rebating & exact planning'. Would recommend this to anyone who is after a quality planer at a realistic price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice tool
Posted03 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Colin
From:Wolverhampton, West Midlands, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" nice tool at a good price did the job the job I bought it for without any problems "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good budget entry model
Posted25 February 2015
Customer avatar
By DaveDIY
From:Co Durham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Easy to set up and use, although bag fills very quickly and the zip to empty the waste is already broken! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job asked of it .
Posted18 February 2015
Customer avatar
By steely dan
From:Killarney, Co. Kerry, Ireland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Replaced my old similar sized plane that burned out suddenly. I've used it extensively since purchase and find it comfortable ,easy to adjust and has a very useful fine cut lowest setting.I find the dual ,mirrored release button a good idea and natural to use. Like most portable tools a longer cord would be welcome but as it is it's adequate .
Al in all I'm happy with the item.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted30 January 2015
Customer avatar
By aidey
From:norfolk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This is my first planer . I was attracted to it by the 5 star reviews
and also the price.
So far I have hung 2 doors with it and its been absolutely fine.
I would agree that the dust bag is to small although I have overcome this problem by getting the dust bag caught in the blades and completely destroying it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for money
Posted28 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Paul52
From:England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good value for this type of power tool. Does exactly what it says on the box "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
planer
Posted06 January 2015
Customer avatar
By phil
From:notts
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" good value good performing item,diy tool good enough for my needs. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little plane
Posted04 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Trevor
From:West Midlands
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great plane easy to use decent depth of cut and markings easy to read. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Challenge Xtreme Planer - 900W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect tool for DIY
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Waqas
From:Bolton, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very handy Tool.... Did the job perfectly... "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>