Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.

<p>Watch your old favourites in clearer and sharper detail with cinematic surround sound, with this Sony DAVTZ140 Home Cinema System. This 5.1 system upscales Standard Definition DVDs closer to High Definition, giving you a brand new viewing experience that you will love.</p><ul><li>Playback compatibility:, DVD.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>5.1 channel audio output.</li><li>Dolby decoding.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 HDMI port.</li><li>1 USB port.</li></ul><p>Additional information:</p><ul><li>Remote control batteries required 2 x AA (included) .</li><li>Size H5.6, W34, D32.5cm.</li><li>Weight 2.1kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Standby power consumption 0.5 watt.</li></ul><p>Home cinema system features:</p><ul><li>5.1 system.</li><li>300 watts total power output.</li><li>Subwoofer 50 watts.</li><li>Centre speaker 50 watts.</li><li>4 satellite speakers, 50 watts each.</li><li>Radio tuner with (antenna included).</li><li>Dolby Pro Logic II decoding.</li><li>Size of centre speaker H11.9, W8.3, D10cm.</li><li>Size of each satellite speaker H11.9, W8.3, D10cm.</li><li>Size of each smallboy satellite speaker H11.9, W8.3, D10cm.</li><li>Size of subwoofer H31.5, W16, D29.5cm.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4905524822571</p>
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
17 of 2665%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 24 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Review 1 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sony surround sound system
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Andypuddin
From:Hyde, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Poor connectivity (no optical) other than that sounds good "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Shorter cables!!
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Thundermoor
From:Mercia
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Having had a fault with a previous Sony system I chose a 2nd Sony system.
Only one thing, L/R surround speaker cables are >shorter< and unable to
reach. Sony (UK) don't want to know.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very noisy
Posted04 March 2015
Customer avatar
By norahs7
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" We bought this unit and ended up taking it back for a refund. Was faulty or just shoddy quality. We had to have the volume set at 24 just so we could hear the movie over the whirring of the disc drive. Made quiet movies impossible. A real disappointment expected so much more of a Sony product "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant All Round Product
Posted04 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Nathan
From:Pensby, Birkenhead, Wirral, Merseyside CH61, UK
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is such a good product and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to buy a new home cinema system. The customer reviews about this product I found to be wrong. I'm glad I bought this products "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this product is what it says on the tin (box) .
Posted25 February 2015
Customer avatar
By faz
From:Birmingham
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This product is good for the size of the speakers. Good quality for price. However the speakers only go into dvd player as they are bare wire ends. To put speakers threw to any amp or receiver may struggle with subwoofer as the ends of speaker is bare wire and not a jack plug. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great price
Posted18 February 2015
Customer avatar
By mojo
From:Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" looks good/sounds ok/connected to sky and got sky sound through dvd speakers so we got surround sound for sky digital./easy set up/speakers and dvd player nice style/it was great for what we wanted. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted31 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Weezey
From:Stamford,
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" I purchased this not expecting to much because of the price but because it's Sony I expected it to be good.. Set up and everything is fine but when playing a dvd you can hear it spinning over the sound.. Took it back and got a replacement and thus was just as bad.. Have now taken the second one back and replaced with lg and that's perfect. Very let done by Sony and I am surprised they put their name to this product.... "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sony home cinema
Posted09 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Jarek
From:Selby
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" It's good quality product easy to use. I'm really happy with that but I expected more power, it is 300W and in my opinion sounds less then that power.
Regards
Jarek
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value. Good sound
Posted07 January 2015
Customer avatar
By thessc
From:North Yorkshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good value unit. Works very well with Sony TV. Most controls can be done from the TV remote and sound switches automatically. DVD player good too. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed !
Posted28 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Dogbreath_60
From:Merseyside, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Like others that had reviewed this product, I was also very disappointed to find that I can only get true "surround" sound when playing a DVD through it and why did Sony decide not to put an eject button on the remote???
The sound quality is OK but the DVD player is VERY noisy. Eventually it decided to stop recognising ANY of my DVDs !! It will be going back to Comet for a replacement (and it won't be another one of these !!) "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic sound quality
Posted25 November 2014
Customer avatar
By davyk77
From:Blyth
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Good sound and looking system. Excellent value for money "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No audio jack on DVD player?
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Dannyboy
From:Essex
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" As a result of Sony saving themselves about 5p, we can not get the TV or digital box sound through the system. Only DVD's can be listened to from the speaker system!
Sony and Argos should know better! Very POOR "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost five stars
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Royston Canary
From:Herfordshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Purchased this product to replace an old system. Very pleased in general and the DVD player itself is much smaller and more compact than the previous version.
Sound is very good especially at higher levels although can be slightly muffled at lower volumes.
Fairly easy to set-up but my only criticism is that the speaker cables are a bit short. I have an average sized room but had to extend the cables for three out of the five speakers. If not for that it would have got 5 stars.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Be careful buying this product
Posted28 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Samanne
From:Antrim
Age:65 or over
Sound Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" This system is advertised as Home Cinema Surround Sound.
If you have anything else apart from the TV attached to it i.e. a Skybox, it isn't because it doesn't have an Optical port. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sony DAVTZ140 300W 5.1 DVD Home Cinema System
Posted25 September 2013
Customer avatar
By DarloAde
From:Darlington
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" I wanted a budget start to home cinema and 'cos I have a Sony Bravia TV I chose this.In spite of the fact that no batteries/HDMI cable are included,despite the advert,it's a simple unit to install and cable lengths reflect speaker positions!.At present the system is only working on DVD playback but should adapt to constant use.Overall sound is very good,particularly from the front speakers but the back speakers are a bit quiet and only really kick in at higher volumes.Overall,I would recommend! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lacking ports
Posted18 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Alex
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
" Very disappointed to find that the only input for external devices is a old fashioned analogue red/white stereo input. No multiple input, no digital input for sky/tivo. So it is limited only to producing decent sound from a DVD. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Posted17 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Mamta
From:London
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" This product is not really sounds well. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
Philips HTD5540 5.1 1000W DVD Home Cinema with HD Upscaling.
4.1 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound System
Posted15 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Perfect
Age:55 to 64
" Worth the money !
From a Scotsman !
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Buy
Posted02 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Nigel j
From:West Sussex
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" Ideal for the everyday use etc, very good for the price and easy to set up. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony DAVTZ140 300W DVD Home Cinema System.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value, does what it says on the box
Posted16 April 2013
Customer avatar
By kimi
From:sussex
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" This was a good purchase. My only problem was not with the system but my TV which is a few years old now and one of the earlier HD TV's. If you have Sky you need two HDMI inputs on your TV. One for Sky and one for this system. My TV only had one but you can buy an adapter from ASDA !! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>