Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black

<p>Offering easy transfer of your music content from Windows Explorer or iTunes, this Sony E series walkman has a super slim design and generates superior sound and rich bass to enhance your entertainment. Finished in black, the walkman includes a 'sensme' function that automatically picks up songs to fit the themes of channels whilst also offering video playback. </p><ul><li>8GB memory.</li><li>2 inch screen.</li><li>36 hours battery life and up to 6 hours video playback.</li><li>LCD/LED display.</li><li>Stores up to 1800 songs.</li><li>Built-in microphone.</li><li>FM tuner.</li><li>Voice recording.</li><li>Flash drive.</li><li>USB port - USB cable supplied.</li><li>Includes headphones, USB cable and quick start guide.</li></ul><p>General information</p><ul><li>Weight 58g.</li><li>Size H10, W4.5cm.</li><li>Rechargeable built-in battery.</li><li>EAN/MPN/UPC/ISBN: 4905524867343.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.55 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
18 of 2090%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Review 1 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Efficient & value for money.
Posted14 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Moonglow
From:East Cornwall.o
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Attractive case with good sound & a reasonable price. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just The Job
Posted13 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Mackie13
From:Chorley, Lancashire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Bought this for the holidays, what a great piece of kit. Found it simple to use and very easy to set up and down load cds onto it, screen and controls very clear. Excellent purchase and value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for my needs
Posted30 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Dennis
From:England
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" I am very pleased with this product, it looks good and the sound effects are perfect, I would give this a big yes to buy "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SONY E series 8GB
Posted30 July 2013
Customer avatar
By oc gian
From:London, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" Great product. a serious competitor to the Ipod Nano at a fraction of the cost. Sound quality is superb. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A nice example of fine audio engineering
Posted11 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Ulysses
From:Midlothian, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" I only became aware of my need for an MP3 player when I joined a local gym as I found that the provided music is that of a local commercial radio and its non-stop chatter and music drives me up the wall - Aaaargh! I can now torture myself to the strains of e.g., Bach's Brandenburg Concertos or (Messrs) Dire Straits, U2 etc. The Sony E series has a good colour display making it easy to work, produces a wonderful sound with a good range of volume and is a drop dead gorgeous piece of technology. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sony mp3 / video / radio 8gb nwz-e474
Posted01 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Lime24
From:Oban
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" I researched this player before I purchased it and I am very happy indeed with it. I had wanted 8gb as my old Sony mp3 only had 2gb and was full. This has an FM radio which is useful, you have video and podcast files and of course music files and and when you play the music you have plenty of options for sound preferences and scrolling through is fun as you press the dial and watch the cd cover pictures move at any angle up or down for you to see them. I would just say though that it does not play all video files, I downloaded several music videos in m4v but it will not play, so mp4 is main choice. The earphones are good and fit well but you may find it best for noisy places, if you buy JVC Gummy earphones from Argos as they cut out more background sounds, so you hear your music much clearer. Well worth the extra money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SONY WALKMAN
Posted28 May 2013
Customer avatar
By BYTE123
From:DAGENHAM
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" IT IS A VERY GOOD PRODUCT I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE AS I AM HAPPY WITH IT. IT IS SOEASY TO USE "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
easy to use
Posted30 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Dawn
From:Wrexham
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" My husband likes things straight forward and simple, this fits the bill!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not good for podcasts, controls fiddly
Posted08 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Andropaws
From:Berkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" I use the device for listening to radio podcasts. Quite often when on the move, you don't finish listening to the the 30' podcast, and need to continue listening from where you left off, say 20' into a 30' podcast. It appears to be impossible to do this, even in any kind of 'study' or 'replay' mode , you have to start again from the beginning. The controls are arranged in two concentric circles, and it's easy to hit the wrong button; I found it frustrating and fiddly. The MediaGo Software for transferring files is slow and clunky. Just do it direct from My Computer. Anything you've finished with and no longer need has to be deleted with the device connected to the computer. You can't delete from the device. Otherwise sound quality and headphones are good. I definitely would not have bought this device had I know about these several disadvantages. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant
Posted07 February 2013
Customer avatar
By colin
From:wilts
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" excellent, what I would expect from sony,and tops service from everyone thanks "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted17 January 2013
Customer avatar
By slim
From:Merseyside
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" I bought this for a friend "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend
Posted17 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Julie
From:Cambs
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Bought as present - they are happy with it. Slight problem with on/off button it's very sensitive and so care must be taken when putting it away, but it does have some sort of lock I think. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sony Walkman
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By skint-eastwood
From:North Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" I have had over the last 20 years a number of differnt makes walkmans, This one is light, easy set up, and easy navigation, for the price is good value for money, my only complaint, is it starts up without nowing, simply by putting it in your pocket can start it up, so at times I have wanted to listen and found the battery flat, but other than that no problems. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By liz.
From:somerset
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" I purchased this for my husband. So far he is still
discovering just what he can and can not do with
it , but he seems very happy and it keeps him busy. I think he will enjoy it when we are away on holiday !
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does everything the ad says
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By linda
From:Greater Manchester
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" Really pleased with walkman. Fab sound. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very cute
Posted15 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Nicky
From:Leeds
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Bought as a Christmas present for someone who doesn't like Apple products - he thinks it's great! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome
Posted13 November 2012
Customer avatar
By tartanpjs
From:carlisle
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" great mp3 alot cheaper than ipods, well impressed however earphones are not very good loads of space with 8gb very nifty "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value for money
Posted30 October 2012
Customer avatar
By Edward
From:Berkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very good in all areas. My only slight problem has been that the on/off button is very sensitive and so care must be taken when putting it away in a sports bag that it does not get turned on again by mistake.when it rubs up against other items. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic MP3 player for the price
Posted24 October 2012
Customer avatar
By Keith
From:Cardiff
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought this as an upgrade for my 8 year old (and practically dying) MP3 player. Really impressed with how easy to use it is, especially considering I had an older model Sony player anyway, and the flexibility to use whatever Media program you want to transfer files to the player is great! Well recommended! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony E Series 8GB MP3 Player with Video - Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not bad for its price
Posted22 August 2012
Customer avatar
By Lupi
From:Kent
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" I bought this after my previous Sony Walkman expired after only four years of ownership.
I didn't want an iPod and this was the only decent sized mp3 player I could find at a reasonable price. The case itself is not as well made as the previous one, it feels a little flimsy, but other than that it plays well.
The 8Gg memory is actually a few Mb under 7Gg, so it's a little misleading there.
Plus points are that is has an FM radio (although with the doing away of FM, that will become obsolete). It has a handy alarm/sleep timer. I use it mainly for listening to audio books in bed, so by setting the timer you can easily pick up where you left off the previous night.
The ear buds that come with it are nasty and best thrown away and replaced with JVC Gummi ear buds, which sit nicely in your ears and last forever. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
30of 38voted this as helpful.