Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.

<p>Feel closer to the planets with this Discovery Channel compact telescope for curious minds. Take in the wonderful craters of the moon, Jupiter's major moons and many other beautiful galaxies, stunning star clusters and dazzling nebulae.</p><p>View the moon and other planets and stars with this 30-60X magnification telescope.</p><p>Includes 2 eyepieces (16.6mm and 8.3mm)</p><p>Aluminium tripod</p><p>Erector lens, diagonal mirror</p><ul><li>Size H17.5, W60.5cm.</li><li>For ages 8 years and over.</li><li>EAN: 5060062142488.</li></ul><p>WARNING(S):</p><ul><li>Not suitable for children under 3 years old.</li><li>Only for domestic use.</li><li>To be used under the direct supervision of an adult.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
12 of 2157%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Review 1 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great
Posted16 July 2015
Customer avatar
By Kay
From:Leven, Fife, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Creativity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Perfect for enhancing curiosity in children "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for star gazing for young and old
Posted16 April 2015
Customer avatar
By Barbara05
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Creativity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Needs adult supervision "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice starter telescope
Posted17 March 2015
Customer avatar
By Elpedlse
From:Wiltshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Creativity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" For the money this is a very nice peice of kit, better quality than I expected and easy to assemble.
After reading some of the reviews I was concerned about this but when used in the correct way, I have one happy 8yr old.
Remember you get what you pay for and its a nice introduction into star gazing .
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value for money
Posted02 March 2015
Customer avatar
By clare34
From:London, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Creativity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this for my son, and he is really enjoying it! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
telescope.
Posted04 February 2015
Customer avatar
By arabrab
From:chesh
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Creativity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" My grandson loves looking at the star's clouds ect.getting a lot of information which will help in his life. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Do not buy
Posted23 January 2015
Customer avatar
By jaicjai
From:london
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" Brought for my 5 year old for Christmas. Does not work at night so is only for looking at views of countryside during day. Very disappointed as brought so she could look at stars! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
well detailed for the price and impressive appeara
Posted22 January 2015
Customer avatar
By binsey
From:London, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Bought this for a teenager with great imagination. Great choice of gift. He was very happy with my choice of present. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Telescope
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By Jo12
From:Buckinghamshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Creativity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" For a first ever telescope for my grandson . It's easy to use and great fun for star gazing "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By sarah
From:Waterlooville
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Received free product:Yes
Creativity 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" It dose not work have tried to use it but can not even see a star "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality can't see out of it
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Lesley
From:Peterlee, County Durham, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Creativity 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Taking it back for a refund, bought for grandson who is 8 and I'm 46 and couldn't see properly out of it. Would never pay full price for it "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Awooga
From:Uk
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Creativity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought as a gift for 8 year old. Tripod stand is far too short - when you angle the telescope the eye piece is at ground level. Reflections within the tube mean you see three objects. Still not bad for the price "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Telescope
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By Swansea girl
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Creativity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Bought this as a Christmas present for my nephew, he was so excited. However this telescope was such a let down we could see the stars better without it so it is being returned. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Doesn't work
Posted04 February 2014
Customer avatar
By red-army
From:Hampshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Creativity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Brought for my daughter for her birthday who was very excited to use it. However after setting it up and looking at stars on a clear night, all you see is absolutely nothing but black! Doesn't focus just blurry (daytime) Daughter disappointed, going to dig out receipt and return! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted28 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Mark
From:Dereham
Age:25 to 34
Creativity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Excellent product, on first impressions looks a little bit flimsy but when secured to hinges does the job perfectly. Would be ideal for keeping children away from certain ares but in my case "Puppy I win!!!!" "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not that great
Posted23 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Miss T.....
From:north london
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" its not very focused, its powerful but not focused so we returned it "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kyle's telescope
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Rambo
From:Nottingham, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" When I gave it to my 5yr old great grandson xmas day, & asked him what he was going to do with it. I was astounded when he replied he was going to look at the stars. He has been doing just that every night since. Best thing I ever gave him. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
awful product wouldn't bother with it .
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By janr1634
From:Wales, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
" waste of space.all blurry couldn't see anything.toke it back for a refund "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ok, but more of a child's toy
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Pj74
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" Can't really see anything with this if I'm honest, maybe just weather but if you're looking for an item to see the stars & planets rather than next doors trees than maybe spend a bit more! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Starter Telescope
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Lynniemonkey
From:Birmingham UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" This a great telescope if your children have started to take an interest in astronomy. Very sturdy and easy to put together. I purchased it at half price, and although states for age 8 plus my son is younger but is still having great fun with it and something we can do together. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Discovery Channel 50mm Astronomical Telescope.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
inpressed
Posted23 October 2013
Customer avatar
By nannan
From:wilts
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" liked this my grandson loved it so very happy. Did as it said . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
31of 40voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>