Top-rated product

Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.

<p>The dynamic bass boost and stereo speakers give the Phillips AZ1058 CD player a solid, reliable sound quality that brings to life your favourite music. The option to power by batteries makes this versatile CD player perfect in the house or on the go.</p><ul><li>FM tuner.</li><li>Stereo speakers generating 2 watts RMS - the average measurement of the speakers output.</li></ul><p>General information</p><ul><li>Size H13, W27, D25cm.</li><li>Mains operated or batteries required 6 x C (not included).</li><li>EAN: 871258165965 3.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.441 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
53 of 5990%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Review 1 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent product
Posted26 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Rob
From:South Croydon
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Having bought a Bush CD MP3 player which I found drove me mad with the stupid design of the mode selection, I returned it and bought this PHILIPS model. Wonderful. Simple straightforward operation and lovely clear readout. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted25 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Dogbreath14
From:Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" this item was a gift but the recipient was very happy with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good little deal
Posted23 November 2014
Customer avatar
By tanya
From:staffordshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" good value,looks nice,lightweight with good sound quality...perfect "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy
Posted19 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Bizzy Lizzy
From:Sligo
Age:35 to 44
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought for a gift & receivers are very happy. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent value!
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By Burt
From:Warwickshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Really pleased with this and its features and a great price too! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little CD player.
Posted05 November 2014
Customer avatar
By TJB
From:West Sussex, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Could only be improved by a headphone jack and a handle that hinged, this one is fixed at the back. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boom Box
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By cleuney
From:herts
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this for using at a party where there was no mains electric.
For the price the sound quality and volume was excellent.
Thoroughly recommended.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good size, good sound.
Posted21 October 2014
Customer avatar
By Liza Jane
From:Wantage, Oxfordshire OX12, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" A neat radio/CD player, which we bought for my 11yr old granddaughter. It's a lovely red colour, easy to use, a neat size and with very good sound for its sound. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted26 August 2014
Customer avatar
By nic
From:Nottinghamshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" abit smaller than I thought but apart from that its good! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philips Boombox with CD Player
Posted14 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Scooby Doo
From:Bolton, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product looks like it will be heavy but it is extremely light, easy to set up and the sound quality excellent for a small product. Sounds like you have a large stereo playing. A great value product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovely old fashioned knobs and buttons
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By pinky
From:finchley
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" So easy to use. A large knob you actually turn round to tune in the radio and another large knob you turn to increase the sound. A little button on the side that you slide across to determine whether you want the radio or to play a CD, etc. So simple, love it, good sound too in my opinion, smart and neat-looking. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great item
Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
By Kath
From:West Yorkshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Neat and compact with good sound for its size. Radio programmes can't be preselected but for the money it is fine "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Philips Boombox CD Player
Posted24 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Lady Stratton
From:Wiltshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" This product is a good all round piece of equipment. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple, Great style "cool"
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Jackie - Busy Mum
From:Staffordshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" great product, brought for my sons 5th birthday to play his cd's. as the boys said its "cool and bright red" and works :0) Happy days "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By andy
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" bought for my wife to replace older broken cd player. she was immediately impressed with its futuristic look,(it also happened to blend with our new look kitchen). ease of use.
good sound quality. good price. as yet cannot knock it and would recommend.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Argos is an excellent way to buy
Posted29 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Young at heart
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
" Good to reserve this item and then go to local shop to collect.
A birthday present happily received. Hope it sounds as good as it looks, don't know yet.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
temple of sound
Posted11 September 2014
Customer avatar
By cocko
From:Lusk, Co. Dublin, Ireland
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
2 / 5
2 / 5
" class service great product quality thank u "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product doesn't support the use of headphones
Posted10 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Helen
From:Ayrshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought this boombox for my grandson's fifth birthday. I also purchased a set of headphones to allow him to enjoy his music without sharing it with the rest of us. Unfortunately this product does not have a jack for plugging in headphones. It only has an input for use with an ipod etc. Slightly disappointed but admittedly didn't check it out fully before purchasing. Don't buy this if you want to keep your music to yourself! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Straightforward stereo
Posted10 September 2014
Customer avatar
By ZM
From:Surrey
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This was a gift for my six year old. He is thrilled with it. Very easy to use, light and robust. He thinks it is really loud at full volume - it isn't! But sound is punchy and of good quality. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Boombox with CD Player - Black.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXCELLENT
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By Mystical
From:Kent, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use/set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Brought this for the base boost and it is perfect. just what i wanted. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>