Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.

Click on image for a video of assembly instructions. Model number: SPJS3740.Chainsaw features:Chain bar length 40cm.Chain speed 21m/s.Auto choke.Quick stop chain break.Features a safety trigger, hand guard.Chain catcher - helps prevent the chain being thrown back towards the handler, if the chain becomes derailed or breaks.Anti vibration system - minimises vibrations allowing you to work more efficiently.Blade protection cover.General information:Weight 6.72kg.Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.Please note that a similar substitute may be received.
Overall rating:
3.895 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 124 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Star
18
100 of 12481%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Review 41 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Suitable for purpose
Posted14 March 2012
Customer avatar
By 4-25
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Difficult to start but once started performs as well as more costly models. Overall probably only suitable for home use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted09 March 2012
Customer avatar
By Mick
From:Hampshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Great product, ideal for occasional light garden use. Made light work of pruning a number of large overgrown fruit trees (4 - 8 inch diameter wood). Small bottle of chain oil provided doesn't last very long so you'll need to purchase additional oil if you have more than a few branches to cut. Overall, very pleased with initial performance and build quality "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Realy Happy !
Posted07 March 2012
Customer avatar
By andy
From:norfolk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Having used chainsaws for a number of years and at last needing to pension off my old faithfull german brand, due to a cracked engine casing resulting in fuel leakage (the cost of repair was not economic) I decided to try a cheaper end of the market product which was under the cost of my repair estimates .
The spear and jackson comes in a good packaging with easy to read instructions, argos has a good video on its website on how to set up the saw and for anyone new to chainsaws i think the video is well worth a look.
Having assembled the saw (about 5minutes)
filled the fuel tank with the supplied mixer bottle (not the greatest bottle but adequate) filled the chain lube i was good to go.
For the first start i followed the start up
sequence exactly how the instructions tell you. It seemed to me a little complicated but they are just getting the engine pre lubed first.
The saw started first time and was soon ticking over with no problems . I decided to break the engine in on cutting some logs that were about 14 inches in diameter by 8 foot long, The saw cut easily and without effort ,good old oregon chains!!the task done i let the saw idle for a minute or two before i switched off. The saw started first pull from hot and then i cut some much larger trunks again with little effort. overall a very well put together machine..dislikes. the shiny casing looks a bit weedy the on/off switch can sometimes be thumbed off when cutting but thats it ! incidently i now start by priming and pulling when its choked not pushed in as suggested and she still starts fist go! overall great value for the money . Very pleased .
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Read this please
Posted07 March 2012
Customer avatar
By Brian
From:Perthshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" The saw after building it works brilliant ,problem i found was poor picture instructions,trying to put the kick back handle on with the instruction given is impossible without turning the adjuster screw clockwise to fit into respective hole and with the poor pictures trying to find respective units as the decription of parts is on a different page also the instructions differ on the petrol /oil mixture one saying 50 and one saying 40 to one all in all good product "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Spear & Jackson Petrol Chain saw-37cc
Posted06 March 2012
Customer avatar
By Denny
From:Durham
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Was a bit fiddly to put the chain on . Cut well for the first few cuts then the chain seemed to go blunt. I would say it is for small jobs.. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed
Posted24 February 2012
Customer avatar
By Rob
From:Essex
" Started up ok at first but after the first couple of uses impossible to start. It's going back! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chainsaw
Posted22 February 2012
Customer avatar
By micaleen
From:eniskillen
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" great saw cut tree 12 inch diameter "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spear and Jackson Chain Saw
Posted01 February 2012
Customer avatar
By Nick
From:Norfolk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Good easy purchase. Excellent video online to show how to set up. Good quality chainsaw for the price. You do need the safety equipment with it as well if you do not have it. Argos you should hold more safety gear than simply a helmet. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money
Posted01 February 2012
Customer avatar
By Bob
From:Flintshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Nice easy to use chainsaw, follow the instructions and you will have no problems took less than 5 mins to have it up and running. The saw has started every time I have gone to use it over the last couple of weeks so no problem there. I would recommend this as a lightweight saw for general use round the home. Obviously not a "commercial" saw but for home use it great. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
wont start
Posted18 January 2012
Customer avatar
By wayne
From:manchester
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" i had to take this saw back the day after i bought it, could not get it to start, and im not a novice i have got a larger saw, which i have no problems starting, took it back got my money back, went and spent another 40 pounds and bought a mitox chain saw which as a easy start system, now very happy.chopping my wood. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small petrol chainsaw
Posted13 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Peter
From:lightwater
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" overall excellent product, copes with quite substaintial logs and is easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad experience
Posted12 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Mike
From:Cleveland
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Having bought the only petrol/oil chain saw on offer, I returned to my house and assembled it.
