Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.

Blade length 35cm. Chain speed 18.5m/s. Auto inertia chain brake for safer use. Electronic ignition with auto choke for easy starting. Weight 5.5kg. EcoBoost engine for lower emissions, increased power and reduced fuel consumption. Fully assembled. Manufacturer's 1 year guarantee. All products manufactured by Flymo/McCulloch carry a free guarantee which protects you against the cost of repairs to that product in the first 12 months from date of purchase subject to the manufacturers guarantee supplied with Flymo/McCulloch products.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 of 27100%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Review 1 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good product, good price..
Posted27 July 2011
Customer avatar
By woodman
From:Wales
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"done the job of cutting up some pretty hefty 14inch rounds and run for a few hours without needing to refuel, unlike some other simular sized (and much more expensive) saws I've used. Started just as the instructions set out.
Used it again two weeks later, again with no problems, easy to clean, and to set the tention bar (tool supplied).
Only thing is you need to get Chainsaw oil and the additive to turn the petrol to two stroke (neither supplied) so can't use it imediately. Get yourself a file and guide to re-sharpen the chain. Also throws out alot of Chain saw oil, so be mindful if your cutting near car / house. Need to also note the instruction book - 1:40 ratio requested in the mix, rather than the 1:50 suggested on the mix bottle.
Buttons for Choke and stop start are plasic, not sure of longevity / robustness, but generally very pleased for the money - done the job well."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase
Posted27 July 2011
Customer avatar
By Ken M
From:England
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Good buy well pleased."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
one of the best
Posted12 July 2011
Customer avatar
By micky
From:england
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"this is the third one ive bought 2 spear and jackson and this one i would buy the mccullock every time"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little Gem
Posted05 July 2011
Customer avatar
By Nigel
From:England
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Brought this to cut down conniffers,easy to start as per instructions,lightweight,did the job in no time very pleased."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Piece of Kit
Posted05 July 2011
Customer avatar
By Jean North Wales
From:North Wales
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"After 'trolling' the internet for the best petrol chainsaw on the market we finally settled on this one as it was the most reasonable in price and had some good reviews.
This is not our first chain saw, the other one died a death after last years snow!! Living in North Wales we have at least one tree a year 'blown over' so we need something reliable.
Haven't had this machine for long but so far so good - better built than the old one and lighter to hold. We have no hesitation in recommending this product."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chainsaw
Posted28 June 2011
Customer avatar
By paul
From:cheshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"Very good quality,good price,excellent cut."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good price purchase
Posted15 June 2011
Customer avatar
By jbach
From:wales
"good little chain saw. Not very easy to start,but once it goes it keeps going. There seems to a problem with the choke control on the one I bought. it keeps jumping back in instead of staying in position, But coping with that it is a fine and very helpful machine."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chain saw
Posted02 June 2011
Customer avatar
By padlock
From:tyne and wear
"Comes ready to use only problem is that you have to mix petrol and 2 stroke oil and the box does not incluude a mixing /measuring bottle. Saw does what it says and does not seem to leak oil when stored, Recently purchased a Black and Decker 18V cordless chain saw that leaked the entire contents of the small reservoir when stored overnight, this was changed under guarantee but same problem. B&D answer to a question was that all chain saws leak and to try storage upside down or with cling film between cap and reservoir--first did not work, still trying 2nd"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simply the best
Posted14 May 2011
Customer avatar
By andy
From:uk
"i purchased this chainsaw as i needed one to cut logs for home use it does everything it says it can very easy to start only 3 pulls and away it goes"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cracking piece of kit
Posted10 May 2011
Customer avatar
By Ari429
From:Devon
"Excellent value, chain and guide comes attached so just oil & fuel up to start cutting wood. Choke & stop button are cheap plastic pull-push type so longevity may be an issue later in life but the saw starts easy and cuts well. Ideal for a low cost, occassional use chainsaw.
Note 40:1 mix rather than usual 50:1
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for the price
Posted29 March 2011
Customer avatar
By Eric
From:Scotland
"Item came ready assembled. Had to buy chain oil and chain file (for sharpening) but after that I followed the instructions and the chainsaw started as promised. Not the best chainsaw but good for the money. As I won't be using it continuously, I foresee no problems in the future."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted15 March 2011
Customer avatar
By ian
From:uk
"great bit of kit, lots of power and easy to use."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chain saw
Posted14 September 2010
Customer avatar
By jimbob
From:west midlands
"best tool i have used out of the box"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Up to the Job and more
Posted31 August 2010
Customer avatar
By Topcat
From:Wiltshire
"Found this little beauty to drop and log two trees in my back garden.
Should have got a bigger saw but this little beauty still got the job done.
None of the silly chain adjustment on similar priced saws and weight and power similar to similar electric powered items
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job - admirably!
Posted31 August 2010
Customer avatar
By Bertie G
From:Surrey
"Not the most powerful chainsaw but really great value for what it does. Handles 15-20cm boughs with ease and is simply great for getting through smaller (10cm) stuff. Came ready to use in the box but with no chain oil which is a shame. If you are looking for a great chainsaw to get started with, you could do far worse than this. Starts well, cuts well, easy to handle. Does the job - admirably."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good buy for the money
Posted06 August 2010
Customer avatar
By 889shelley
From:Hampshire
"Reasonably good chainsaw for the money. Good enough for garden jobs and tree pruning/removal. However, the chain on ours came of a couple of times on the first use and it can be a little stubborn to start. I am pleased with it overall given that, as far as petrol chainsaws go, it was cheap and it does the job."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it say's on the tin!
Posted03 August 2010
Customer avatar
By Steve
From:Swansea
"Fantastic! Made light work of cutting down the problem tree's I had in the my garden, Took seconds to cut through 8" (200mm) trunk."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good machine and very solid
Posted20 July 2010
Customer avatar
By Derek
From:Bucks
"Hard to start and keeps cutting out - perhaps because its new?"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
McCulloch MAC 738 Petrol Chainsaw
Posted08 June 2010
Customer avatar
By MR SG
From:LANARKSHIRE
"MAKES VERY SHORT WORK OF CUTTING LOGS LARGE OR SMALL. THIS SAW HAS PAID FOR ITS SELF WITH ONLY 2HRS WORK. IF YOU HAVE A LOG BURNER STOVE AND ARE JUST ABOUT GETTING BY WITH A BOW SAW YOU NEED ONE OF THESE, YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW EASY THIS McCulloch MAKES LIFE. BUT MAKE SURE YOU BUY CHAIN & 2 STROKE OIL (AND A MIXER BOTTLE)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for McCulloch MAC 738 38cc Petrol Chainsaw.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ideal for the job required
Posted12 May 2010
Customer avatar
By Martin
From:Oxfordshire
"Good tool, easy to start and use, perfect for domestic type use. I cyt down a tree with a 350mm trunk, no problem.
Argos had the best price that I could find for this item
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>