Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Haynes Combustion Engine.

The engine you will build is a simplified version of a real car engine. The model is designed to be fun to put together and to help you understand how a full-size four-stroke car engine works.Gadgets.Designed to help you understand how a full-size four-stroke car engine works.Includes a Haynes manual giving you clear step-by-step instructions to guide you through the build process.Comes complete with all of the parts and tools you need to assemble the working model.The on/off controller includes a sound chip which reproduces the noise of a real engine.Instructions included.For ages 10 years and over.
Overall rating:
4.452 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
68 of 7393%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Review 1 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Promotes Conversation / Discussion
Posted22 April 2013
Customer avatar
By Smart-T
From:London
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" A real talking point.
Need steady hands. Its a very good tool for learning how a car engine works and also allows you to practice reading and following instructions skills.
Very accomplished feeling when all's completed.
Huge smug smile when all is up and running and the lights are going on and off in succession indicating the pistons firing. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haynes Combustion Engine.
Posted05 February 2013
Customer avatar
By Neil
From:Shropshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" This was a great little project for my 8year old daughter and 5year old son, it does require adult supervision and a little help from them as there are little parts that if they go missing like springs then it's ruined, but other than that it was well worth the money spent for a good few hours worth of work "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Haynes I C Engine
Posted30 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Allan
From:Middlesex
" This would have been an interesting model - HAD THERE NOT BEEN A PART MISSING. (Part number 30).
As such the model is useless. That the part was never even there is proved by the fact that the chromed plating on the sprue is continuous. If the part had broken off there would have been a tiny patch of bare plastic.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great present
Posted29 January 2013
Customer avatar
By vicky
From:walsall
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" brought this for my husband and he loved it does,nt stop playing with it . "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great kit
Posted29 January 2013
Customer avatar
By steve
From:oldham
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" this is a superb build yourself engine kit.it has all working parts within the engine that you can see .there are little bulbs that light up to represent the spark plugs firing. top class bit of kit. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it is what it is
Posted29 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Lesley
From:Pontefract
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" If you or your child are interested in how engines work, this is for you. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Model engine.
Posted25 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Dave
From:West Sussex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" I bought this model engine kit for my son who has showed an interest in how car engines work. This is a great way to explain the diferent parts that make up an internal combustion engine. Some of the assembly is quite fiddly but if you follow the instructions carefully it should work correctly. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product
Posted23 January 2013
Customer avatar
By 2GB Racing
From:Suffolk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" Ideal first engine to build for my 6yr old grandson "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant model
Posted22 January 2013
Customer avatar
By trev
From:mid glamorgan
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
" I thought of buying this item for quite some time now and as it was on offer I bought one.Building it was enjoyable and to see the engine working is fascinating.I would like to see a V8 or aV12 version being produced.That would really be fun and a new challenge! Highly recommended! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic
Posted21 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Doody groovy
From:Norfolk
Age:17 or under
Gender:Male
" Easy to build, looks good, works brilliantly and just like a real engine. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great mans gift
Posted21 January 2013
Customer avatar
By gail
From:hull
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" never knowing what to buy my husband,this was perfect.kept him quiet for a couple of hours. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for a techie
Posted20 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Bella
From:manchester
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Bought this for my son (age28) as he complained he had no toys for Christmas.
He has enjoyed constructing it,he is of a technical bent. Good value
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great fun
Posted17 January 2013
Customer avatar
By william
From:Northumberland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
" I bought this for my son as I thought that it was about time (at 28 years old) that he understood the workings of a car engine.
It was easy to assemble, taking about 3 1/2 hours, and all the parts fitted together nicely, although some parts were rather small for my big fingers.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cheap plastic
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Steve
From:England
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
" This item is ok-ish, although I expected better qualities from Haynes.. I found cheap brittle plastic that isn't very good, most of my pieces where bent or warped, "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GREAT GIFT FOR BUDDING MECHANICS
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By SHOPAHOLICA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" This was a great gift at Christmas (even though there was a piece missing, but we managed to get it going without it) It took my husband and myself about two hours to fit it all together after our 10 year old got bored after 30 minutes, lol, but it was very interesting learning about how the engine fitted together, for me anyway! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good toy
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Styuart
From:Surrey
" This is a good idea and kept my 8 year old very interested although I think it would suit and 10+ child "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why grow up
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Chris
From:Cornwall
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
" I bought this for my brother (23 years old) as a christmas present and he spent most of the day assembling it like the proverbial kid at christmas. The instructions were clear and it was fairly easy to assemble. I have no great knowledge of cars and was able to see how it all worked. I can see this being a great wee project for anyone interested in the mechanics of engines regardless of age. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One of my best Purchase Ever
Posted15 January 2013
Customer avatar
By DJ Biker John
From:Kent England
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
" Great fun for learning,& you need alot of time,so I try & put it together when I can make time like evenings & weekends.One of my best friends has finish building his Haynes Combustion engine & that's why I purchase one,as I seen what it like. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value
Posted15 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Snap
From:Powys
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Kept my 77 year old Dad & 12 year old nephew quiet for hours "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Haynes Combustion Engine.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Combustion Engine
Posted15 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Lynnypops
From:Aldershot
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
" Bought this for my son for Christmas as he wants to be a mechanic and he found it very helpful and the best thing was it was half price.
Brilliant and educational to.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>