Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

RAC Car Fault Code Reader.

Modern cars have a built-in diagnostic system called OBDII or EOBD which your garage will plug into to help determine any faults. You can now plug into this system yourself. Find out what is really wrong with your car before taking it to the garage. Check for faults on second hand cars before buying.Diagnostic scanner features.Read and reset fault codes.Reset check engine light.Compatible with all petrol engine cars manufactured since 2001 and all diesel engine cars manufactured since 2004.Read and reset fault codes.Reset check engine light.Size H11, W7.5, D2.2cm.Accessories includedScan tool.User manual.OBDII cable.Carry case.Code definitions CD.This scanner will not cure faults identified this must be done by a mechanic
Overall rating:
4.304 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
28 of 3190%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Review 21 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rac code reader
Posted27 April 2010
Customer avatar
By pd
From:cheshire
" very good value for money, cleared my cars fault codes and found my engine management fault (02 mondeo )also works on peugots has payed for itself twice over in two weeks "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Handy
Posted30 March 2010
Customer avatar
By Marcel
From:Birmingham, UK
" I was traveling from London and my engine light came on. The engine lost power (Automatic Protection System). Apparently the snow triggered it... Had just purchased the OBD Code Reader, made me stop, open the glove compartment, click the device in and clear the code. The car was ready again in less than 3 minutes. Every Driver should carry one! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will save you a fortune!!!
Posted25 February 2010
Customer avatar
By bargain hunter
From:Liverpool
" This has been excellent. Fixed 2 cars in thre first 2 days of having it. Saves you having to go to manufacturer and spending hundreds. Would recommend! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted03 February 2010
Customer avatar
By shopoholic
From:West Midlands
" This didn't work on my car, even thought it should have been compatible. Went through the motions, and then claimed there were no fault codes and the MIL wasn't on. Guess it would be a good investment if it works for you. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Useful tool
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Alan
From:South Lanarkshire
" If you do your own repairs, this is useful for fault-finding and clearing the annoying engine management warnings without having to visit a garage.
OBD messages are not always 100% accurate, but it usually gives a good indication of the problem and can assist in estimating the cost of repair. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rac fault code reader
Posted20 January 2010
Customer avatar
By monkeydo
From:buckinghamshire
" easy to use traced fault and reset code lights first time,saved me trip to the garage which would have cost more than what i paid for this handy little tool in the first place "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By chas
From:bucks
" excellent bit of kit saved me pounds could reset management system myself "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Waste of time
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By KevinT
From:London
" The code reader is very very basic, not really worthy of the RAC name.
Will only read detect certain codes.
Has been a waste of money for me. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RAC Fault Code Reader
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Pete
From:Grimsby
" Good Value for money, has paid for its self after the first use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted19 January 2010
Customer avatar
By Beertootie
From:Hertfordshire
" Great for letting you know what the problem is without spending hundreds of pounds in a garage. You can also reset your service lights and clear fault codes, easy to use just plug in and follow instruction in the booklet provided. A+ "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pays for its self
Posted10 November 2009
Customer avatar
By KJS_141
From:Hampshire
" Very easy to use and faults codes clearly shown in manual.
Was able to reset the engine management light and rectify issue without an expensive trip to the garage
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RAC fault code reader
Posted04 August 2009
Customer avatar
By Steve
From:Norwich
" Good purchase, very simple to use cleared and reset the P codes that came up, told me what the problem was with my car before i took it to the garage. Be warned though the P codes are generic so only lead to what could be a bigger problem, or not. "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A must have tool for today's cars
Posted04 August 2009
Customer avatar
By Kenn
From:Buckinghamshire
" With todays complex automotive systems the only way to get a clue to a problem is by using this device, narrows the problem to functional area and if correctly interpreted prevents guesswork and unnecesary parts replacement. A diagnostic check alone at a garage can cost about £50. Even if you do not fit the parts yourself you can advise the garage of the fault codes. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says on the box
Posted08 July 2009
Customer avatar
By Andrew
From:Berkshire
" Brought this after talking to a local garage and to get faults identified was more than the cost of the unit. And clearing the fault was the same price again plus what ever needed doing. The unit has already paid for it self on its first use.
Was tried on a Honda Civic 1999 worked fine no fault codes found. "
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
RAC fault code reader
Posted09 June 2009
Customer avatar
By cj
From:Birmingham
" I bought this product to read faults on my punto, it read one code, but this was not the problem that was wrong with the vehicle, I did manage to delete this code, but it never stopped the engine management light from flashing, so I'm back where I started and stuck with this piece of kit I no longer need now.
So not too happy was hoping it would solve the problem, I have to go to a dealer now to sort this out.
"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great piece of kit
Posted13 May 2009
Customer avatar
By Dunk
From:West Midlands
" I bought the fault code reader after the engine management light came on in my car, I plugged it in and got no codes back but did clear the light and its not appeared since.
I also thought I would give it a shot on my motorbike as the dealers had just ripped me off for £400 and couldnt fix it. It took all of 30 secs to find 3 faults logged which all pointed to a defective switch, which I replaced for £72...... the dealers wanted over £700 to sort the problem on top of the £400 they had already had.
I saved a fortune using this.........only downside I can really see is that you need to find where your OBD port is located.... some car manuals have them listed, others dont, but thats not really a fault of this unit. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RAC fault code reader
Posted12 May 2009
Customer avatar
By dangerous dave
From:middx
" great little gadget wish i had known about this earlier before spending thousands on other diagnostic equipment "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good product
Posted14 April 2009
Customer avatar
By Dom
From:Fermanagh
" This is a top class bit of kit considering the price, have already diagnosed and erased 3 faults with this on a 2001 Terrano 2.7 TDI and on a 2001 Petrol Audi A4. Definatly worth the price, Dont think this will reset the Air Bag lights but have yet to see "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ok.
Posted30 March 2009
Customer avatar
By Devil
From:south
" Tested my mk4 fiesta , it found no problems even tho my airbag light was flashing !!! so Not a good buy........ !! dnt waist ur money pay more for better unit!! "
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for RAC Car Fault Code Reader.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
RAC Fault Code Reader
Posted13 February 2009
Customer avatar
By shacka
From:birmingham
" ok easy to use no problems. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.