Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.

<p>The sleek and classic design of these Philips speakers make the perfect addition to any bedroom, living room or home office. With two 10 watt speakers will give your music a powerful boost.</p><ul><li>Black.</li><li>2 way tweeter and woofer.</li><li>Mylar material for a high definition sound.</li><li>Compatible with iPod, iPhone, iPad, laptop/PC and 3.5mm AUX in.</li><li>USB connection.</li><li>Easy install.</li><li>Remote control.</li><li>Volume controls.</li><li>Plug and play.</li><li>Headphone jack.</li></ul><p>Satellite speakers:</p><ul><li>2 x 10 watt satellite speakers.</li></ul><p>Centre speaker:</p><ul><li>Size H22.1, W11.6, D16cm.</li></ul><p>General information:</p>
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
14 of 1593%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Review 1 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Posted18 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Lisa
From:Birmingham
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Decided to pay a little extra for some computer speakers. Feel the sound quality was poor and cheap. I Do not recommend these."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth a buy..
Posted04 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Lew
From:Essex
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
"Worth buying for a laptop or standard PC.
Very nice look to them and materials used seem to be very good quality.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not quite up to requirements
Posted01 May 2013
Customer avatar
By Clasical music buff
From:staffordshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Well made , solid units.
Easy to connect to MP player, laptop, etc.
Sound quality excellent with a rich base.
All was looking good at home, but I also wished to use them for playing the audio, mostly classical music tracks, on illustrated talks to small groups, (WIs etc.).
I don't know if the units I received were faulty but at anything over half volume the sound distorted.
I returned them to Argos & got a refund. I will probably have to spend a little more money to achieve a small PA set up!
Do not think just because I returned them that these speakers are rubbish. They are excellent for a domestic environment .
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nothing wrong with these
Posted24 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Andy
From:Cambridgeshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Am using these at work when I fancy a bit of music to lift the old spirits - the sound is perfectly acceptable in that setting, and given the price these certainly seem good value to me."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A1
Posted23 April 2013
Customer avatar
By steve
From:abingdon
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"was a little bit sceptical about the sound quality but these are a1 quality"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Sound Purchase....
Posted23 April 2013
Customer avatar
By BR 4MT
From:Buckinghamshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"My HiFi speakers cost ten times the price of these so I wasn't expecting great sound from the SPA 7220 but when connected to my PC and having run them in for 24 hours I have to say they do their job very well. Speech is clear and crisp, whilst with music (their main purpose) ranging from baroque through folk, jazz, rock and reggae they sound clear and fulsome, even at low level listening. Just what I wanted and a HUGE improvement over the built-in speakers on my PC. Recommended."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Greta value for money speakers
Posted17 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Mark
From:Oxfordshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"These speakers are a great basic set of speakers for a laptop. They are more than powerful enough for any size room and although there is no base and treble adjustment the quality of sound is more than good enough for digitally stored music files. The auxillary plug is good for running an MP3 player through."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT SPEAKERS
Posted17 April 2013
Customer avatar
By pete
From:london
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"GOOD SOUND, VERY EASY TO SET UP AND A GOOD PRICE. EXCELLENT BUY"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Speakers corner.
Posted16 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Stephen
From:Britain
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"These are a average/good pair of speakers. In the short time that I have had them I found them to be a better speaker for movies than for music, but saying that they will fill your bedroom with a reasonable sound and at a decent bedroom volume. I would void a full volume blast as mine did distort slightly closer to the top end but at that level you may annoy your neighbours after a while anyway. They sound best around the 12 watt mark but will produce a good 15 watt output without much in the way of distortion. They have a well rounded sound but for the money you may find a stronger set."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredibly good for the price
Posted16 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Tony
From:Hants
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Firstly the size quoted by Argos is incorrect. These are small compact speakers measuring H17cm x W10cm x D10cm. The Argos quoted size is probably for the complete box containing the 2 speakers. The audio design consists of a bass/midrange unit with rolled surround and a mylar treble unit, with a rear facing port for bass reinforcement. The connections include an aux in and a headphone out on the RH speaker together with the On/Off volume control. Thanfully there are no tone controls to restrict the clarity. Finish is gloss black on the front panel and satin black for the remainder of the case. There is no red on these speakers at all so again the Argos description is misleading. In use these speakers give an amazing clarity with a controlled treble and a tight bass which is hard to believe from such small speakers. I tried Seal's "Killer", Richard Marx "Right here waiting", and Nigel Kennedy's "The four seasons" and all were reproduced with great accuracy and clarity. Volume levels are also way in advance of the competion and even at high levels the sound is clear and unstrained. Bass levels can be adjusted by moving the speakers further away from the wall to reduce bass or closer to increase. I have only one minor criticism and that is the output levels to the headphone socket are relatively low (into a pair of high quality Hi-fi headphones) requiring an advance in the volume control to get a similar output to the speakers - though this could be a safety meaasure to avoid damaging young eardrums.
Altogether a very pleasing purchase
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first class speakers
Posted09 April 2013
Customer avatar
By eho1
From:warwickshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Purchased for use with a Roberts WiFi radio which, although acceptable in volume and tone, lacked "depth and bass" - these speakers provide that missing room filling dynamic - also used with a personal cd player & a personal cassette player - excellent with both. The two speakers are joined to each other by a detachable cable and the mains supply is via a detachable transformer plug - both making the speakers easily transportable. Provided with a standard 3.5mm input cable - any connection via UBS or iphone etc would require another cable/ adaptor. Overall very pleased with these speakers."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth every penny
Posted02 April 2013
Customer avatar
By diymum
From:essex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"As there was only one review to go by at the time, even though it was a good one, I was a little apprehensive about buying especially as the cost was a bit more than I would normally want to spend. I need not have worried as these speakers are as good as the ones on my music system. They're not "tinny" at all and have great depth of sound without too much base. I would definately recommend as you wont be disappointed."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Buy
Posted22 March 2013
Customer avatar
By Kevin
From:Staffordshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"If you buy these speakers you will not be disappointed. The quality of the sound and loudness are top notch."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As great as expected
Posted12 March 2013
Customer avatar
By cpappable
From:Cheshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"The product looked good on the website. It is not the traditional, light kind of speakers. What was most attractive is the power, 2X10 W. Most similar speakers show up only 2X2-3W. These ones are REALLY powerful, the sound can fill even a bigger room, in high quality. They sound clearly, without distortion or buzz. It was the best choice for me, for only one room and to enjoy high quality music without a more sophisticated and much more expensive sound system. The best computer speakers I had so far. I recommend them."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Philips SPA7220 2.0 Speakers - Black and Red.
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product