Top-rated product

Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.

<p>The vibrant blue 4GB Sony NWZB173 is a compact MP3 player boasting an 18 hour battery life making it ideal for listening to music on the move. If you are short on time then a quick 3 minute charge gets a whopping 90 minutes playback and with the new design jog dial and sturdy clip it makes it even easier to use while out and about. Also available in red and 2GB versions. </p><ul><li>Bass boost, enhance the bass with one touch of a button. Built in clip. Plug directly into a PC to access your music library via the built in USB.</li><li>4GB memory.</li><li>1.2 inch screen.</li><li>Touchscreen display.</li><li>18 hours battery life.</li><li>LCD/LED display.</li><li>Stores up to 900 songs.</li><li>Built-in microphone.</li><li>USB port.</li><li>Includes headphones, quick start guide and clip.</li></ul><p>General information</p><ul><li>Size H2.5, W9, D1.5cm.</li><li>Rechargeable built-in battery.</li><li>EAN: 4905524763959.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.374 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 91 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
80 of 9188%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
64 Questions | 73 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Review 1 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Delivers. Good quality for the price.
Posted15 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Kenny G
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It's small, has huge battery life, is easy to populate with tracks (cut and paste), and sounds good for the price range.
I ditched the headphones in favour of a decent pair I already owned so can't comment on them.
Re problems with track ordering - it's only as good as the information linked to the mp3. So, if you're mp3 doesn't have full artist/track/album details, either put the info in yourself/download it, or set up a separate folder on the mp3 player i.e. "Kenny G"/Best of Kenny G"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony, the name says it all.
Posted25 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Sharon
From:Dorset
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I've tried others but to be honest sony walkman's just can't be beaten in my opinion. Easy to use, install, put music on and to find all the controls on. Being a technophobe even I can manage it, without having to bother my husband all the time."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony walkman just the jbo
Posted21 February 2014
Customer avatar
By shopaholic leeds
From:Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"use it to download podcasts mainly excellent easy to use. rechargeable batteries uses the same plug as my phone so no need to carry more than one charger around.
Sound quality excellent.
Just what I wanted love the colour as well
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent colour and design
Posted11 February 2014
Customer avatar
By sarish999
From:Bedford, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Quick efficient to download music. Does the job and looks good too. Brillisnt record voice feature too"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
pros and cons
Posted11 February 2014
Customer avatar
By lee
From:worthing
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of download 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I found that the quality of the sound was very good and the buttons to the basic functions like play and such where well places, the only problems that i found where that the zap and record buttons where to easy to touch and the belt clip the form that it holds to the mp3 is very weak mine didn't last 2 weeks before i had to stick it on with tape"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mixed feelings about this
Posted11 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Liz36
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The Walkman looks great and the sound quality is very good. However I didn't find it very easy to use. It's not very intuitive at all. The instruction manual is not very clear - it took me about 20 minutes to work out how to put the player on random as it was playing every single track on every album in alphabetical order. Now it's up and running I'm much happier with it but it was a frustrating start."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the price
Posted25 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Rich
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought for my daughter,
Out the box, pluged in, dragged and dropped the MP3 files, finished.
You dont need to install the on-board software, just plug it in and see it as a storage drive.
The USB cover may be a problem later, as it just pushes on, so may get knocked off if in a pocket etc.
Really good sound and volume, but you may pick a better set of ear phones, as these are a bit plasticy, but still a good sound.
Would definatly get another one for my son (or me !)
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Vicky
From:Bristol
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wanted one of these to go running with and haven't looked back since (literally!) Ok I am a COMPLETE techno idiot so my hubby downloads all my music for me (we have quite an old desktop computer so it wasnt that straightforward) Very light and easy to carry when running (I dont use the clip as Im always flicking from track to track!) The ONLY thing I dont like are the head-phones. Not that comfortable so Im using the ones from my Galaxy phone."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for what it is
Posted11 March 2014
Customer avatar
By cherio
From:east ham
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of download 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"it has a good sound as expected from Sony, it not a strong build from what it used to be but still a good price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
something simple
Posted06 March 2014
Customer avatar
By buddy
From:nelson lancashire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Was looking for something simple for the wife her not being the read the instructions type,she just wanted something she could press play and it played,this fits the bill perfectly.it is small and compact the optional clip is great my wife uses hers at the gym and loves it would certainly recommend to my friends."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mp3
Posted04 March 2014
Customer avatar
By diy
From:North East Lincolnshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"ibrought this product it looks great and has all you want but it does NOT work with windows 8"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant! Even more than I expected!
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By LucyFaye
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
"With just a quick, satisfying glance at the specs, I wasn't aware how much more than expected this MP3 player offers!
It can record audio too, and has an attachable clip that can clip to your clothes if you want to go jogging, or just don't want to reach into your pocket every time you wish to skip a song etc,...
Very beautiful design and enthralling lights that seemed to flash in tune with the music. Very easy to charge & upload music too! Just a simple USB plug in!!
Very good!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding product
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Rachel
From:Wolverhampton, West Midlands, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
"I have had this product over 6 years. In six years it has only given up on me once. A very simple but unique design. Volume is excellent. It does exactly what it says on the box. I am very happy with it. Battery is excellent and i have alot of space to download and listen to as much as songs as i want."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for the price
Posted25 February 2014
Customer avatar
By postie sawbo
From:Harlow,Essex
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have another Sony mp3 with a proper screen so its a lot larger than this one.I bought this one for going on holiday,the sound is as good as my other one and the battery life is good.The only thing that let it down was the clip its has not got a good enough grip on it,but overall its good for the price."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony Walkman MP3 Player
Posted11 January 2014
Customer avatar
By PC
From:Kent, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Fits nicely into the back of running tights. Great sound. Easy to set up."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mp3 player, tunes for running
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By mark
From:aberdeen
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"i bought this mp3 player to help me do training for a half marathon for charity,downloaded 30 tunes so far,easy to do and very happy with this purchase so far,easy to clip on to jogging bottoms while i am running + a good sound as well ,
v.good value for money !!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not good enough
Posted08 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Pablo
From:United Kingdom
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I expected more from Sony. It is a product from a cheaper range but I think I overpaid. Comparing this product with previously owned Sony Walkman player (which I had bought few years ago for a nice price) - I wish I didn't go for cheaper product this time. Operating this device is a bit uncomfortable. Battery life is rather disappointing. Equalizer option doesn't work (displays error message). I will use it but I feel I will have to make a new purchase in a few months or so."
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product
Posted08 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Kimi23
From:Swindon, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bought this for my husband for Christmas as he runs a lot,
Compact enough to hide any where, sound is great.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good value mp3 player
Posted20 February 2014
Customer avatar
By TG
From:London, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For the money, good all-rounder. Headphones are surprisingly clear (considering the overall price). Clip on the back is reliable. Really easy to change what's stored on it (holds about 2 dozen albums); playlists sync from computer's media player. Only niggle is that the cover for the usb connection comes off really easily, so I just leave it off.
Overall, good value."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
amazing sound quality
Posted12 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Cumbria lass
From:cumbria
Age:55 to 64
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Considering how small and very lightweight this is, it has amazingly good sound quality. Good bass, not tinny. It is easy to recharge the battery, just plug into the computer. The drag and drop made it very easy to download music. I needed this to record a meeting and the sound quality is excellent. As it is so small any one with big fingers may find it rather fiddly at first. Not sure how resilient the controls are but it only needs a delicate touch to work."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>