Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.

<p>The Qualcast power driver motor raker and scarifier allows you to easily and efficiently clear your grass of thatch, moss, leaves, weeds and other debris. Regularly removing this sort of build up from your lawn can help prevent issues such as water logging and also helps prevent lawn diseases.</p><ul><li>Model number GSR120H.</li></ul><p>Lawn raker features:</p><ul><li>1200 watt motor.</li><li>30 litre waste collection capacity.</li><li>5 raking heights.</li><li>32cm working width.</li><li>10m cable length.</li><li>Accessories included: 1 debris collection bag, 1 hex key and 2 cable clips.</li><li>Foldable handles and stackable grass box for compact storage.</li><li>Foam grip handle and Twin handle switch.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Weight 9.5kg.</li><li>Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.</li><li>EAN: 7305021.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
3.351 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 77 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
17
53 of 7769%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Review 1 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grass box
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By margaret
From:Cumbria
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"This is a bit fiddly and has to be emptied often as soon fills up so is a bit of a bind.Apart from that machine worked well."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor product; good retailer.
Posted06 October 2014
Customer avatar
By the beerbaron
From:shropshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Motor burnt out (smoking) after 40 minutes use on a small cut short lawn, dry conditions, clipping removed before; on a half setting. Ordered another, this motor also failed after half an hour. refunded with no fuss at Argus. inadequate unreliable motor."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted30 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Malcolm of Leigh
Age:55 to 64
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The machine seems good value for money. It is what it is described as on the box."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's doing just what you expect
Posted24 September 2014
Customer avatar
By alan
From:Teesside
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Just bought the thing after my last Rake finally gave up. Read up on Scarifying on the web at a great little site "Lawnsmith" which gave Video as well as written instructions. So with good weather, and lawnsmith on my shoulders I did my first run on setting "2". Brought up masses of thatch and left a neat diamond pattern in the lawn, reseeded and fed as advised, so just sitting back to see what happens. That's it until I start using the Raker next Spring. (Note Stars are based on one run)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Modifications needed
Posted24 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Grandad
From:Kent, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Grass collection still a problem. Have to use the machine without collection box attached as this is easier. Extreemly slippery floor of collection box contributes to failure to retain debris from lawn as the debris slips forward to front of box and thus prevents any more debris from entering same box."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By romeoalpha
From:Cumbria
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"we found this worked really well although the collection box isn't any good, which seems to be the same for all scarifiers especially if like us your grass hasn't been do e for a lot of years, we raked it up then went over with lawnmower."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have for gardners.
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Kitkat
From:Argyll and Bute, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great value for the money"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Qualcast lawn rake & scarifier
Posted16 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Warrior4514
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Purchased this to remove moss which had infested my lawn. Did the job a treat, however I now have no lawn left and have had to re-seed, expected. Having read the reviews and In particular the moans about the collection box. I quite agree that it is next to useless, but if your lawn, like mine, is completely covered with moss. Then I wouldn't expect it to be much use. With regular use I believe that the box will be more than good enough.
Easy to put together. Changing the rake bit of a challenge.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything you would want
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By valerie
From:norfolk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"I have a large lawn and this scarifier and rake is perfect.
Because the lawn is large we only do half at any one time.
to be fair.
My husband is over 80years and he can use this with ease, so would recommend it to all.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great little machine
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By mgb
From:strabane
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"I have a problem with moss in and previously used another scarifier which was not great at removing it. I have to say that I am really impressed with the way in which the Qualcast is able to remove the moss. In minutes I had removed more moss which was only equalled by a scarifier I previously hired. The only criticism I have is the size of the collection box which is too small. I have had to empty it every 2 minutes due to the amount moss extracted. I would certainly recommend this product."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does exactly what it says on the tin
Posted06 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Mr B
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"It did exactly what it said on the tin.
Easy to assemble.
Removed all the moss and thatch with ease
Other reviews were criticising the size of the collection box.
I knew there was a tremendous amount of moss in the lawn so didn't use the collection box and raked the moss up by hand.
A simple solution.
Overall very pleased with the product.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good
Posted06 August 2014
Customer avatar
By joejess
From:Nottinghamshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Well impressed with the first time use , would recommend this product to every lawn lover"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not user freindly
Posted30 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Eltel
From:Hitchin, Hertfordshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"The collection box is useless,I had to use my mower
to collect the ruubbish,also fixing the collection box in position is hit and miss.There were 2 plastic washers in the box not identified for assembly and a plastic piece that could hock on to something.I would not recomend this item
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By gooner 1951
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"grass collection basket frequently came off, the debris from both scarifing and then raking was all left on the ground and hardly any of it went into the basket, which meant I had to go over with the lawn mower -very poor design -not fit for purpose.avon"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looks can be very deceptive.
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By tellitasitis
From:Merseyside
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Began to have doubts as I assembled it, handle seemed flimsy and wire clips would not stay in place.
Put machine on highest setting as it's not the best time to scarify and off we went for approx 5 yards, motor belched, puffed out smoke and died!
Returned to store and got a refund rather than replacement, added a few pound more and got a different make with better reviews elsewhere.
Sorry Argos!
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was not happy with the quality
Posted09 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Plytch
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"The handles are held in place by 2 self-tapping screws which
screw into the handles' thin metal tube and do not offer sufficient strength of assembly. Item was returned day after purchase. Money was immediately refunded.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Karen
Age:45 to 54
"Great machinery,first class,does as it says on the box!!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value for money
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Billymac
From:Dumfries & Galloway
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"bought for lawns which had not been scarified for a couple of years consequently the box to collect the moss very very quickly became full. With regular use this should become less of a problem. Was a bit tricky to fix handle and the cord retaining clip needed a bit of help with some tape also round the handle. Despite these it is worth the money and does the job required."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The good and the bad
Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
By MikeB
From:Cambridgeshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"This has worked wonders for my lawn which was badly cared-for, full of thatch and moss. A couple of passes from the scarifier has pulled out about 20 barrow loads of rubbish and a few weeks later the lawn is looking much better. Using this 2-3 times a year over 2-3 years promises to transform the lawn back into something that's not an embarrassment.
However, as others have pointed out, the collection box is beyond a joke. Just do without it then use a mower after."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it's supposed to
Posted07 May 2014
Customer avatar
By marky
From:Derbyshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Bought this scarifier online & it was delivered promptly,the first time it was used it went across the lawn three times & packed up in a cloud of smoke. We took it to the nearest argos store who replaced without problem & the new one works fine (so far)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>