Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple

<p>The purple coated Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGEAR Vibe MP4 player is easy and intuitive in use. It allows folder view to organise and view media files as you do on your PC. The soft and smooth finish gives comfort and easy handling. You can charge 90 minutes of play in just 5 minutes. </p><ul><li>Like music for playlists of songs that sound great together. Folder view to organise and view media files as you do on your PC.</li><li>8GB memory.</li><li>1.8 inch screen.</li><li>20 hours battery life and up to 4 hours video playback.</li><li>LCD/LED display.</li><li>HD video playback.</li><li>Stores up to 1800 songs and 0 photos.</li><li>0 preset station - allows you to save your favourite radio stations in memory.</li><li>USB port - USB cable supplied.</li><li>Includes earbuds.</li></ul><p>General information</p><ul><li>Weight 33g.</li><li>Size H8, W4.5, D1cm.</li><li>Rechargeable built-in battery.</li><li>EAN: 8712581654863.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
3.957 / 5
4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 140 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
5
1 Star
16
111 of 14079%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
72 Questions | 78 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Review 1 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
very disappointed
Posted26 May 2015
Customer avatar
By SueO
From:Derbyshire, UK
Use:Downloading/listening to music
Reason for purchase:Planned purchase
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" No matter what I tried I could not get music or photos to play on this consistently. All downloaded in the same format some played some wouldn't and it said file format not supported and froze the player so I had to switch it off and on again. It wouldn't even play some pre loaded stuff. Yes I did try downloading the Philips software and this is not my 1st mp3 player its going back tomorrow!!! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted03 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Mark
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Use:Downloading/listening to music
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" very easy to use and load with music. just struggle to read the screen. but that could have something to do with my eyesight. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phillips Go Gear Vibe - Keep it Songbirdless
Posted24 June 2015
Customer avatar
By Mark 62
From:London, UK
Use:Downloading/listening to music
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The deivice itself is okay - good battery life and reasonable sound quality. It is easy to use when driving, if you have it fixed to something and the display is clear and large enough to use at a glance. Huge memory. DO NOT attempt to download or install the "Songbird" software on your laptop or PC, manage your music as though this was a USB memory stick and you will be okay. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice and easy.
Posted23 June 2015
Customer avatar
By rambo61
From:Staffordshire
Use:Downloading/listening to music
Reason for purchase:Gift
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Being a bit of a technophobe I was worried I wouldn't know how to use an mp4..how wrong. I now have 40 cds loaded on to it and it's the only method of listening to music in the car I use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
a load of rubbish
Posted21 June 2015
Customer avatar
By theboy
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery life 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" This mp3 player is ment to be plug and play,no it isnt.you plug it into your pc.yep did that.creare a play list.yep did that.sync files.yep did that.use mp3 player to listen to music ,noop nothing happened just told me file format not found.it maybe because it isnt compatable with windows 7 64 bit system using media player 11,but why say it is on Q & a.will be going back "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a sound product !!
Posted10 June 2015
Customer avatar
By TAZ
From:South Yorkshire, UK
Use:Downloading/listening to music
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The player it's self is good, easy to set up, and easy to use, But don't believe all you read in the leaflet that comes with it.
You don't need song-bird player, it will load fine from windows media player 11, and Farley fast quick too.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted03 June 2015
Customer avatar
By Bill1947
From:Denbighshire
Use:Downloading/listening to music
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Product was easy to set up. Sound quality was very good "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gave up the ghost!!
Posted26 May 2015
Customer avatar
By Harry
From:England
Use:Downloading/listening to music
Reason for purchase:Replacing an existing product
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Worked wonderfully for two days then suddenly cut out. Would not turn on nor would it operate even when plugged into the USB port on my comp. Obviously a mega fault. Returned for refund without problems. First ever prob with Philips and considering I lived in the Netherlands for 11 years I recommend Philips. Just got a bad item this time. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
not as good as the raga but still good
Posted31 March 2015
Customer avatar
By bubb
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" sound quality is good even with the headphones provided but the volume protection that you cant turn off on bugs you every time you try to turn it up over 12 as you have to click on yes to do
battery life lasts about 16-18 hours
it takes about an hour per 100 songs to add to the GoGear from the songbird software but its quicker from windows media player "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it! Great for spoken word audio.
