Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.

<p>The vibrant blue 4GB Sony NWZB173 is a compact MP3 player boasting an 18 hour battery life making it ideal for listening to music on the move. If you are short on time then a quick 3 minute charge gets a whopping 90 minutes playback and with the new design jog dial and sturdy clip it makes it even easier to use while out and about. Also available in red and 2GB versions. </p><ul><li>Bass boost, enhance the bass with one touch of a button. Built in clip. Plug directly into a PC to access your music library via the built in USB.</li><li>4GB memory.</li><li>1.2 inch screen.</li><li>Touchscreen display.</li><li>18 hours battery life.</li><li>LCD/LED display.</li><li>Stores up to 900 songs.</li><li>Built-in microphone.</li><li>USB port.</li><li>Includes headphones, quick start guide and clip.</li></ul><p>General information</p><ul><li>Size H2.5, W9, D1.5cm.</li><li>Rechargeable built-in battery.</li><li>EAN: 4905524763959.</li></ul>
Overall rating:
4.382 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 102 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
91 of 10289%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Review 1 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good for its price, but not exceptional
Posted02 July 2014
Customer avatar
By Music lover
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Pro: cheap, small, light, easy to use.
Cons: sounds isn't great but is not bad either, can't see what it's on the screen when is sunny, you have to go to the main menu instead going back to the previous folder. THIS MODEL DOESN'T HAVE RADIO FM.
If you are a music fan and you want to enjoy the master piece of Mozart (just an example) this is not what you need. If you are looking something cheap to listen a couple of tunes when you are on the bus heading work, this does the job!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not perfect but great value for the money
Posted17 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Walk-aholic
From:In Sonyland, Walkmanville
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Q: How important is music fidelity in a portable player? A: Not as important as ease of use!
A few seconds delay and you can add/remove music like any USB memory stick! No (poorly designed & bloated) apps to install! Well done Sony!
Music fidelity is good (but only because I'm using premium earbuds). Supplied earbuds are complete "landfill" - sound quality is very poor. Sony need to sell this Walkman with better quality earbuds or not bother at all (passing the saving onto the customer)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted27 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Cee159
From:Essex, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I would recommend it. Easy for technophobe hubby."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent value
Posted20 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Jo
From:Berkshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Only downside is it takes a while to skip a song, which can be a pain at the gym. Really easy to use - I am a proper technophobe and even I can do it. Good quality feel and well designed."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sony walkman 4GB MP3 player - blue
Posted13 May 2014
Customer avatar
By leigh
From:lancs
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Iv had one now for a few weeks and its great , the sound is good and your able to turn the volume up loud if wish, cause on some you carn,t .the only thing that is the zapping in and out sometimes gets pressed by mistake and is annoying . but other than that its great . buy it ""
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exactly what it says on the tin
Posted06 May 2014
Customer avatar
By Cookie64
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The build quality seems good and the battery life is excellent. I've only charged it once since I bought it. The sound is not massively loud but I think it is the headphones I use. I haven't actually tried the ones which came with it.
Drag and dropping files onto it is easy and the controls are relatively straightforward. Not quite how I you would expect them though. The zappin feature is pretty pointless. Not something you would ever really use to be honest.
Otherwise a good all rounder."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
This review is from:Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy quality head/earphones to benefit experience!
Posted11 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Cameltoe5
From:Wanstead, London E11, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Has a display as without this feature you will be frustrated trying to locate tracks. Make sure you download the FULL instruction manual to understand all the functions. Rated it 5 stars for sound QUALITY, but if you want to kill your hearing and have music at damaging volume this is not the player for you! I have not used the supplied headphones (although they do look acceptable quality) as I have an expensive pair of Sony in-ear headphones & Sennheiser HD 201's and sounds fantastic with both!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
This review is from:Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice looking product and easy to use
Posted10 June 2014
Customer avatar
By Sarnge
From:West Midlands, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I am pleased with my MP3 player, my first. It's easy to use. I use this for music and downloading my French lessons. I can recommend buying this product."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looks good works well
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By db
From:uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Does what it needs and battery last well, more than enough for 11 hour flight."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Delivers. Good quality for the price.
Posted15 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Kenny G
From:London, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It's small, has huge battery life, is easy to populate with tracks (cut and paste), and sounds good for the price range.
I ditched the headphones in favour of a decent pair I already owned so can't comment on them.
Re problems with track ordering - it's only as good as the information linked to the mp3. So, if you're mp3 doesn't have full artist/track/album details, either put the info in yourself/download it, or set up a separate folder on the mp3 player i.e. "Kenny G"/Best of Kenny G"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
This review is from:Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product!
Posted02 May 2014
Customer avatar
By foz04
From:West Yorkshire, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had apple products in the past and i have to say that this mp3 players beats it hands down. It's easy to download music from your pc and has a great sound too. Battery life seems to be ok too."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
This review is from:Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Red.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ideal for gym
Posted23 April 2014
Customer avatar
By cd
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"bought to use in the gym, fits in pocket, as previous reviews stated cover for USB not the best design but does the job"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony, the name says it all.
Posted25 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Sharon
From:Dorset
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I've tried others but to be honest sony walkman's just can't be beaten in my opinion. Easy to use, install, put music on and to find all the controls on. Being a technophobe even I can manage it, without having to bother my husband all the time."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sony walkman just the jbo
Posted21 February 2014
Customer avatar
By shopaholic leeds
From:Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"use it to download podcasts mainly excellent easy to use. rechargeable batteries uses the same plug as my phone so no need to carry more than one charger around.
Sound quality excellent.
Just what I wanted love the colour as well
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent colour and design
Posted11 February 2014
Customer avatar
By sarish999
From:Bedford, UK
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Quick efficient to download music. Does the job and looks good too. Brillisnt record voice feature too"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
pros and cons
Posted11 February 2014
Customer avatar
By lee
From:worthing
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of download 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I found that the quality of the sound was very good and the buttons to the basic functions like play and such where well places, the only problems that i found where that the zap and record buttons where to easy to touch and the belt clip the form that it holds to the mp3 is very weak mine didn't last 2 weeks before i had to stick it on with tape"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mixed feelings about this
Posted11 February 2014
Customer avatar
By Liz36
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The Walkman looks great and the sound quality is very good. However I didn't find it very easy to use. It's not very intuitive at all. The instruction manual is not very clear - it took me about 20 minutes to work out how to put the player on random as it was playing every single track on every album in alphabetical order. Now it's up and running I'm much happier with it but it was a frustrating start."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
This review is from:Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for the price
Posted25 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Rich
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought for my daughter,
Out the box, pluged in, dragged and dropped the MP3 files, finished.
You dont need to install the on-board software, just plug it in and see it as a storage drive.
The USB cover may be a problem later, as it just pushes on, so may get knocked off if in a pocket etc.
Really good sound and volume, but you may pick a better set of ear phones, as these are a bit plasticy, but still a good sound.
Would definatly get another one for my son (or me !)
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
This review is from:Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Vicky
From:Bristol
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of download 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wanted one of these to go running with and haven't looked back since (literally!) Ok I am a COMPLETE techno idiot so my hubby downloads all my music for me (we have quite an old desktop computer so it wasnt that straightforward) Very light and easy to carry when running (I dont use the clip as Im always flicking from track to track!) The ONLY thing I dont like are the head-phones. Not that comfortable so Im using the ones from my Galaxy phone."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Blue.
This review is from:Sony Walkman 4GB MP3 Player - Red.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for what it is
Posted11 March 2014
Customer avatar
By cherio
From:east ham
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of download 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"it has a good sound as expected from Sony, it not a strong build from what it used to be but still a good price"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next >>>