Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.

500 watt with 800 watt peak power. Allows the use of domestic home appliances to be used outside such as games consoles, CD players, portable DVD, drills, TV, laptops and much more. Also ideal for camping and caravans. Power on the move! Size (L)22, (W)11, (D)6.8cm.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
2 of 2100%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.
Review 1 for Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely useful
Posted03 August 2010
Customer avatar
By Ian
From:Bucks
" Recently acquired an allotment and needed to strim the grass and cut a few things back.
Having weighed up the cost of petrol strimmers and hedge cutters I thought I've give the power inverter a go which meant I could use my existing mains powered tools.
I've used it continually for over an hour on a couple of occasions and it works perfectly with the inverter. You wouldn’t know the difference between mains and battery power. One thing to remember though is the car must be running or you will flatten the battery, I know it sounds obvious but check the wattage of the tools before connecting up. It doesn’t have enough power for example for my lawn mower. Connection is straight onto the battery due to the amount of power it takes.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Xtreme 500w POWER INVERTER
Posted22 October 2009
Customer avatar
By BOB
From:DERBYSHIRE
" BARGAIN I paid half price in the sale and believe me this power inverter is EXCELLENT VALUE ,firstly ..the reason it does not have a cigarette lighter plug with it .. ,the max wattage inverter for a cigarette lighter is around 400 watts and this is depending on how many amps you have to your cigarette socket some cars have 10amps some have 20amps etc and some have more ! .i connect it straight to my motorhomes 12v 85ah leisure battery with the supplied cables and it powers a digibox and a 19" lcd tv with a ps3 connected fine or laptops and phone chargers,lights,tools etc etc which is in effect what this inverter is designed for and is best at,if you own a 12v leisure battery at home you could even run a few items from it in the event of a power cut for as long as your battery lasted,a BRILLIANT GADGET and clever piece of kit and very well made to. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent
Posted13 October 2009
Customer avatar
By Simon
From:Somerset
" This product 'does what it says on the tin', excellent power output, very satisfied, especially with the low input cutoff to protect the supply battery. "
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted29 September 2009
Customer avatar
By leigh
From:leicestershire
" returned this product as it did not have a cigarette ligter plug "
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Works, but not conventiently
Posted29 September 2009
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
" It works, but you have to have the bonnet up and clip it to the battery terminals directly. Which means it's not convenient, and you can't use it while driving.
Terrible really, and even with the low cost, it's totally not worth it. "
-10points
1of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter
Posted15 September 2009
Customer avatar
By sharon
From:lincs
" Used this to run a motorhome tv and sky box - works perfectly - good price and very happy with purchase - would buy one again "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very useful piece of kit
Posted15 September 2009
Customer avatar
By Frederick
From:Suffolk
" Most people who possess rechargeable electric tools will encounter the same problem. They are used so rarely that the battery is always flat when you need them. With an inverter you can power your mains voltage AC powertools using the one battery that is always in regular use: The Car. This inverter with it's 500watt power output can easily handle most DIY tools without the need for long trailing cables when working away from the house. It is also great on camping trips for powering up theTV or Laptop, as well as small kitchen gadgets ( a blender is a must even when cooking out of doors). This unit is very robust and should give years of service if looked after. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic
Posted15 September 2009
Customer avatar
By Paul
" Value for money is fantastic. This only works with battery clips though! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter
Posted15 September 2009
Customer avatar
By Mark T
From:West Yorks
" Excellent - powers my laptop, phone, tv - and wouldn't say it was too noisy either (just fan cooling inverter).
You will need 12v lead if using in car though as doesn't some with one - 0nly comes with lead to attach to car battery.
Very useful kit for people on the road!!!!
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous value
Posted15 September 2009
Customer avatar
By MikeH
From:South Yorkshire
" I bought at discout half price in Sale - excellent value - works brilliantly - now I can use my power tools anywhere. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for Camping
Posted01 September 2009
Customer avatar
By James
From:Essex
" We bought this item for blowing up the airbeds and for powering low wattage bits and pieces. It isn't that clear in the information but this item does NOT plug into the cigarette lighter, you have to connect it directly to the battery.
All in all it is an excellent product, ideal for powering up laptops or charging things, or blowing up airbeds!
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Challenge Xtreme 500W Power Inverter.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted09 August 2009
Customer avatar
By James
From:kent
" went camping for 2 weeks and had this hooked up to a big battery and it was ideal for running the phone chargers and lights when it got dark had no need to streach his to its limit though as i got the older modle that is 800w and peak 1200w. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.