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Sue753
From:Hampshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I wanted this player to listen to spoken word recordings rather than music. This player fits the bill just right - as I can transfer folders from my pc and the player recognises them and their contents without the need for downloading specific software. It also means that I just get the tracks I want on the player - rather than loads of unwanted ones that are synced behind the scenes. I was hearing some buzzing to begin with - but I turned off one of the audio settings and that did the trick. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sound for bargain price
Posted16 April 2015
Customer avatar
By lollypop
From:Cardiff, Cardiff, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this as a present for my husband. He really likes it. Did replace the headphones with better ones though as originals not too good sound. My hubby takes it with him on long runs as well as using it everyday and claims it is ideal. However, he is having trouble with the "create playlist" option. It doesn't work well. he likes classical music. The player arranged the movements alphabetically/out of sequence. Still, all things considered this is a robust device and very goog value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good Machine, Terrible Software
Posted28 February 2015
Customer avatar
By Gem
From:Edinburgh
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I like the MP4 player, but Songbird is a nightmare!
Apparently Philips stopped developing it in 2013 so none of the links to it work anymore. When I eventually did manage to download it, half of the features don't work anymore. I had to manually enter all of the info (Artist, Album name, Song Title etc.) from the CDs I ripped until I gave up.
It's a shame, but this has really put me off the whole lot... "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A worthy upgrade from my old Go Gear player
Posted08 April 2015
Customer avatar
By thesnail
From:United Kingdom.
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I have had a Philips Go Gear MP3 player for a number of years and found it an excellent and reliable model. I wanted to upgrade, and find that this new version is just as fine a player. It has everything I need from and MP3 player, and with the larger screen, is easy to read and navigate. It is also fully compatible with Media Player. The only niggle I have with this is that when you try to put up the volume, it tells you off. But this is is easily over ridden. I can recommend it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MP3 Player
Posted07 April 2015
Customer avatar
By jonniemarsbar
From:Derbyshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Everything an MP3 player should be, well done Philips "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted01 April 2015
Customer avatar
By scooby
Age:45 to 54
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great product. Good sound, and easy to load. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Died after about 4 weeks
Posted03 February 2015
Customer avatar
By SallySmurf
From:Cardiff, Cardiff, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I don't normally write these reviews but a reminder popped up from Argos today and ironically the product died this morning, about a month after my purchasing it.
I'll be taking it back tomorrow and won't be replacing it with the same model. This has been a waste of time and money for me.
The ratings that I've given seem contradictory but the truth is for the four weeks that it worked I was pleased with the product. The one star reflects my mood right now I guess. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Surprisingly good
Posted19 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Stogie100
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Was looking for a FLAC-format music player, didn't find one, gave up and bought this instead. Surprisingly, it does support FLAC files, after all, although it isn't mentioned anywhere.
Negatives:
• GUI's a bit weak, I needed to edit the file properties to get them to show properly and play in the right order (essential for audiobooks).
• Doesn't like users turning the volume up, annoyingly asks confirmation every time.
Positives:
• Everything else. It's a good bit of kit and I'm happy. :)
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality product
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Jeannie
From:Northumberland
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Smart looking, easy to set up and use. Good value product "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Nice Little Number
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Ian
From:U.K.
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Very few keys to press which are difficult to see in low light. Everything is menu driven but once sussed is very easy to use. Take care during your choices during initial set up and it'll be a breeze to use. Otherwise you find yourself going back into set up after a few uses (I did!).
I find that this is a great little player.
Sound probably just above average but a wee bit on the base side although that might just be my hearing - I'm in my 60's.
Lightweight and good value for the money.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips SA4VBE08VN/12 GoGear VIBE 8GB MP3/MP4 Player -Purple
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's Ok
Posted10 March 2015
Customer avatar
By senney
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" It's not that easy to use. It's difficult to put in playlists. But it's ok in general. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next >>>