Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.

Motor power 1200 watts.33 litre waste collection capacity.Suitable for use on small gardens.3 working heights.10m cable length.33cm cutting width.Weight 13kg.Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.
Overall rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
38 of 4095%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Review 1 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best purchase
Posted02 August 2011
Customer avatar
By kenneth
From:uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"did a exceptial job did it in a crisscross pattern
that left it ready for seeding
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great scarifier!
Posted20 July 2011
Customer avatar
By Woking Steve
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"Does a great job - remembering that this is not a "lawn rake" - it has solid tines.
Having not scarified my lawn for some time, this did a great job, but needed a lot of emptying! It brought out an incredible amount of thatch, in what I thought was quite a healthy lawn!
Seems to have plenty of power, and the build quality seems perfectly good for DIY use.
The only reasons I didn't give the five stars were:
- the flex could be longer
- the collector should be bigger.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not used yet but assembly instructions are poor
Posted19 July 2011
Customer avatar
By fred
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Not used yet but assembly instructions are poor"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job on a medium sized lawn
Posted01 June 2011
Customer avatar
By Cmonk
From:West Sussex
"Did a good job of scarifying our lawn. Struggled a little when doing a very harsh scarification, the motor strained when the blades dug deeper into the soil. The collector is quiet small meaning I was having to empty it every 5-6 metres but that might be because our lawn hadn’t been scarified for years. All in all I found this to be a good product. It definitely saved my back from all the raking that would have been required otherwise."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted16 May 2011
Customer avatar
By Elizabeth
From:Fife, Scotland
"This scarifier was much quicker at doing the job than my last one. Flex could be a bit longer but overall I am really pleased."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No longer scared of Scarifying
Posted11 May 2011
Customer avatar
By lazygardener
From:Scotland
"Easy to put together and use. I recommend you test the different settings before you head across your lawn and remember that its best to scarify in a cross pattern - not just in one direction. The instructions dont tell you this but plenty of gardening websites make this recommendation. I used it without the collection box and 'hoovered' up the moss with the lawn mower - makes great compost!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job
Posted11 May 2011
Customer avatar
By Kerry
From:Gwynedd
"Very pleased indeed with this product. It is quick and efficient, and after one use it has made a noticeable improvement to the condition of our lawn. Like other contributors we too found that the product was so efficient that the collection box is far too small. So we didn't use it and raked up the debris from the lawn, which was no big deal."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Qualcast 1200w Lawn Scarifier.
Posted03 May 2011
Customer avatar
By div
From:scotland
"read that scarifying is good for your lawn so I took the plunge - have used the scarifier on my lawn and also on three other friends lawns to great effect - easy to use, light, safe - really takes out dead grass and moss. big waste box but you have to empty it after one of two runs to maximise collection - my lawn has recovered and is beginning to look great. Scarifier has 3 height settings which are easy to change - works just like a lawnmower."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lasted 2 days
Posted29 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:uk
"My Qualcast scarifier, bought 12 years ago, served me very well and so was quite philosophical when the motor burned out recently. I'd had my moneys worth. Thought I would replace it with another Qualcast and purchased this 1200w machine with high hopes for long service. Sadly, smoke billowed out from the motor on it's second day of use!!! What a contrast!! Argos gave me my money back without a problem but what a disappointment and what a pallarva! I'll go back to using a good old-fashioned rake from now on!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted28 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Melanie
From:Notts
"Great item my lawn was nearly all moss!
I have had to seed and topsoil after but only because the result was so thorough!
Only one problem, the collection wasn't so great but wont deter me from using again as it still took most of the hard work out of the job."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value and easy to use
Posted26 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Ray
From:England
"Easy to use and folds for storage. First use removed an incredible amount of thatch and debris even in dry conditions on higher setting. Awaiting some rain to repeat exercise on lower setting prior to overseeding.
Will probably use annually to get air to lawn and keep moss at bay.
Thorougly recommend to gardeners seeking to bring their lawns back to a good condition."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lawn scarifier
Posted13 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Thebodger
From:UK
"Works OK, but casing is very close to ground making it difficult to clear even small undulations on lawn."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tool for the job
Posted13 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Michael
From:Yorkshire
"I have used several similar machines over the years but this is the best ever. Powerful and easily copes with the worst of matted lawns. Only fault is the small collection box, however I went over 2 times with no box, raked the mass of moss up and then picked the rest up using the box to produce a neat finish. All in all a good machine"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gardeners delight
Posted12 April 2011
Customer avatar
By james
From:England
"A good product that really works but the collection box is much too small."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Right For The Job
Posted12 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Liz
From:England
"Good price, easy to handle and was powerful to cover a large garden which had a lot of moss."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good sturdy machine
Posted12 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Robert
From:Glasgow
"Lowest rake setting is a bit low, but very effective."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Good Product
Posted12 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Andy
From:Manchester
"Easy instructions to build. First used and could not believe how much Moss the Scarifier produced. Excellent machine.
Disadvantage is that the Moss did not get fully pushed into clip on bag, but mower ed lawn after to collect bits.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Value
Posted12 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Andy
From:UK
"I have a medium size lawn, which was heavy with moss. Found the scarifier easy to use and lightweight. The collection box is small and in my case needed emptying many many times - however, this was expected when considering the amount of moss and thatch I collected, and in my opinion a larger collection box would not be practical due to increasing the size and weight of the machine.
Lawn now looks like a "ploughed field" but exactly as I hoped for to promote and allow new growth.
I have previously hired scarifiers (at considerable expense) and whilst they were more heavy duty, the end result is the same. Pleased with this purchase and I look forward to scarifying more often and regularly!!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent
Posted12 April 2011
Customer avatar
By minka
From:Cornwall, UK
"DOES THE JOB SO WELL, COULD NOT BELIEVE THE AMOUNT OF MOSS IT GOT UP.
WISH WE HAD BOUGHT ONE YEARS AGO
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Qualcast Lawn Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's ok!
Posted12 April 2011
Customer avatar
By Nicki
From:york
"Not the greatest machine in the game, it works ok for the money but rips lots of good grass out, only takes strips of moss etc, needs lots of work to get rid of all the moss."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>