Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.

<p>Never get stuck on a tricky crossword again with this handy Franklin Collins crossword solver with built-in thesaurus. Featuring over quarter of a million words, the crossword solver is compact enough to fit in your pocket - ideal for when you're travelling. </p><ul><li>180000 words.</li><li>280000 synonyms.</li><li>7 word games.</li></ul><p>Crossword solver:</p><ul><li>Crossword solver.</li><li>Anagram solver.</li></ul><p>Spellchecker:</p><ul><li>Phonetic spell correction.</li><li>180000 word spellchecker.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Calculator and converter.</li><li>1 line LCD display.</li><li>Batteries included.</li><li>Batteries required 1 x CR2025 (included).</li><li>EAN/MPN/UPC/ISBN: 8479399801-0.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.08 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
21 of 2584%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Review 1 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product
Posted29 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Marge
From:Bristol
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"Can find no bad points about this solver. It is just perfect. Nice large easy to see keys to press and has different Crossword solvers , plus Thesaurus and games. If you are a crossword addict then this will really help. Nice size and well made not flimsy like some models."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nearly there
Posted23 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Derek
From:Gillingham
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Shame it didn't include a dictionary.it would have been perfect for crosswords if it had."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ok'ish but no good for crosswords
Posted12 March 2013
Customer avatar
By old codger
From:Cardiff
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Fine as a spelling checker but there are lots of machines that do that. It is the thesaurus that is poor, just like ALL other modern machines. When you are doing a crossword, the meaning of the clue is not clear. "Wicked" normally means bad but it may also mean the piece of string that goes through a candle. A Roget type construction of the thesaurus is no use in this situation. What is needed is one list of all meanings sorted by the length of the word. The old Franklin had that but the new one does not."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Service excellent
Posted14 February 2013
Customer avatar
By Geegee
From:wiltshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Not as easy to use as previous instrument"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
franklin word checker
Posted13 February 2013
Customer avatar
By molly
From:Lancashire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"Placed order on Saturday afternoon, item delivered Monday morning. GREAT>"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
crossword solver
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"I ordered by phone really helpful in every way
thank you
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Ron.
From:Hertfordshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"A very good price and it works very well"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
spell checker
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By plasticpigeon
From:Denbighshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"not up to much , had to replace this item as my old sharp spell checker went on the blink,it was a good old friend to me , will miss it :(("
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very useful crossword aid
Posted10 October 2012
Customer avatar
By David
From:Vale of Glamorgan
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Simple and quick to use with a variety of appropriate features; neat and lightweight so easy for carrying."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
franklin cwm109 crossword solver and thesaurus
Posted09 October 2012
Customer avatar
By john
From:enfield
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"anagram game is extremely poor, MANY 'words' are abbreviations, MANY words are not used in common language and when you 'question' the thesaurus, it is often unable to give you a meaning, would not have purchased had i known. crossword solver is adequate."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value
Posted05 September 2012
Customer avatar
By Mike
From:Cheshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"I'm a regular crossworder, but not too good at the cryptic so this is excellent for me. Does what it says on the tin, easy to use. No disappointment at all."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
crossword assist.
Posted31 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Brian
From:Worcestershire.
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Does the job it was intended for however I am supprised at the number of every day words that do not feature in the thesaurus."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase
Posted18 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Edward
From:Westcliff-on-Sea
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Bought this to replace an old worn out model.
Can't fault the product or the price
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fast but limited
Posted18 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Casta Diva
From:norfolk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"I bought this to replace my Franklin Chambers Crossword Dictionary which was getting very slow after many years. The new one is fast and very easy to use though smaller and with smaller keys but seems to have a smaller thesaurus and does'nt give synonyms by number of letters. Generally doesn't seem to have access to as many words as my old one which I am now seeking to buy again"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted17 July 2012
Customer avatar
By scaffman
From:essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"i took it to my relations in ireland he took a shine to it so he has it, it will keep him happy for ages"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Miles better than previous purchase
Posted17 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Teddybear
From:South Glamorgan
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Apart from word finder and spell checker this also lets you enter a jumbled selection of letters, then gives all words containing those letters. first rate. Good value for money."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Took a chance - Great Gift
Posted12 July 2012
Customer avatar
By Tracy
From:United Kingdom
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Purchased for my mom who does crosswords and she is so happy with the crossword solver. She is now able to complete entire crosswords."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
crossword solver
Posted19 June 2012
Customer avatar
By angie
From:edinburgh
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"was ok ,done job what it was bought for x"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
franklin crossword solver
Posted24 May 2012
Customer avatar
By little jim
From:North Essex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"a much improved model since my last purchase(which died after extensive use)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Franklin CWM-109 Collins Crossword Solver and Thesaurus.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
value for money
Posted22 May 2012
Customer avatar
By leslie
From:Lincolnshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"plenty of features for the money without being complicated to operate."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>