Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.

The stylish CnM Slim External DVD-RW is handy portable device that is ideal for ensuring connectivity with your computer (laptop/desktop) in the home office or whilst on-the-move.24 x CD read speed.8 x DVD read speed.Writes to 12cm disc.Compatible with Windows 2000 onwards.
Overall rating:
4.113 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
7
68 of 8085%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Review 1 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product , great value
Posted23 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Andy B
From:Watford, Hertfordshire
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
" Great little product. Does everything I needed it to and more. I was only looking for a product to read and write CDs however for such a good price why wouldn't you go for this DVD writer. Would recommend to anyone. Easy to use and set up. I've come across no problems with this product. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good
Posted20 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Angie/Tony
From:Essex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" I have a note book computer so no dvd drive, So this product is a Excellent product for me to have, Also if i want to show anything off from my computer i just take it with me in my pocket or bag & can be plugged in to any other computer... problem solved ;) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great
Posted16 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Frances
From:High Wycombe,Bucks
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
" Works very well with my dr dre notebook "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Does what it says on the tin.... except....
Posted15 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Simon
From:Manchester
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
" As the drive draws it's power supply from the USB ports on your computer - you need to make sure there's enough power available from the PC. Hence this doesn't work on my Desktop PC, unless I use a separate power supply (i.e. phone charger with a USB output) to run it. It does however work off my laptop, but I haven't tried writing DVD's yet.. I suspect it may well struggle there!
Otherwise, seems to install and run fine on Windows XP machines! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product for a Netbook
Posted23 May 2012
Customer avatar
By Pitts
From:Devon UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I was really pleased with this DVD driver. It was easy to set up on my Aspire Netbook. Good for travelling and everything I wanted it to be. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect piece of kit
Posted25 January 2012
Customer avatar
By Amanda
From:Brentwood, Essex
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this as my new small Asus Ultrabook does not contain a disc drive. I just plugged this in to it via USB and the drivers loaded themselves within about a minute, it then had no problem reading any of my software discs I wanted to load onto the Ultrabook. And although this disc drive said it was only compatible with Windows 2000, XP and Vista, it works absolutely fine with Windows 7 home (64bit). I am really pleased with it and think it is great value for money! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good price for a product that did the job
Posted23 November 2011
Customer avatar
By Valy
From:Stratford
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Connectivity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Bought this item because my dvd-rw from my laptop crashed and so did my Win7.
I had to install my Win7 from scratch since I don't have a backup image (yet).
This small thing did its job, the only inconvenient was that it was not recognized by BIOS and it took a very long time to pass over initial checking when computer starts.
My workaround was to plug it in after initial bios start-up and let recovery app from windows to try it's magic and when failed I just used the command prompt to start the setup.exe from this DVD unit.
It worked perfectly and I was happy with it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value
Posted13 October 2011
Customer avatar
By Billy
From:UK
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Only used it once, literally plug and go, set itself up immediately, copied fine. Seems good "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard to Fault
Posted11 October 2011
Customer avatar
By Ron
From:UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Very good value, connected straight away and run with my Asus Netbook purchased at the same time without the need to download drivers etc.
Seems to run extremely quietly and to be well built. Nice black rubberised style finish giving the appearance of a modern sleek design.
No problems reading or burning to discs of any type so far encountered "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CD/DVD Writer
Posted04 October 2011
Customer avatar
By Paul
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" This is the second one i have bought i was so pleased with the first one and having a few computers it made it very easy to use "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very iffy even reading proper discs
Posted04 October 2011
Customer avatar
By Griffman
From:UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Connectivity 
3 / 5
3 / 5
" Seems to have problems reading a lot of discs, not even tried burning one. My full size external unit works a treat where as this one does not. Considering taking it back for a refund as seems mainly unusable. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good value for money!
Posted28 September 2011
Customer avatar
By Mario
From:UK, London
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Slim, lightweight,powerful. Comes with both data and power cable(both are usb 2.0). Don't need to plug the power cable, though it performs better and safer when power is supplied to the unit. Tested on Win7. Quite happy with it! We'll see how reliable is in time! So far so good! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive
Posted27 September 2011
Customer avatar
By Bri
From:uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" we got this external drive and pluged it in it was working 30 seconds later very simple good price easy to buy "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor result.
Posted20 September 2011
Customer avatar
By Laurence
From:ENGLAND
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Connectivity 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" I tried for 2 days to get this product to work with a new notebook I had bought for my wife. eventually I returned it to the store. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
worst purchase ever
Posted01 September 2011
Customer avatar
By livejan
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
" Do not know if this product would normally work or how well as when I connected to my computer it didn't work and "killed" my computer URG!!!!! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really good
Posted28 August 2011
Customer avatar
By Scrummysbabe
From:Norfolk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" Bought this as both me and my partner have netbooks and needed an external cd drive. Tried it on both laptops and it works well. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the price.
Posted25 August 2011
Customer avatar
By Michael
From:Lincoln
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" I bought this for my netbook since obviously netbooks don't come with them in. It writes to DVDs and CDs well. I made the recovery disc with it and it went smoothly. It also comes with a driver disc but even in Windows XP I didn't need to use it. XP found the driver itself. It is also small enough to fit into my netbook bag with the netbook and everything else. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Bad Points at All
Posted09 August 2011
Customer avatar
By Northernsoul
From:Cheshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Took it out of its box, connected it up to two USB ports on my netbook. It was recognised straight away and I was able to load microsoft office 2010 pro with no problems at all. Design is good and the front must have been strengthened since other reviews as mine is perfectly adaquate for the job. No complaints at all. Would recommend to anyone who needs a ortable drive. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did not work with either of my PCs
Posted09 August 2011
Customer avatar
By IanM
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Connectivity 
1 / 5
1 / 5
" Bought it to reinstall OS on my laptop running Windows7 came up with a hardware error message. Swapped it for a Samsung model which worked first time. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for CnM Slim External DVD-RW Drive.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
does what it says
Posted29 June 2011
Customer avatar
By peter
From:england
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
Ease of set up 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connectivity 
4 / 5
4 / 5
" it took some time for the computer to recognise it but now it 's good good. but it wo'nt close automatically (not a big problem) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next >>>