Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.

<p>The Qualcast power driver motor raker and scarifier allows you to easily and efficiently clear your grass of thatch, moss, leaves, weeds and other debris. Regularly removing this sort of build up from your lawn can help prevent issues such as water logging and also helps prevent lawn diseases.</p><ul><li>Model number GSR120H.</li></ul><p>Lawn raker features:</p><ul><li>1200 watt motor.</li><li>30 litre waste collection capacity.</li><li>5 raking heights.</li><li>32cm working width.</li><li>10m cable length.</li><li>Accessories included: 1 debris collection bag, 1 hex key and 2 cable clips.</li><li>Foldable handles and stackable grass box for compact storage.</li><li>Foam grip handle and Twin handle switch.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Weight 9.5kg.</li><li>Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.</li><li>EAN: 7305021.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
3.275 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
16
46 of 6967%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Review 1 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything you would want
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By valerie
From:norfolk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"I have a large lawn and this scarifier and rake is perfect.
Because the lawn is large we only do half at any one time.
to be fair.
My husband is over 80years and he can use this with ease, so would recommend it to all.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great little machine
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By mgb
From:strabane
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"I have a problem with moss in and previously used another scarifier which was not great at removing it. I have to say that I am really impressed with the way in which the Qualcast is able to remove the moss. In minutes I had removed more moss which was only equalled by a scarifier I previously hired. The only criticism I have is the size of the collection box which is too small. I have had to empty it every 2 minutes due to the amount moss extracted. I would certainly recommend this product."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does exactly what it says on the tin
Posted06 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Mr B
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"It did exactly what it said on the tin.
Easy to assemble.
Removed all the moss and thatch with ease
Other reviews were criticising the size of the collection box.
I knew there was a tremendous amount of moss in the lawn so didn't use the collection box and raked the moss up by hand.
A simple solution.
Overall very pleased with the product.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good
Posted06 August 2014
Customer avatar
By joejess
From:Nottinghamshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Well impressed with the first time use , would recommend this product to every lawn lover"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not user freindly
Posted30 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Eltel
From:Hitchin, Hertfordshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"The collection box is useless,I had to use my mower
to collect the ruubbish,also fixing the collection box in position is hit and miss.There were 2 plastic washers in the box not identified for assembly and a plastic piece that could hock on to something.I would not recomend this item
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By gooner 1951
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"grass collection basket frequently came off, the debris from both scarifing and then raking was all left on the ground and hardly any of it went into the basket, which meant I had to go over with the lawn mower -very poor design -not fit for purpose.avon"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looks can be very deceptive.
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By tellitasitis
From:Merseyside
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Began to have doubts as I assembled it, handle seemed flimsy and wire clips would not stay in place.
Put machine on highest setting as it's not the best time to scarify and off we went for approx 5 yards, motor belched, puffed out smoke and died!
Returned to store and got a refund rather than replacement, added a few pound more and got a different make with better reviews elsewhere.
Sorry Argos!
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was not happy with the quality
Posted09 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Plytch
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"The handles are held in place by 2 self-tapping screws which
screw into the handles' thin metal tube and do not offer sufficient strength of assembly. Item was returned day after purchase. Money was immediately refunded.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Karen
Age:45 to 54
"Great machinery,first class,does as it says on the box!!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value for money
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Billymac
From:Dumfries & Galloway
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"bought for lawns which had not been scarified for a couple of years consequently the box to collect the moss very very quickly became full. With regular use this should become less of a problem. Was a bit tricky to fix handle and the cord retaining clip needed a bit of help with some tape also round the handle. Despite these it is worth the money and does the job required."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The good and the bad
Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
By MikeB
From:Cambridgeshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"This has worked wonders for my lawn which was badly cared-for, full of thatch and moss. A couple of passes from the scarifier has pulled out about 20 barrow loads of rubbish and a few weeks later the lawn is looking much better. Using this 2-3 times a year over 2-3 years promises to transform the lawn back into something that's not an embarrassment.
However, as others have pointed out, the collection box is beyond a joke. Just do without it then use a mower after."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it's supposed to
Posted07 May 2014
Customer avatar
By marky
From:Derbyshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Bought this scarifier online & it was delivered promptly,the first time it was used it went across the lawn three times & packed up in a cloud of smoke. We took it to the nearest argos store who replaced without problem & the new one works fine (so far)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
qualcast raker and scarifier
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By j
From:merseyside
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"excellent value did the job no problems got more debri out of my garden this time than every other."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
very dissappointed
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By patty
From:south yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"bought one of these last year and the motor burnt out...but had lost the receipt. Being a Qualcast product, I thought it was bad luck and purchased another, but the smell of burning motor again made me realize it was not up to the job and I returned it. (Kept the receipt safe this time)"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not impressed
Posted30 April 2014
Customer avatar
By ABC
From:UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"First time I ordered item the handles were missing, I returned to store for exchange. I only used the rake and found the collection bag does not fit on easily and frequently fell off and didn't do a very good job of catching the moss. It's hard to push along as the moss collects inside the wheels and stops rotation. The 2nd time of using the motor kept tripping out, returned to store for refund.
Staff at argos were 100% great and very helpful."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not very robust
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By jb
From:Bournemouth
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"After such a wet winter our lawn had huge amount of moss. Thought this would help to remove most of it. It's hard to push along and collection bag is tiny. It's probably ok if you have a small amount of moss but otherwise don't bother."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good little workhorse
Posted15 April 2014
Customer avatar
By stevenp
From:burnley
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"a great little workhorse, saved my back a lot of pain,after raking by handrake, it can rake, and scarify, plus drill slits for re seeding, i would not be without it, my lawn looks a million dollars now, well done qualcast."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product has one shortfall.
Posted02 April 2014
Customer avatar
By JS
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"The purpose of one of the parts supplied was not described. It was possibly a cable clip?
Likewise, the fancy shape on the top centre of the handle was not mentioned in the instruction manual.
During scarifying, the collection bag was not very effective & I found it was necessary to use my lawn mower to pick it up."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
electric garden rake
Posted02 April 2014
Customer avatar
By eho1
From:warwickshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Bought product to tackle the "large moss" problem in the lawn.
Product looked just the job , very robust, good name etc.
When assembled I was concerned at poor fixing of handle to machine ( two small screws into plastic body) and screws would not tighten. "Grass box" difficult to fix. Also surprised no "use advice" came with product.
Contacted Qualcast helpline ( number in packaging) re both matters -who advised they were not involved as "Argos" only product.
Returned product unused."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Lawn
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Chim
From:Great Sankey
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"The buying at Argos was trouble free. The qualcast have made the scarifier come raker so user friendly that anyone can use it . We found it very effective and after treating the lawn it has survived the prolonged rain that had encouraged moss to take over."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>