Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.

<p>The Qualcast power driver motor raker and scarifier allows you to easily and efficiently clear your grass of thatch, moss, leaves, weeds and other debris. Regularly removing this sort of build up from your lawn can help prevent issues such as water logging and also helps prevent lawn diseases.</p><ul><li>Model number GSR120H.</li></ul><p>Lawn raker features:</p><ul><li>1200 watt motor.</li><li>30 litre waste collection capacity.</li><li>5 raking heights.</li><li>32cm working width.</li><li>10m cable length.</li><li>Accessories included: 1 debris collection bag, 1 hex key and 2 cable clips.</li><li>Foldable handles and stackable grass box for compact storage.</li><li>Foam grip handle and Twin handle switch.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Weight 9.5kg.</li><li>Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.</li><li>EAN: 7305021.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
3.254 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
15
42 of 6367%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Review 1 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looks can be very deceptive.
Posted22 July 2014
Customer avatar
By tellitasitis
From:Merseyside
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Began to have doubts as I assembled it, handle seemed flimsy and wire clips would not stay in place.
Put machine on highest setting as it's not the best time to scarify and off we went for approx 5 yards, motor belched, puffed out smoke and died!
Returned to store and got a refund rather than replacement, added a few pound more and got a different make with better reviews elsewhere.
Sorry Argos!
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was not happy with the quality
Posted09 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Plytch
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"The handles are held in place by 2 self-tapping screws which
screw into the handles' thin metal tube and do not offer sufficient strength of assembly. Item was returned day after purchase. Money was immediately refunded.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted08 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Karen
Age:45 to 54
"Great machinery,first class,does as it says on the box!!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good value for money
Posted28 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Billymac
From:Dumfries & Galloway
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"bought for lawns which had not been scarified for a couple of years consequently the box to collect the moss very very quickly became full. With regular use this should become less of a problem. Was a bit tricky to fix handle and the cord retaining clip needed a bit of help with some tape also round the handle. Despite these it is worth the money and does the job required."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The good and the bad
Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
By MikeB
From:Cambridgeshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"This has worked wonders for my lawn which was badly cared-for, full of thatch and moss. A couple of passes from the scarifier has pulled out about 20 barrow loads of rubbish and a few weeks later the lawn is looking much better. Using this 2-3 times a year over 2-3 years promises to transform the lawn back into something that's not an embarrassment.
However, as others have pointed out, the collection box is beyond a joke. Just do without it then use a mower after."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it's supposed to
Posted07 May 2014
Customer avatar
By marky
From:Derbyshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Bought this scarifier online & it was delivered promptly,the first time it was used it went across the lawn three times & packed up in a cloud of smoke. We took it to the nearest argos store who replaced without problem & the new one works fine (so far)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
qualcast raker and scarifier
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By j
From:merseyside
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"excellent value did the job no problems got more debri out of my garden this time than every other."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
very dissappointed
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By patty
From:south yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"bought one of these last year and the motor burnt out...but had lost the receipt. Being a Qualcast product, I thought it was bad luck and purchased another, but the smell of burning motor again made me realize it was not up to the job and I returned it. (Kept the receipt safe this time)"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not impressed
Posted30 April 2014
Customer avatar
By ABC
From:UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"First time I ordered item the handles were missing, I returned to store for exchange. I only used the rake and found the collection bag does not fit on easily and frequently fell off and didn't do a very good job of catching the moss. It's hard to push along as the moss collects inside the wheels and stops rotation. The 2nd time of using the motor kept tripping out, returned to store for refund.
Staff at argos were 100% great and very helpful."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not very robust
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By jb
From:Bournemouth
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"After such a wet winter our lawn had huge amount of moss. Thought this would help to remove most of it. It's hard to push along and collection bag is tiny. It's probably ok if you have a small amount of moss but otherwise don't bother."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good little workhorse
Posted15 April 2014
Customer avatar
By stevenp
From:burnley
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"a great little workhorse, saved my back a lot of pain,after raking by handrake, it can rake, and scarify, plus drill slits for re seeding, i would not be without it, my lawn looks a million dollars now, well done qualcast."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product has one shortfall.
Posted02 April 2014
Customer avatar
By JS
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"The purpose of one of the parts supplied was not described. It was possibly a cable clip?
Likewise, the fancy shape on the top centre of the handle was not mentioned in the instruction manual.
During scarifying, the collection bag was not very effective & I found it was necessary to use my lawn mower to pick it up."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
electric garden rake
Posted02 April 2014
Customer avatar
By eho1
From:warwickshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Bought product to tackle the "large moss" problem in the lawn.
Product looked just the job , very robust, good name etc.
When assembled I was concerned at poor fixing of handle to machine ( two small screws into plastic body) and screws would not tighten. "Grass box" difficult to fix. Also surprised no "use advice" came with product.
Contacted Qualcast helpline ( number in packaging) re both matters -who advised they were not involved as "Argos" only product.
Returned product unused."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Lawn
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Chim
From:Great Sankey
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"The buying at Argos was trouble free. The qualcast have made the scarifier come raker so user friendly that anyone can use it . We found it very effective and after treating the lawn it has survived the prolonged rain that had encouraged moss to take over."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By robo 3929
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Very good at removing moss and weeds but collection box is next door to useless"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does whats it supposed to- good machine
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Nav
From:Middlesex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"good machine and does whats its supposed to - rake & scarify- just one little things to moan about is that the box is too small for collection and even when It wasn't full, not all the grass went in.
When installing the handle be sure to get the bottom screw in straight on both sides of the machine otherwise the handle will come out.
Also do wear gloves when switching the scarifier over - its a little tricky but not difficult
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Qualcast Raker and Scarifier
Posted16 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Bobbin
From:Surrey
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"The scarifier works well, but the grass bag should be a lot larger! The lower handles are concealed in the packing and a label on the cardboard would have helped to find them."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lawn Care
Posted09 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Templequay
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"This scarifier does exactly what it says on the box. Only criticism is that the bag is not big enough, otherwise a good product at a good price. Pick up was quick and efficient at local store"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not very Robust
Posted04 October 2013
Customer avatar
By TeePee
From:Surrey, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"The machine itself was good and proformed very well and the service I recieved from ARGOS was first rate. The problem I had was the main body is 'plastic' and it had predrilled holes to locate the side handles into which were fixed with a self tapping screw which after about 1/2 of my scarifying lost all grip and the handle became so unusable I had to return the machine the very next day. Again service beyond reporoach it was a product fault"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Qualcast Raker and Scarifier - 1200W.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted16 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Maisy
From:Merseyside
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"I am delighted with this product, easy to use and does an excellent job scarifying."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>