Top-rated product

Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.

<p>Access a world of entertainment with this Sony 42 inch Full HD 1080p TV. Providing extensive connectivity options including Wi-Fi compatibility, this Smart TV also features Dolby sound system to further enhance your viewing experience. Integrated Freeview HD digital tuner gives you the pick of the channels, whilst the 14-day EPG allows you to plan your TV viewing. PC input through HDMI socket (PC requires HDMI socket as well).</p><p>Top 5 Smart apps include: Music Unlimited, BBC iPlayer, LOVEFiLM, Netflix, Sony Entertainment Television.</p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>Smart TV.</li><li>Screen size: 42in</li><li>Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.</li><li>Motion rate 200Hz.</li><li>Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 1 USB port and 2 HDMI sockets.</li><li>Component video socket.</li><li>Composite.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>Wi-Fi enabled.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>Dolby sound system.</li><li>8 x 8 watts RMS power output.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Freeview digital tuner.</li><li>14 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H56.8, W95.4, D6.9cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 9.9kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H59.5, W95.4, D19.7cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.</li><li>Suitable for wall mounting.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A+.</li><li>On mode power consumption 50 watts.</li><li>Off mode power consumption 0 watt.</li><li>Annual power consumption 69kWh.</li><li>This product contains lead.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4905524915655</p>
Overall rating:
4.93 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
57 of 57100%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
45 Questions | 53 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Review 1 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic TV
Posted15 April 2014
Customer avatar
By LISA
From:uk
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"We spent hours deciding on a new family television and after all those hours decided to get this one. We are more than satisfied with our purchase! It has excellent picture & sound quality and although I've not used the 'smart' part of the TV the rest of the family have and was pleased with that function also. Only niggle I have is once it's mounted on the wall the off button behind is a little awkward to get to. Other than that Fantastic TV!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXELLENT TV
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By PETER
From:West Sussex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"VERY GOOD PICTURE
SOUND GOOD FOR FLAT SCREEN TV
I HAVE A SURROUND SOUND AMP SO NOT AN ISSUE
ONLY THING I HAVE NOT GOT WORKING IS WI FI CONECTION TO PC
LIKE THE FACT THAT IT COMES WITH WALL FITTING BRACKET
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic smart tv
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By emma
From:herts
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Great tele with wifi already in it, so unlike many others you won't need to buy a dongle... I did buy a 1tb USB hard drive so I can use it to record.
The sound isn't great , but not as bad as many others.
The picture is fab, and I found it very easy to install as gives you step by step instructions on screen.
Even connecting to the internet was a breeze, had the tv about 2 weeks now & installed lots more apps such as Netflix .. Shame Sony don't have itv player as that would make it perfect...
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Affordable quality
Posted01 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Theafxtwin
From:Peterborough, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Something to look out for when buying a new tv is it's refresh rate,this tv is 200hz which is plenty,don't be fooled by a bigger cheaper tv that has 50hz the picture difference is huge! And this is one of the best TVs by far for the money,also be aware that 42 inch may not seem big enough due to it's all screen and not tv.as with all TVs you really need a home theatre kit or sound bar to achieve a great sound.also on paper this tv has only two hdmi ports but mine has four!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Sony
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Mick
From:Lancs
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Always bought Sony products and always will. Everything you need from a smart TV.you don't need a sound bar because the quality is excellent if you set it right.Also picture options cover everything for a perfect picture."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great 32" TV
Posted17 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Dolly
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We chose this TV as which recommended it for sound. Also had good reviews and agree great tv and sound. Looks very smart. We have another 32" but this one looks smaller as the framing around screen is thinner."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase
Posted11 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Patty
From:Ayrshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great buy the only thing I would say is that getting on to the web browser is a bit difficult everything else couldn't be simpler.
Just persevere it is worth it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality!
Posted08 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Daisy19
From:Cardiff
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great television! Fab quality. Straight forward installation. Looks good with full screen and neat stand! Highly reccomended."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant sony
Posted05 March 2014
Customer avatar
By H
From:Hampshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Picture perfect tv, built in everything takes a while to understand all the features but best sony tv we have had, still not used all features yet, but love built in wifi etc , seems strange to have fb on the telly, but a great tv anyway, took us a couple of weeks to realise tv actually had buttons to switch on/off well hidden, but remote does it all anyway great product"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase
Posted25 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Ava 21
From:Cheshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great TV with excellent picture quality . I am very happy with this purchase ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stylish top of the range tv
Posted25 February 2014
Customer avatar
By H Mackenzie
From:Scotland
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Tv is great we bought when on offer so that was an added bonus, great picture and sound and we bought as it was such a good price for the Sony brand we've always had lg before but thought wed try this! Smart tv options are fab too all in all a really great tv at a good price :)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product
Posted20 February 2014
Customer avatar
By tj
From:West Midlands
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very pleased with this purchase. Great price.tj"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted15 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Gen
Age:45 to 54
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent product. Good value and great quality"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stunning television
Posted13 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Pedro
From:Angus
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Must be one of the best televisions on the market for the price? So easy to set up and connect to the net."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony KDL42W653
Posted13 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Tony H
From:Liverpool.
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great T.V. love it, picture is sharp and clear, the only thing i would say is buy a sound bar because the sound although ok would definitely benefit from this, besides that it's a brilliant product and the price is really good compared to other alternatives."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent TV
Posted12 February 2014
Customer avatar
By sam49
From:Ilford
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this TV in Jan 2014 its an excellent product eventhough its a bit expensive but worth having it in the living room. Screen size is great and picture quality superb.
I will recommend it to others.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every penny
Posted11 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Amanda
From:Northamptonshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I don't normally write reviews, but just had to write about this. It is in a word Fantastic.
We are so happy with it, the picture quality is second to none even on none HD channels.
The sound is very good crisp and clear.
It also looks great on its thin metal base, which doubles as a wall bracket.
Quick and easy to set up, just read the questions it asks and answer accordingly.
As for the wi fi we haven't connected it so can't comment on that.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value for money
Posted11 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Aeronaut 46
From:West Sussex, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Easy to set up, very light one man lift, very flexible mounting arrangement on stand or wall, good access to external connections but would benefit from another HDMI port. Quality typical of all Sony products I have purchased."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great telly
Posted05 February 2014
Customer avatar
By LouisePaisley
From:Paisley, Renfrewshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just wanted a tv because mine packed up, this thing is awesome - Dose so much more than I expected of it, really pleased I got it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD 1080p Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart tv ftw
Posted04 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Heli87
From:Essex, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"brilliant image, beautiful design and amazing sound."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next >>>