I then filled it with chain oil and proceeded to mix the two stroke oil with the petrol ( in the correct proportion). The fuel was then added to the machine. I followed the manufacturers instructions to the letter and continued to try to start the machine. It failed to start and no matter what I did, it still failed to start. After spending over half a day trying to start this machine, I returned to Argos and cancelled my purchase. I managed to buy one elsewhere and my new purchase starts easily without any problem.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted12 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Neil
From:Middlesex
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" A little bit tricky to assemble if you've never ownd a chainsaw previously, but once it was all together it started up easily and is excellent at cutting logs. The measuring container for mixing the 2 stroke oil with the petrol was not properly calibrated so you have to work out the measurements yourself. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saw It, Liked It!
Posted11 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Coll
From:Devon
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" A good, general purpose woodsaw that was easy to assemble and start up. Relatively quiet, yet efficient, 35cc engine makes light work of tree trunks and branches up to about 8" diameter, which is good enough for the average garden with a few medium sized trees.
Slight irritation with a small but persistent chain oil drip when left stored. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
garden sawing
Posted11 January 2012
Customer avatar
By mike
From:Kent
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Not the most powerful saw I have used but did the job OK and was fair value.
Instructions good. Ease of use OK but not too easy to hold down with foot for starting if wearing wellintons or similar.
Overall it saved me a lot of effort and will prove useful in the future
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas Present
Posted11 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Jackie
From:High Wycombe
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Yes, I bought this for my husband for christmas (he asked for one). Oh the fun he has had this christmas break, should of bought him one years ago. Large trees, small trees, nothing was a problem for this saw. The saw is good quality and does everything it says it can do. I am hoping that this saw gives my husband years of pleasure!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VERY GOOD FOR PRICE
Posted10 January 2012
Customer avatar
By BRIAN
From:WOODFALLS
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" GOOD SAW,VERY POWERFULL,TOOK OUT 3YRS WARRANTY JUST IN CASE. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Little Machine
Posted23 November 2011
Customer avatar
By PixieBoy
From:The New Forest, Hampshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" Having not used a chainsaw before I am no expert but here is my review.
It was very easy to put together and with the instruction video available on the Argos website it was a doddle.
It started first time but subsequent starts were a little more taxing, but always starts in the end.
It is fairly light weight and easy to use and control.
It cuts brilliantly, I spent two whole afternoons cutting very hard, seasoned logs and it flew through them all. Some of the logs were a foot plus in diametre and it tackled them with ease.
Can't give it and excellent as I have nothing to compare it too but I would recommend this product for medium / occasional use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
all good so far
Posted15 November 2011
Customer avatar
By ggj666
From:Norfolk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" Have only used this a couple of times but its all worked quite well so far.
It would appear to be very good value for money.
Follow the instructions that come with it and its not to difficult to put together either.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for Spear & Jackson Petrol Chainsaw - 37cc.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent purchase
Posted15 November 2011
Customer avatar
By malc
From:england
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" once you get used to starting it its an excellent saw. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
<<< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >>>