Top-rated product

RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.

<p>For 12V wet lead acid batteries between 7-180Ah. Trickle charge rate 3 amps RMS (2 amps DC) and fast charge rate 12 amps RMS (8 amps DC). Automatically switches to float charge when battery is fully charged. Mains on LED indicator. Analogue meter showing battery charge.</p><ul><li>Suitable for petrol engines up to 4000cc and diesel engines up to 3500cc.</li><li>Suitable for 12V batteries and batteries with a capacity of 7 - 180Ah.</li><li>Charge time up to 10 hours.</li><li>Reverse polarity indicator.</li><li>Short circuit protection.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.589 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 219 reviews
5 Stars
164
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
182 of 19792%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 17 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Review 1 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAC 12v automatic battery charger
Posted17 January 2015
Customer avatar
By happychap
From:Shropshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" The battery on my 2 liter renault espace was dead flat, so i bought this charger from argos, it is very easy to put on but the leads could do with being a little longer, with in about six hours the battery was fully charged. I"m very pleased with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compact, simple to use, does the job.
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:Somerset
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" My car doesn't get much use, and the three year old battery really struggles in cold weather. An overnight trickle charge brought it back to full power with the amp-meter showing steady progress. The charger is compact for storage and seems quite sturdy. Simple, easy to follow instructions. I havent needed the fast charge. Well pleased. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy function, durable and good quality
Posted13 January 2015
Customer avatar
By kups
From:hampshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Tried using my old battery charger, but as the car had not been used for a while it wasn't up to the task, purchased the RAC Battery charger, which was very good quality and charged an almost flat battery up on initial trickle and then fast charge in just a few hours. recommended for even the most feeble of DIY persons, simple easy use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made and much better than cheap ones around
Posted07 January 2015
Customer avatar
By dud
From:Verwood
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
" does most batteries and very well made should last long time very pleased with it .not the cheapest but you get what you pay for "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AA Battery Charger
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Shadow
From:Essex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" The battery charger is more compact than expected but that is good.It has a trickle feeder option which is very useful and pleased with the product "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
no information
Posted20 November 2014
Customer avatar
By shopper
From:Acocks Green,
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" I brought RAC battery charger for my car,you need to read instructions has you need to take battery out of car not suitable for me "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rac 12v auto battery charger
Posted10 November 2014
Customer avatar
By ray 39
From:Thornton-Cleveleys, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Very pleased with the product done a good job "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
does the job well
Posted21 October 2014
Customer avatar
By oddjob
From:harwich
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" easy to use and does the job, "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAC 12V CAR BATTERY CHARGER
Posted01 October 2014
Customer avatar
By JB
Age:55 to 64
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" VERY EFFICIENT,EASY TO OPERATE, REASONABLE WEIGHT, COMPACT FOR STORAGE "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
charges fast!
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Lucy N
From:lincolnshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The first one I got made a really strange noise and got really hot so I took it back and got a replacement and its brilliant. Charges really fast compared to my old one. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fos
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By fos
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" no faults at all very pleased with this item,fos "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is a battery charger
Posted23 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Hank
From:Bridgend, Bridgend, Bridgend, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" I needed a battery charger, liked the description of this one as it seemed to meet my needs. Bought it and it has met my expectations. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Rac battery charger
Posted19 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Brenda
From:Cumbria, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Bought one of these and after a couple of hours off hours it stopped working so returned it and got another one ,that worked for about 20 mins and that was all ,very disappointed in this product ,would not recommend it,will only give it one star for the look of this item ,it's a wastes of money as a battery charger "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Good Purchase !
Posted02 July 2014
Customer avatar
By supermick
From:East Sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" This charger does everything what I require, simple to use, a little heavy but is it not better to have something which works well "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAC battery charger
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Flash
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Excellent product very well made solid sound does what it is supposed to do "
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
RAC 12V AUTOMATIC CAR BATTERY CHARGER
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Thami
From:Uk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" This item has turned out not to be what I thought it was. I thought it needed to be fully charged before using it and I did just that but when I took it to to start the car, it just did not work. I want to return this item to Argos. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-17points
3of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What's orange and powerful? No not super carrot!
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Brittania
From:England
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Smaller but it does the job well. Started off nice and quiet but got so noisy with the internal transformer working I had to move it to another room! Easy to operate and the instructions were very simple and clear. Perfect for the home on family size cars. Even came with a spare fuse! Switch to trickle feed after fully charging is useful. Doesn't feel like you will do much damage if it has a knock or small drop. Would rate it as 'Good' only because of the noise it eventually started making. 8/10 "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
second one ok
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By mick126
Age:45 to 54
" First one didn't work , light came on but didn't charged . Changed for another one no quibble and the 2nd one worked ok fully charging an 80amp battery in 24 hours "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Linda
From:England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" This battery charger really is worth the money. We have had cheaper ones in the past which have not managed the job well at all. We have a large heavy duty battery on our car, and this charger worked really quickly. There is a trickle-charge and a booster. I was slightly worried when we got it because it's a lot smaller than expected, but that just proved to be a bonus.
Over all, a really good buy, and I would recommend this charger.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job
Posted25 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Dangermouse
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Simple to use, and the dial is supposed to go to the right handside whilst charging and the needle comes back to the left as the battery charge is completed.
Instructions not the best - but adequate for a basic battery charger ! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 Next >>>