Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.

<p>Access a world of entertainment with this Sony 42 inch Full HD 1080p TV. Providing extensive connectivity options including Wi-Fi compatibility, this Smart TV also features Dolby sound system to further enhance your viewing experience. Integrated Freeview HD digital tuner gives you the pick of the channels, whilst the 14-day EPG allows you to plan your TV viewing. PC input through HDMI socket (PC requires HDMI socket as well).</p><p>Top 5 Smart apps include: Music Unlimited, BBC iPlayer, LOVEFiLM, Netflix, Sony Entertainment Television. Please be aware that not all Apps are currently available in Ireland. </p><p>Television picture quality:</p><ul><li>Edge-lit LED TV Screen.</li><li>Screen size: 42 inches</li><li>Motion rate 200Hz.</li><li>Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.</li><li>Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>1 SCART socket, 1 USB port and 2 HDMI sockets.</li><li>Smart TV.</li><li>Component video socket.</li><li>Composite.</li><li>Headphone socket.</li><li>Wi-Fi enabled.</li><li>Ethernet connection.</li><li>DLNA compatibility.</li><li>Suitable for wall mounting.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>Dolby sound system.</li><li>8 x 8 watts RMS power output.</li></ul><p>Digital features:</p><ul><li>Freeview HD digital tuner.</li><li>14 day electronic programme guide (EPG).</li><li>CI+ slot.</li></ul><p>Additional features:</p><ul><li>Sleep timer.</li><li>Child lock.</li><li>Size of TV H56.8, W95.4, D6.9cm.</li><li>Weight of TV 9.9kg (unpackaged).</li><li>Size of TV with stand: H59.5, W95.4, D19.7cm.</li><li>Weight of TV with stand: 11kg.</li></ul><p>Energy efficiency information:</p><ul><li>Energy efficiency rating: A+.</li><li>On mode power consumption 50 watts.</li><li>Off mode power consumption 0 watt.</li><li>Annual power consumption 69kWh.</li><li>This product contains lead.</li></ul><p>EAN: 4905524915655</p>
Overall rating:
4.873 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
78 of 7999%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Review 1 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted28 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Essex, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" nice television excellent picture quality and sound only gripe I've got is some of the aps don't seem to work and the open browser will only open Sony web pages but other than that it's a very good television for the price "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TV is great, struggled with setup
Posted18 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:United Kingdom
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" The TV is great, a good buy. Others do not seem to have had any problem with the setup, but I'm afraid that we did. In setting it up, it asks some questions around your sky/cable set up and no matter which combination we chose, it would not set up. In the end, we called a friend. We didn't try their telephone support because their hours of work are when we're not at home. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted14 January 2015
Customer avatar
By
From:Fermanagh
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Delighted with the TV! looks small because of the fine edge around screen really light. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Picture quality is great
Posted24 August 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:bedfordshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Wasnt sure about getting a smart tv ...so glad I have !!! its amazing and even I can work it , not being a tech person ... Its simple to use , picture quality is fab , linked it up to cable but didnt have an hdmi at first so the quality wasnt as good ... DONT FORGET TO GET AN HDMI cable !!! I was also informed of the aftercare service "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sleek looking tv very easy to use
Posted19 July 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very pleased with this tv as nice and simple to set up ,has a great picture and really nice sleek looking stand "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product
Posted01 July 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Manchester, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I am fully satisfied with my purchase. Good product with a lot of smart features. Cant find any fault. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
superb television
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Easy to set up, great picture quality&features!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great TV, smart function a fantastic addition.
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Leicester
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Perfect screen size, quality that you expect from Sony, highly recommended.
The added bonus was that I was able to enter a competition, due to purchasing this TV, for a Play Station 4, I won one and is due to be despatched to me very soon.
So altogether a great value purchase.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great price and quality for LED smart TV
Posted24 June 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Tyne and Wear
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great picture quality and the sound is the best I've heard from a flat panel TV - once I'd adjusted the equaliser in the sound menu.
Tried some of the smart functions/apps and they load and work OK. Only a couple of minor niggles;-
(1) instructions for set-up are minimal - using the auto set-up, I spent ages misguidedly trying to sort out the satellite connection section - you don't need to!
(2) Hard to find the internet browser app quickly - it's at the end of the full app listing
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a good purchase.really!
Posted23 June 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" great tv.happy to have it.nice design.good picture and sound.quiet fast and comfortable to use netflix as well :) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony 42" Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV
Posted17 June 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Kent, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I would definitely recommend this product to my friends and family. The connectivity and set up was very straight forward. The picture quality is really great and the sound is great too (you don't even need it up very loud). "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sony tv
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:nottingham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" lots of internet apps allready installed ,like the football button,easy to set up "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Sony TV
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Bucks
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this Sony TV as a friend had recently bought a Sony TV too and I was impressed by it. Sleek design and all you have to do is plug it in, and the TV does everything else. The sound is fine without a sound bar but I guess if you like the TV loud then you may want one. The smart TV part is amazing - connected no problems at all to my wifi connection at home, and now I am addidcted to the 30 day free trial of Netflix.How many more films can I possibly watch? I reccomend this product! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
So Disappointed
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Swansea, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Connectivity 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Very poor design. Bought the Sony sound bar with this, classic tale of 2 departments not talking to each other, the sound on this TV is awful, so you need a sound bar, unfortunately, the sound bar sits too high and interferes with the remote control. if the stand was adjustable in height it would have been great.
My 8 year old Samsung has a better picture. I am so disappointed. doesn't work very well with a Freeview HD PVR, the picture mode is all over the place. Not at all pleased.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mini cinema!
Posted03 June 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very pleased with my new t.v..excellent picture quality..far superior to any TV I've owned so far.
Smart TV is great ..just joined Netflix ..daughter pleased.
Sound is a little bit tinny though?
The good far outweigh the bad.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
superb purchase
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:durham
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Great buy
nice finishing touch to my newly decorated lounge
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Sony KDL42W653
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:London, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very user friendly. Within a few minutes of unpacking and turning on for the first time, great picture, and very good connectivity to the broadband, would definitely recommend this tv. Admittedly a bit more expensive than some, but it is a Sony! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I have previously owned a sony bravia tv and thought i would treat myself to the smart sony bravia. Stunning tv! Sound quality brill! After reading reviews i was expecting to have to buy a soundbar but i havent felt the need to with hearing the sound. Only thing is the bbc iplayer doesnt seem
To upload the programmes but everything else is brilliant!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great TV
Posted24 April 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Flintshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" This is our first smart tv and we are really impressed. The picture and sound quality are really good and it was simple to set up and use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony KDL42W653 42 Inch Full HD Freeview HD Smart LED TV.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great TV - just a minor niggle
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By
From:Newbury, West Berkshire, UK
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" The quality of the Freeview HD picture is excellent, as are the features provided.
I bought an external USB 1TB disc drive for recording, but the TV only has a single tuner. I suppose most smart TVs are the same, but this means that if you are recording something, then you can only watch the channel that is being recorded. Normally you would want to watch something else.
My Freesat HD PVR has dual tuners, so I doubt that I will be moving from that for my recording needs. A shame. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>