Top-rated product

Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.

<p>The Black &amp; Decker 400W Scorpion is a multifunction saw that functions both as a powered handsaw and jigsaw. Ideal for straight line or curved cutting, this power tool has a soft grip handle and can make 5500 strokes per minute. Also including three different blades for your various DIY needs and a useful safety lock switch.</p><ul><li>Additional features: Tool-free push button blade change system. Safety lock-off switching prevents unintentional starting. Straight or curved cuts with choice of cutting mode. Cuts wood, metal and plastic.</li><li>Multi saw.</li><li>400 watts.</li><li>230V battery power.</li><li>Variable speed.</li><li>3 blades.</li><li>Stroke length 10mm.</li><li>5500 strokes per minute.</li><li>Sawing capacity: wood 100 mm, metal 3 mm.</li><li>Soft grip handle.</li><li>Cable length of 3m.</li><li>Safety lock switch.</li><li>Suitable for the left handed.</li><li>Size H23, W9, D33cm.</li><li>Accessories included: 239mm length large wood/plastic blade. 153mm length wood/plastic scrolling blade. 134mm length metal blade.</li><li>Unpackaged weight 1.9kg.</li><li>Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee excludes professional use.</li><li>EAN: 5035048286494.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.467 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 505 reviews
5 Stars
333
4 Stars
129
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
6
1 Star
24
444 of 47693%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Review 1 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don’t buy this saw
Posted27 January 2015
Customer avatar
By jon44
From:Essex, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" I had to take this saw back as the blade didn’t fit properly "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish I'd bought one of these years ago
Posted26 January 2015
Customer avatar
By mcsqueaker
From:South West
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to use and makes cutting up wood a pleasure rather than a chore. I use mainly to chop bits of wood for my open fire. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A bit fiddly to set up
Posted26 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Jean
From:Kent, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Hubby bought this as a present for himself.. For about an hour all I could hear was him moaning. The instructions to set this item up are not very clear, so I tried to find a youtube instruction.. no luck. He finally managed to work it out.. and now loves it. A bit more instruction on initial set up is needed.. But well worth the money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Makes small DIY jobs quick and easy!
Posted23 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Lance
From:Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this as a replacement for one of its earlier incarnations, which had served me well for about twenty years before its gearbox wore out to an 'not economically repairable' state. That I wanted a direct replacement is an indication of how useful I have found it.
So you'll know this is an honest review, it's not perfect. The old one always vibrated badly [maybe partly why it shook itself to death?], and the new one doesn't seem any better. Great for occasional amateur use only then.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good versatile tool
Posted23 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Roger
From:Norfolk England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I use the power saw for Diy purposes .It's more accurate than a hand saw, it cuts through wood easily a good addition to my tool kit. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It works well
Posted23 January 2015
Customer avatar
By frankie
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This item is good for sawing through wood and works effectively. Basically does what it says on the tin.
There is actually a YouTube video you could watch on how to set up and use. Just key in black and decker scorpion.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By ken
From:tamworth
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" brilliant tool,worth every penny.Wish I could have bought
one 50 yours ago
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scorpion
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By andrew
From:u.k
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" a great tool but was disappointed that the large blade is purchased separately,i was unaware of this "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will be good for less dexterous people
Posted13 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Rosemary
From:Oxfordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Haven't used it yet - bought as a xmas present - but sure it will be of great help to us as we tackle diy jobs. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and strong
Posted09 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Gardening Angel
From:Lancashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this saw to help cut firewood. The 20 year old saw I'd been using wore out and I wanted a replacement as strong but preferably lighter. This one fulfils both those requirements, dealing with hard and soft wood with equal ease. I'm very happy with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saw
Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
By diane
From:rochester
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I purchased this for my husband for christmas and he loves it the only down point is the lead should of been at the back because it gets in the way when sawing. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Job done, very pleased
Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Pleased
From:Surrey, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I found the instruction manual difficult to understand with regard to inserting the saw blade. Had to go on youtube to get an idea. Once fixed, it was good to go. It's quite slow and the motor is heavy to hold so my arm got tired quickly. However, it cuts very well. I used it to cut a 12mm laminate vertically. Do try and keep your arm straight when sawing for an even cut. I definitely recommend it . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scorpion saw
Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
By roachface
From:lancashire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" great product,makes cutting easy,very mobile "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Padser
From:Dublin, Ireland
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Does the basic DIY job for the right price "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scorpion electric hand saw
Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Big John
From:East Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The scorpion is a handy, versatile machine suitable for many applications. I have had two previous models and my only criticism is that the blade fitting eventually wears loose and causes excessive vibration by the blade. I would not be without it for general DIY jobs both inside and out. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect stocking filler for my husband
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Jean
From:Staffordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This item was a perfect stocking filler for my husband. He has not had a chance to use it yet but he is delighted with the gift. He found it a little difficult to insert the blades etc and turn them around to make a jig saw as described in the instructions. However, a short film on YouTube soon explained it fully and he was able to manage it perfectly. Excellent product at a very reasonable price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality saw
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Waqas
From:Bolton, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The perfect tool for home DIY...easy to operate...and cuts all kind of wood to a perfection...even u can cut metal with it using the right cutting blade... "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Waste of money and time
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By edison
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I bought this saw, thinking that it will help me to cut a few MDF parts quicker and easier. Unfortunately I ended up with going to the local shop and buying a handsaw.
This Multifunction saw is extremely noisy, vibrates that much that my hands and legs were still shaking after I stopped cutting. And after all, in order to make it work, you have to move it as same as you do with the handsaw, otherwise it is just burning the thing.
Brought it back for a refund.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By scully
From:Surrey
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" I thought this tool would rip through 15mm plastic faced chipboard quickly,but it didnt. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Black & Decker Scorpion Multifunction Saw - 400W.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok for smaller jobs.
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By PC
From:Liverpool
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Only comes with small blades that are only good for small jobs. We thought the product would have had bigger blades that would have allowed us to cut the end of our Christmas Tree off with ease. We did manage to cut off the end of our tree but with tremendous effort. A lot easier than a manual saw and I'm sure even better with bigger blades that we thought the saw came with.
Easy(ish) to set up and use different blades.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 Next >>>