Top-rated product

Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.

<p>Completely redesigning the internal design architecture, the internal volume and weight of the new PS3 is reduced by more than half compared to the very first PS3 model with a 60GB HDD, and by 20% and 25% respectively compared to the current PS3. </p><ul><li>What the console now lacks in size, it makes up for in entertainment offerings across film, catch up TV services, music and of course, video gaming the whole family can enjoy. </li><li>With the extra HDD capacity which has been extended from 320GB and 160GB, users can store and enjoy more and more entertainment content including games, music, photos, and video on the new PS3.</li><li>By adopting a sliding disk cover, the new PS3 continues with the characteristic sleek curved simple body design, which fits various places in the home and enables users to enjoy an array of entertainment content.</li><li>500 GB hard drive to play games, watch movies and music.</li><li>Built-in Blu-ray disc drive.</li></ul><p>Included:</p><ul><li>1 wireless controller.</li><li>AC power cord.</li><li>AV cable.</li><li>USB cable.</li><li>EAN: 0711719218029.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
23 of 2688%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 18 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Review 1 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great features
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Jeanie
From:Reading, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this for my son and he was very happy!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Console is good value
Posted19 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Davey48
From:Middlesex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I have not owned a PlayStation console since The original one some years ago now and purchased this on a whim.
I was not disappointed, It is far more than just a games console and I was pleasantly surprised by the added features of it's ability to store pictures, music and access to Now Tv, bbc iplayer itv on demand ect.. so it has in effect upgraded my TV to an almost smart Tv status,
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Price
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By NickyB
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Having shopped around Argos had one of the best deals with the best price. What was even better was being able to purchase it on my Argos card and have it on interest free credit. Having reserved it I was there when the store opened and had one very happy boy when I got home as our 6 year old PS3 stopped reading discs at the weekend ! Thank you Argos !"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted20 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Rey
From:London, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"well worth buying with loads of space for storage"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PS3 slim console
Posted05 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Ali
From:London, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The console is a bit delicate that's the only bad thing about it, other wise it's perfect."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXCELLENT SERVICE
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By angyb
From:ELY cambs.
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"we were looking to get a PS3 and Argos offered the best deal with a free game.
Great graphics.make sure you get a second hdmi cable if you are using sky as you definitely need this.
Access to tv programmes and the internet.
Reccomend this product.definitely worth forking out for the extra mbs.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Upgrade my PS3
Posted01 October 2013
Customer avatar
By FILTHY ROCKER
From:Ayr
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
"Had been meaning to get a newer model with bigger memory for a while now great system loads of memory now really happy."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Watching TV Media
Posted03 September 2013
Customer avatar
By Wozza
From:Cheshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"The whole family is now PS3 mad and I don't mean playing games! I bought this as a birthday treat for myself as our old Toshiba media thing broke down.
I know there's a ton of other stuff it can do which I'll get round to trying out eventually, played Grand Turismo for about half an hour last month which was cool.
The PS3 gets used everyday by my wife, my daughter and myself watching Netflix, BBC iPlayer, 4OD, ITV Player and YouTube. I even bought the remote control for it which is great!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
20of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
product worth the money
Posted13 August 2013
Customer avatar
By mags
From:england
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"present for my gandson he was thrilled with it"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
19of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fab!
Posted13 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Crazy k
From:Newcastle upon Tyne
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Great bargain from argos included offer with product which is even better!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
19of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Rubbish
Posted06 August 2013
Customer avatar
By Mizzytate
From:Milton Keynes, UK
Age:17 or under
Gender:Female
"I cant believe how bad this is , i brought this for my birthday a little while back , and to be honest Xbox is ALOT better , i would suggest getting an Xbox instead of PS3 hope this helps :)"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-153points
8of 169voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many Thanks
Posted23 July 2013
Customer avatar
By N.Said.
From:Splott , Cardiff.
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Great item. easy to set up."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PS3
Posted18 July 2013
Customer avatar
By jan
From:Lancashire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Great Console, well worth the money and easy to use."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great choice
Posted17 July 2013
Customer avatar
By jack69
From:wigan
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Bought. As a bundle great value great piece of kit cheers argos"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Customer
Posted26 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Mike
"PS3 is brilliant, very fast, looks nice and slim and has all the memory i could want
Really happy with it
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ps3
Posted05 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Shaun
From:Larne
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
"Brilliant value and perfect storage for all my games and DLC"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great service
Posted29 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
From:Epsom
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"Really friendly & helpful staff, most impressed. First purchase from Argos, would happily go back."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Greatness Awaits
Posted22 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Anon
From:Lancashire
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
"My fat 80gb PS3 lasted me 3 years before it got the dreaded Yellow Light of Death.
When I first got the Super Slim PS3 out of its box, I had never seen one in person before and was surprised at how light, small and portable this was in comparison to the older model I owned.
500gb is definitely sufficient, even if you're a casual gamer, owning no more than 10 PS3 games, as a lot of space is taken up when installing games and downloading updates.
The console is noisiest during loading screens on a game or loading up anything else in general but other than that, it remains a quiet hum in the background.
One of the main concerns I have with the Super Slim PS3 is that it heats up quite quickly towards the back of the console after about an hour of playing.
I never tend to play for longer than an hour but having the console heat up like that (though it's not extremely hot) just makes me worried that this console will suffer from overheating and lead to the "Yellow Light of Death" again or something similar (which is why it's best to switch off the PS3 every hour or so to let it cool down if you're planning on gaming for hours).
Thankfully the one year warranty from Sony (that I'm assuming all PS3 consoles have) should cover anything in case something does happen to go wrong with the PS3.
Another concern is that the power cable is quite short compared to the one for my older PS3 model but this isn't too much of an issue for me as a plug socket is always in reach nearby.
The console gets 4/5 for now due to the fact that I'm unsure of how long the PS3 will last me compared to the 3 lived years of my old console."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
insert title here
Posted21 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Jest
From:England
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
"Yeah, it's pretty good."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony PS3 Super Slim Console with 500GB Hard Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Game time
Posted04 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Andy
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"Able to pick it up when kids arrived"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>