Top-rated product

Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.

<p>For multifunctional, practical sawing try the 1700 watt Challenge Xtreme 210mm sliding mitre saw with laser. Boasting plenty of power, this mitre saw has a 35mm wood sawing capacity and a bevel capacity of 45 degrees max, allowing excellent flexibility. With soft grip and a laser guide, this saw is a fine choice. <br \><br \></p><ul><li>Additional features: soft grip, spindle lock, laser guide. </li><li>Mitre saw. </li><li>1700 watts. </li><li>240V battery power. </li><li>Single speed. </li><li>TCT blade. </li><li>Blade diameter 210mm. </li><li>1 blade. </li><li>5000 strokes per minute. </li><li>Sawing capacity: wood 60 mm, . </li><li>Cable length of 2.5m. </li><li>Bevel capacity max: 45&deg; bevel cut. </li><li>Dust bag included. </li><li>Safety lock switch. </li><li>Laser guide. </li><li>Size H52, W45, D75cm. </li><li>Accessories included: 1 blade (185 x 20 x 24T), wrench, extension rail and clamp vice. </li><li>Unpackaged weight 15kg. </li><li>EAN: 7113079. </li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.256 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 164 reviews
5 Stars
88
4 Stars
53
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
3
1 Star
10
141 of 15790%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 17 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Review 1 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointed
Posted05 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:cornwall
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" I bought this product in April 2014 for diy wood projects.Unfortunately within days the laser failed.It could not be replaced on its own due to the design & assembly of the machine.I had to dismantle the saw & return it to Argos who in fairness replaced it.After 14 months intermittent use the laser failed again & I also found a piece of metal under the machine which looks to have dropped from the track below the saw resulting in very stiff operation.Motor brushes now disintegrated. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sliding Mitre saw
Posted23 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Tyneside
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent design and easy to use
Only down side is that the laser failed due to a faulty switch
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use
Posted03 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Mildenhall, Bury Saint Edmunds, Suffolk IP28, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This saw is easy to use and adjust, the laser is a little weak but still handy, sturdy, well made and straight cuts every time, also cuts a variety of sizes of materials from small pieces up to 60mm x 300mm, overall two thumbs up. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Imaging
Posted30 June 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:London, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I m so happy to have this product thanks Argos "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Changing the blade
Posted08 June 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" I'm sending this saw back as its impossible to change the blade. The bolt has been put on so tight that I can't undo it resulting in rounding off the head. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted02 June 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:g0rey
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" needs to tilt on both sides then it would be great "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value for money!! Does the job!!
Posted09 May 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Accrington
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great for the money!!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
Posted16 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I used it for laminate flooring. I finished a square room of 15sq metres in roughly 2.5 hours. Much quicker than a jigsaw.
I would recommend for enthusiastic diy'ers like myself. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great bit of kit
Posted14 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Shropshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" For this low end of the market this saw is cut above the rest. Easy to use light to handle but strong as well.I used it when I put down laminate flooring it save me time and money it preformed great no problems at all I used it for three solid. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good replacement item
Posted14 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Needed to replace some of my tools "borrowed" by family found these to be good trade standard items. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dimensions of blade
Posted14 April 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" can anyone let me know the blade diameter for this saw and especially the bore diameter "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
challenge Xtreme Sliding Mitre Saw
Posted30 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:London, UK
Age:35 to 44
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" The dust extraction bag is just for a show, it doesn't actually extracts in the bag. The laser is not that strong to guide you in a day light. The angle selector is a big problem. It doesn't lock when you chose your selected angle position, or it's a manufacturing design fault. The cutting saw blade should have been easy to change and it's not. Other than that the slide is very good. But overall it just gets the job done, but the price is little dear for it. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for the money
Posted26 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Dublin, Ireland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A really good power tool to have. It made short work for me building my new deck. Take time to set it up correctly and read all instructions carefully. For the cost this is amazing value and it works really well. Very satisfied with my purchase. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very good chop saw
Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:w mids
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This saw was relatively cheap and performs really well it has good features such as the clamp to hold the wood in place. The only minus i can see is the actual blade doesnt seem perfectly sharp and can tend to leave frayed edges sometimes other than that very good "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great value for money
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:South Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this when I was laying an oak floor to save a lot of hand sawing.
Setting up was easy and all the features worked well although don't trust the degree markings on the mitre guide, double check the accuracy of the cut before cutting anything important.
The cut wasn't as clean as I would have liked but with care I could get a good finish
Overall though the saw worked very well and didn't miss a beat "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mitre saw
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:hampshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This saw was excellent its angles where accurate, it must of save me s great deal of time .it is perfect for me as I am not a proffesional craftsman it was easy to use , "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Great value for money. Easy to use with very little assembly. Good for DIY and all round carpentry. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted24 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
Age:35 to 44
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Get what you pay for, pretty good but not amazing, fine for DIY probably not for a pro builder "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laser Beam
Posted10 March 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Wrexham, Wrexham, Wrexham, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The only problem I have with this saw is that the laser light is not very bright and the beam of light does not have a consistently narrow beam,otherwise I am very satisfied with the product "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Challenge Xtreme 210mm Sliding Mitre Saw with Laser - 1700W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would definitely recommend this Saw
Posted20 February 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Lancashire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" For the money this Saw has to be one of the best , im really pleased with it ,lots of features .ive also got a smaller mitre saw but this one is great for cutting wide boards .the only complaint i have are the small Knobs on the Clamps .if they were knurled knobs it would be better ,apart from that an overall great performing Saw "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next >>>