Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.

<p>Play movies, music, photos, and the best of the Internet on your HDTV.</p><ul><li>Enjoy Internet entertainment on your TV.</li><li>Play your personal media collection.</li><li>Built-in Wi-Fi and intuitive interface.</li><li>Manufacturer's 2 year guarantee.</li><li>EAN/MPN/UPC/ISBN: 718037777924.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
33 of 3887%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Review 1 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good upgrade
Posted23 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Jimmy
From:Liverpool
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Easy set-up
Gives us Smart TV capabilitirs to bedroom TV
Picks up wireless network no problem
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recomended
Posted21 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:Southport
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"This just works, no problems at all, easy to set up. Plays everything you can throw at it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Media player
Posted09 April 2013
Customer avatar
By honeynellie
From:Angus
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Great purchase does everything it says. Would defiantly recommend this iteam."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WD media player
Posted09 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Tony
From:Oxfordshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"Really good, can't fault it, so simple to use.
Just plug in ethernet cat5 to home network and hdmi to your tv and follow a few instructions, all you need is a little bit of know how on networking .
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great little gadget
Posted09 April 2013
Customer avatar
By MR W
From:glossop
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Brilliant i can watch all my dvds on my harddrive now would recommend"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WD TV Live
Posted09 April 2013
Customer avatar
By raybo
From:uk England
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Very good would
Recommend to a friend
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dissapointed
Posted09 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Mother Goose
From:United Kingdom
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Bit dissapointing in that it only provides for the BBC iPlayer, otherwise does what it says.
Maybe with further firmware upgrades the other iplayers will become available.
Would not recommend this to anybody at the moment.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Must have got a dodgy one
Posted02 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Frank
From:London
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"I only heard good things about these so I am presuming that I got a dodgy one. Sometimes it had no problem reading files from hard drive, the next minute it would tell me that there were no files and that the drive was empty. A few times the screen froze and it became unresponsive. Had to reboot so many times. One day it would work fine, the next it wouldn't. Will be returning it to the store tomorrow."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GOOD VALUE
Posted26 March 2013
Customer avatar
By john
From:uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"very good item good price staff very helpful keep the good work up"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jack of all Media
Posted13 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Steve
From:Plymouth
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"A well executed product from Western Digital which sits nicely under my TV. It's output via my home cinema to my telly and so I get the benefit of decent sound. Easy to setup and able to play everything I've thrown at it from my NetGear ReadyNAS box. Well designed remote too. A little more expensive at Argos, but got cashback from Quidco ;-)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't Bother
Posted13 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Lorne
From:Bristol
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"I bought this as a last resort as I was after a player to hook up via wireless to the network for streaming from NAS and PC in addition to playing media directly connected and watching catch-up TV... waste of money.
Streaming over wireless is hopeless and constantly drops out. BBC iPlayer is the only UK channel you can get and the speed of the menu system is atrocious... I hate this device with a passion and will be removing from my home as soon as I find a suitable alternative.
Don't waste your money."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Posted13 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Marko
From:Shropshire
"It started OK when first set up but seemed to overheat during normal use. After two days it just stopped working - dead. I took it back and bought a Boxee instead which is much better and works a treat."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player
Posted05 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Ian
From:W-s-M
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"The Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player works extremely well. It streams all the formats I use straight to my HD TV. I personally prefer ".MP4" as you can add Tag data easily such as a still image or Actors, Director data ETC. Use "MetaX" on a PC. The interface for the WDTV is very clear and easy to use. The remote is easy to use and works well. WD even have a software remote for iPad to control the WDTV, see App Store. Use "FileExplorer Free" from the App Store to stream Movies to the iPad from the WDTV. Not only can you watch movies but you can also access your music files or your photos. You can access files from any USB device you plug in or from a PC on the network. The WDTV is a very small device and very well made. If you want to watch movies, photos or music on your TV or iPad then the Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player is a first class device.
The only thing it does not do is stream to a PS3 you need the next model up to do that."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good piece of kit
Posted10 July 2012
Customer avatar
By The Dude
From:l'Orne
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Compatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Range/speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I had read lots of reviews about the WDTV, a real curates egg, but decided to go for it on balance. so far I have not been disappointed at all. Set up is a breeze and it really does do what it says on the tin and if you can't set this thing up then you have no business buying it. It is tiny and light which belies its capabilities and It has a small white 'on' LED - a welcome change from the blinding searchlight of my other devices (that rival the sun). The firmware was updated with no problems at all and after a short interval when it rebooted and reconfigured itself it was business as usual. There are horror stories about this device but I haven't had those problems; maybe they are written by the 'competion' who knows. All I can say is I am well pleased with it to date. If you are dithering I say 'Go For It' and if you get a 'bad'un' well take it back and don't stress, it's not the end of the world at this price and who knows, you may be as delighted as me - or not, as the case may be."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent value
Posted19 June 2012
Customer avatar
By dean
From:wales
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Range/speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"well worth every penny.ticks all the right boxes"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WDTV Live Streaming Media Player
Posted10 May 2012
Customer avatar
By robo
From:northants
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"plays just about everything i throw at it"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WDTV
Posted09 May 2012
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:London
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Range/speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this to link in to my home network. Some issues connecting to iMac but now connects to NAS directly (instructions not so clear for this).
Cannot fault playback over wireless - no stuttering with 720p streaming - not tried 1080p yet.
Not so easy to work with thumbnails and cannot seem to create a library (but my NAS has over 3 Tb of content). Searching still fast though and easy to use/control. iPhone app is a bonus.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice streamer!
Posted24 April 2012
Customer avatar
By Lee
From:West Yorkshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Compatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Range/speed 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought this box so I could stream Netflix and connect to my network hard drive. Had to do a fiddly download to a memory stick and then connect this to the USB port on the item so it would update and add the Netflix icon. Works very well and the chunky buttoned remote control is easy to use."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant streamer
Posted12 April 2012
Customer avatar
By Anne
From:West midlands
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Range/speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the best media streamer I have ever bought. If anyone is looking for a streamer that plays every format this is the one to buy. I have tried quiet a few boxes recently and they have all been a disappointment but this streamer is fantastic."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Western Digital WDTV Live Streaming Media Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted21 March 2012
Customer avatar
By rich
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Range/speed 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Plays every music / video file formats i have thrown at it inc 3d sbs
i have 1 in the liveing room with hard drive attached to it and 1 in the bedroom that i stream to
from the hard drive in the living room all wifi
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>