Top-rated product

Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.

<p>Of all the charters that 'Tornado' hauls, it can be argued that those trains made up of Pullman cars must be one of the mose desirable and elegant available. </p><p>Not only does the set contain 'Tornado' and three Pullman cars, but an oval of track with siding, together with a train controller and wall mounted transformer.</p><p>Space required 158cm x 114cm.</p><ul><li>For ages 5 years and over.</li></ul><p>WARNING(S):</p><ul><li>Not suitable for children under 3 years old.</li><li>For domestic use only.</li><li>To be used under the direct supervision of an adult.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.469 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
30 of 3294%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Review 1 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looks great
Posted01 September 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Derby, Derby, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Imaginative play 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" good price with being on offer and looks good detail on train and carriages good too. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value for Money
Posted25 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Worcestershire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Imaginative play 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" The set of engines and carriages are good quality models. Because of this they are not robust enough for kiddies under 5 years old, as stated in the product details. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hornby Tornado train set
Posted25 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Merseyside, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Imaginative play 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" A great way to start off a railway. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product had lights that was a real bonus
Posted13 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Weymouth, Dorset, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Imaginative play 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Was very pleased with product and its hidden features have enjoyed using it and at a very cheap price what more can you ask for extremely happy "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ok for a hornby product.
Posted05 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Blaenavon, Pontypool, Torfaen NP4, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Fun 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Imaginative play 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
" great train. the tornado loco is the best part of the set. the Hornby controller is plastic rubbish. that I don't use. as I have fitted a 8 pin decoder to this loco. the track is good as you get track pack A with this set. the track-mat. is a mid mat. that I would never use. as its not showing the full Hornby layout. you also don't get any drivers for the loco. so I had to buy them at the local model shop. to make the loco tornado look the part. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hornby Tornado Constantly Derails
Posted04 August 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Burnham on crouch
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Imaginative play 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" This set is spoilt by the loco . The loco is heavy at the back and the rear wheels dont touch the track so any bump makes the front lift and derail.I have sent the loco back to hornby to fix but it is still has the problem.It is now been returned for the second time.I have no problem with my older tender drive trains on my track. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A lifetime of fun and exploring
Posted22 July 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Australia
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Imaginative play 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This train set is fabulous for the novice and experienced train enthusiast. Good quality pieces, easy to assemble and compatible with other sets. The engine and carriages are also full of history and a good representation of the real thing. Hours of fun and learning for kids and adults alike. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hornby Pullman set
Posted11 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Uttoxeter
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Imaginative play 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great value for a quality product. Delivered quickly and safely. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good train
Posted07 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:London, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Imaginative play 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" quick service form Argos in time for Christmas. the train looks great, especially the locomotive. the railway track and all couplings are a bit flimsy, would not recommend as a toy for younger children. overall very happy with the purchase "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set
Posted05 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Cheshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Imaginative play 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" My Grandson loves it and the quality is excellent apart from the power connector which only works after a bit of a jiggle "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looked good on the box
Posted30 December 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Fun 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" This set was bought as a gift but never made it into the wrapping paper. Locomotive was damaged in two places - including the rear assembly on the tender which seems to be a poor design. Otherwise - good looking box.... "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What you expect from this brand
Posted27 November 2014
Customer avatar
By
Age:55 to 64
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Imaginative play 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Good set, bought for granchildren's layout, one day later price dropped another 20%, timing!!!!!!!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tornado pullman train set.
Posted25 November 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:London, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Imaginative play 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great value
good education and History model.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
Posted18 November 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Somerset, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Imaginative play 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Bought 3 sets for grandsons.excellent models,and what a deal at 3 for 2 "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One very happy grandson!
Posted14 October 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Imaginative play 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This appears to have hit the mark for our grandson's 6th birthday. Excellent value for money. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tornado
Posted07 October 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:West Yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Imaginative play 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Brilliant value for money - cheaper than any discounted model railway suppliers.
Go and buy one.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hornby Set BUT !!!
Posted23 September 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Doncaster
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Fun 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Imaginative play 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Locomotive is an excellent fast runner.
The coaches are fine except a set of couplings were broken off two of the coaches as the rivet was not through the coupling loop and so they had come off. To me no problem as I have spares and screws and washers, but anyone buying this as a starter set may want to check the couplings on the coaches before taking it home and setting up to avoid disappointment.
Otherwise Great Railwaying (I so do detest the American Railroading term).
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted09 September 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Hertfordshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Imaginative play 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" great product very good price really happy "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value !!!
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:North Devon , UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Imaginative play 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This product is fantastic value for money ! I have seen the Hornby locomotive alone on sale for much more than the entire purchase ! Brilliant ! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hornby Tornado Pullman Train Set.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hornby Tornado Pullman set
Posted02 September 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Hampshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Fun 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Imaginative play 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" What amazing value - the Tornado locomotive is usually more expensive than this whole set. Has made a great 66th birthday present for my husband as he has wanted the Tornado model for some time. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next >>>