Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.

<p>Watch your old favourites in clearer and sharper detail with cinematic surround sound, with this Sony DAVTZ140 Home Cinema System. This 5.1 system upscales Standard Definition DVDs closer to High Definition, giving you a brand new viewing experience that you will love.</p><ul><li>Playback compatibility:, DVD.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>5.1 channel audio output.</li><li>Dolby decoding.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 HDMI port.</li><li>1 USB port.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required 2 x AA (included) .</li><li>Size H5.6, W34, D32.5cm.</li><li>Weight 2.1kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>Home cinema system features:</p><ul><li>5.1 system.</li><li>300 watts total power output.</li><li>Subwoofer 50 watts.</li><li>Centre speaker 50 watts.</li><li>4 satellite speakers, 50 watts each.</li><li>Radio tuner with (antenna included).</li><li>Dolby Pro Logic II decoding.</li><li>Size of centre speaker H11.9, W8.3, D10cm.</li><li>Size of each satellite speaker H11.9, W8.3, D10cm.</li><li>Size of each smallboy satellite speaker H11.9, W8.3, D10cm.</li><li>Size of subwoofer H31.5, W16, D29.5cm.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4905524822571</p>
Overall rating:
3.571 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
10 of 1471%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 17 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Review 1 for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No audio jack on DVD player?
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Dannyboy
From:Essex
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"As a result of Sony saving themselves about 5p, we can not get the TV or digital box sound through the system. Only DVD's can be listened to from the speaker system!
Sony and Argos should know better! Very POOR"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost five stars
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Royston Canary
From:Herfordshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Purchased this product to replace an old system. Very pleased in general and the DVD player itself is much smaller and more compact than the previous version.
Sound is very good especially at higher levels although can be slightly muffled at lower volumes.
Fairly easy to set-up but my only criticism is that the speaker cables are a bit short. I have an average sized room but had to extend the cables for three out of the five speakers. If not for that it would have got 5 stars.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Be careful buying this product
Posted28 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Samanne
From:Antrim
Age:65 or over
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"This system is advertised as Home Cinema Surround Sound.
If you have anything else apart from the TV attached to it i.e. a Skybox, it isn't because it doesn't have an Optical port."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sony DAVTZ140 300W 5.1 DVD Home Cinema System
Posted25 September 2013
Customer avatar
By DarloAde
From:Darlington
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"I wanted a budget start to home cinema and 'cos I have a Sony Bravia TV I chose this.In spite of the fact that no batteries/HDMI cable are included,despite the advert,it's a simple unit to install and cable lengths reflect speaker positions!.At present the system is only working on DVD playback but should adapt to constant use.Overall sound is very good,particularly from the front speakers but the back speakers are a bit quiet and only really kick in at higher volumes.Overall,I would recommend!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lacking ports
Posted18 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Alex
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"Very disappointed to find that the only input for external devices is a old fashioned analogue red/white stereo input. No multiple input, no digital input for sky/tivo. So it is limited only to producing decent sound from a DVD."
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Posted17 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Mamta
From:London
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"This product is not really sounds well."
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
Philips HTD5540 5.1 1000W DVD Home Cinema with HD Upscaling.
4.1 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound System
Posted15 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Perfect
Age:55 to 64
"Worth the money !
From a Scotsman !
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Buy
Posted02 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Nigel j
From:West Sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Ideal for the everyday use etc, very good for the price and easy to set up."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value, does what it says on the box
Posted16 April 2013
Customer avatar
By kimi
From:sussex
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"This was a good purchase. My only problem was not with the system but my TV which is a few years old now and one of the earlier HD TV's. If you have Sky you need two HDMI inputs on your TV. One for Sky and one for this system. My TV only had one but you can buy an adapter from ASDA !!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
not bad at all
Posted14 November 2012
Customer avatar
By yvonne
From:Derbyshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"not bad at all needs more a u x inputs.Sound quolaty good."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted24 October 2012
Customer avatar
By joan
From:Lanashire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Overall,good value for the price.Sound quality very good,would recommend this item."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pleased with pruduct
Posted31 July 2012
Customer avatar
By marion
From:london
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Really good sound and easy to set up. Only down side is that you have buy cables"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Sony DAVTZ140 DVD Home Cinema System.
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product