Top-rated product

RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.

<p>For 12V wet lead acid batteries between 7-180Ah. Trickle charge rate 3 amps RMS (2 amps DC) and fast charge rate 12 amps RMS (8 amps DC). Automatically switches to float charge when battery is fully charged. Mains on LED indicator. Analogue meter showing battery charge.</p><ul><li>Suitable for petrol engines up to 4000cc and diesel engines up to 3500cc.</li><li>Suitable for 12V batteries and batteries with a capacity of 7 - 180Ah.</li><li>Charge time up to 10 hours.</li><li>Reverse polarity indicator.</li><li>Short circuit protection.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 240 reviews
5 Stars
180
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Star
8
200 of 21892%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 20 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Review 1 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted20 May 2015
Customer avatar
By alex
From:Fulham, London, UK
Age:45 to 54
" I uset on a normal charge and took a while but he charged fully and does the job. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On point.
Posted12 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Silver
From:Dagenham
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
" car was not starting, even with a jump starter. I thought it was a major electronic problem as there car was showing that on the dashboard too.
Enter the rac charger. This workhorse indicated that it was charging even though i wasn't seeing any physical change yet. By evening, it was full. Popped battery into Renault 2.0 ltr engine. car started pronto!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does the job
Posted12 May 2015
Customer avatar
By SimCLaSH
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:35 to 44
" This charger works fine, looks nice and seems good quality. Obviously with this type of product only time will tell as you generally only have to use it once in a while. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
unrelible product
Posted07 May 2015
Customer avatar
By old man
From:Scotland, UK
Age:65 or over
" first one replaced no quibble
second one lasted 17 months
first one used 8 times
second 12 times and died
do not buy this product for long term use "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery Charger
Posted06 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Ady
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Does not give you an estimated charge time & does not tell you the condition of the battery that you are attempting to charge up . Tried reading booklet for more guidance , but it was very poor "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger
Posted05 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Hackney Mum of 3
From:Hackney
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" As a car maintenance novice I bought this car battery charger assuming it was to be used to start the car while still connected. After reading the instructions I realised I had to disconnect the battery and charge at home. I can't fault this product it's very easy to use and charged my 2.4 Mercedes battery overnight and my car started straight away once reconnected the following morning. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAC. 12v automatic battery charger
Posted05 May 2015
Customer avatar
By ANTON
From:NORTHAMPTONSHIRE
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Brilliant addition to my collection of tools. Does everything it says on the can.
Very easy to use and understand
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Performance
Posted21 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Gecko
From:Vale of Glamorgan, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" This charger does exactly what it's supposed to and indicates clearly when your battery is fully charged. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery Charger
Posted21 April 2015
Customer avatar
By db
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" This is not a high Tec battery charger, but because of its simplyicty it is perfect for home use and does every thing it is suppose to do without any fuss.
I would without any hesitation recommend this product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great charger. Easy to use
Posted16 April 2015
Customer avatar
By htg75
From:Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" I bought this because it had the options of trickle charging, which is much better for the battery. Both settings charge within the times set out in the manual and the fast charge does exactly what it says. The unit didn't get hot when left on all night. Nice, compact and easy to use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good value for money
Posted16 April 2015
Customer avatar
By lucie
From:Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" bought this for a family member and have said it was the best they have had. great gift and really pleased with the outcome on following instructions. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very noisy when charging
Posted15 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Russ
From:Cornwall
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Does charge the battery, but the buzzing is intolerable, even worse on fast charge. Cables could do with being longer just for convenience. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery Charger
Posted15 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Lucyj
From:York, York, York, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Very good value for money. Would recommend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery charger
Posted03 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Frank the Magician
From:Churchtown, Dublin 14
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Does exactly what it says on the box!! Very good charger, when battery is charged charger goes onto trickle charge. Handy!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery charger
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Tommo
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" This is a very efficient item, and I would not hesitate to recommend it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this product
Posted08 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Eeyor179
From:Lincolnshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" I bought this as my cheaper one stopped working and we use it for charging car batteries for the electric fencing for the horse. We needed a gd make to trust and after reading the reviews we decided on this one. Expensive in my opinion but tbh def worth the money. Charges my 3 batteries in no time at all and I cannot fault this charger. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This gadget is a must especially for ladies
Posted18 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Bea
From:Leighton Buzzard,
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" This product is great especially for ladies whose cars are not so new or those that are not on the road regularly. I would never have made it to work that evening were it not for it. So I encourage drivers to have one, you will never regret your choice . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tough
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By chris
From:chester
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Used daily had no problems its a good little robust charger,I looked around and argos was cheaper than All "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAC battery charger
Posted17 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Wojt79
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" Good quality product. 100% recommended;) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for RAC 12V Automatic Car Battery Charger.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAC 12v automatic battery charger
Posted17 January 2015
Customer avatar
By happychap
From:Shropshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" The battery on my 2 liter renault espace was dead flat, so i bought this charger from argos, it is very easy to put on but the leads could do with being a little longer, with in about six hours the battery was fully charged. I"m very pleased with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next >>>