Top-rated product

RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.

<p>For 12V wet lead acid batteries between 7-180Ah. Trickle charge rate 3 amps RMS (2 amps DC) and fast charge rate 12 amps RMS (8 amps DC). Automatically switches to float charge when battery is fully charged. Mains on LED indicator. Analogue meter showing battery charge.</p><ul><li>Suitable for petrol engines up to 4000cc and diesel engines up to 3500cc.</li><li>Suitable for 12V batteries and batteries with a capacity of 7 - 180Ah.</li><li>Charge time up to 10 hours.</li><li>Reverse polarity indicator.</li><li>Short circuit protection.</li><li>EAN: 7402168.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.602 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 211 reviews
5 Stars
159
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
7
176 of 18993%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 17 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Review 1 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
does the job well
Posted21 October 2014
Customer avatar
By oddjob
From:harwich
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"easy to use and does the job,"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAC 12V CAR BATTERY CHARGER
Posted01 October 2014
Customer avatar
By JB
Age:55 to 64
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"VERY EFFICIENT,EASY TO OPERATE, REASONABLE WEIGHT, COMPACT FOR STORAGE"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
charges fast!
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Lucy N
From:lincolnshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The first one I got made a really strange noise and got really hot so I took it back and got a replacement and its brilliant. Charges really fast compared to my old one."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fos
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By fos
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"no faults at all very pleased with this item,fos"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is a battery charger
Posted23 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Hank
From:Bridgend, Bridgend, Bridgend, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"I needed a battery charger, liked the description of this one as it seemed to meet my needs. Bought it and it has met my expectations."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Rac battery charger
Posted19 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Brenda
From:Cumbria, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Bought one of these and after a couple of hours off hours it stopped working so returned it and got another one ,that worked for about 20 mins and that was all ,very disappointed in this product ,would not recommend it,will only give it one star for the look of this item ,it's a wastes of money as a battery charger"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Good Purchase !
Posted02 July 2014
Customer avatar
By supermick
From:East Sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"This charger does everything what I require, simple to use, a little heavy but is it not better to have something which works well"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAC battery charger
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Flash
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Excellent product very well made solid sound does what it is supposed to do"
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
RAC 12V AUTOMATIC CAR BATTERY CHARGER
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Thami
From:Uk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"This item has turned out not to be what I thought it was. I thought it needed to be fully charged before using it and I did just that but when I took it to to start the car, it just did not work. I want to return this item to Argos."
No, I do not recommend this product.
-13points
0of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
What's orange and powerful? No not super carrot!
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Brittania
From:England
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Smaller but it does the job well. Started off nice and quiet but got so noisy with the internal transformer working I had to move it to another room! Easy to operate and the instructions were very simple and clear. Perfect for the home on family size cars. Even came with a spare fuse! Switch to trickle feed after fully charging is useful. Doesn't feel like you will do much damage if it has a knock or small drop. Would rate it as 'Good' only because of the noise it eventually started making. 8/10"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
second one ok
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By mick126
Age:45 to 54
"First one didn't work , light came on but didn't charged . Changed for another one no quibble and the 2nd one worked ok fully charging an 80amp battery in 24 hours"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Linda
From:England
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"This battery charger really is worth the money. We have had cheaper ones in the past which have not managed the job well at all. We have a large heavy duty battery on our car, and this charger worked really quickly. There is a trickle-charge and a booster. I was slightly worried when we got it because it's a lot smaller than expected, but that just proved to be a bonus.
Over all, a really good buy, and I would recommend this charger.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job
Posted25 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Dangermouse
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Simple to use, and the dial is supposed to go to the right handside whilst charging and the needle comes back to the left as the battery charge is completed.
Instructions not the best - but adequate for a basic battery charger !"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good little package
Posted26 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Ned
From:Dudley, West Midlands, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"Sturdy and robust. Compact design. Not sure how long it will last but only time will tell"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
everything you need to easily re-charge a battery
Posted20 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Bob
From:Hampshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Nicely constructed, sturdy and functional. cigar lighter power cable a good length and so is the air line to the wheel valve.
Warning/guidance lights on the charger itself are great and easy to follow.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAC Battery Charger
Posted28 January 2014
Customer avatar
By richp
From:Hertfordshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Nice sturdy charger easy to use"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I needed
Posted23 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Mike
From:North Tyneside
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"I am very pleased with this product. I work out of the country a lot and battery has a tendency of just running itself down over a couple of months. Decided to save some hassle, now have a battery that I keep on trickle charge. Battery found flat this time home, removed from car, charged up, started first time.
Instructions clear for setting up, two functions allows for fast charge and slow charge. Fast charge when complete switches to slow charge. Perfect price for 2.0ltr car battery charging.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very impressed
Posted23 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Fat Andy
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"This time I bought a battery charger that was the correct one for the size of the diesel engine in my van, and what a difference it made. Did the job quickly and well!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Borris53
From:Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"Bearing in mind that due to my dodgy alternator my battery has been completely flat and I have a great big 3.5 Diesel Truck this little charger has it up and running in 20 mins. So compact you can keep it in your car but extremely powerful! Recommend highly!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does The Job
Posted16 November 2013
Customer avatar
By X
From:Gloucestershire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Have charged two batteries and the charger worked well and quickly."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 Next >>>