Top-rated product

Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.

<p>Enjoy all of your favourite movies with this portable Philips DVD player. Complete with 9in widescreen LCD screen, it has a built-in rechargeable battery which runs for an impressive 5 hours with one charge. It comes with a USB port allowing you to access your portable media and also includes a 12V car socket cable. </p><ul><li>9 inch.</li><li>LCD screen screenTFT LCD screen.</li><li>Resolution 640 x 234pixels.</li><li>Contrast ratio 450:1.</li><li>Brightness 100cd/m&sup2;.</li><li>Shock resistant.</li><li>DVD region 2.</li><li>Built-in rechargeable battery with 5 hours battery life during playback.</li><li>Operated via car socket (cable included).</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>AV socket.</li><li>1 USB port.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>Built-in speaker.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Mains AC power adaptor included.</li><li>Remote control .</li><li>Size H3.9, W23.9, D17.8cm.</li><li>Weight 1100g.</li></ul><p>EAN: 8712581595739</p>
Overall rating:
4.647 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
64 of 6894%would recommend to a friend
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 15 Answers
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Review 21 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it
Posted15 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Cheapskater
From:London
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As you can see, I simply love every aspect of it - chiefly its portability and ability to run old DVDs with clarity."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good sized screen
Posted10 October 2013
Customer avatar
By nannacathy
From:Essex, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This product was bought for my husband who is on kidney dialysis three times weekly for four hours, therefore it needed to have a long battery life,this really fits the bill. It also has a larger screen than the one he had before making it more enjoyable to watch."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight with a clear picture
Posted05 October 2013
Customer avatar
By Magsi
From:Rhondda
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Thia item is perfect for travelling with as it is lightweight. The picture quality is very good and easy to operate."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Far So Good
Posted11 September 2013
Customer avatar
By jr
From:London, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"Have had disappointing (cheaper) portables before, but this so far seems worth the extra expense. Bought it mainly to entertain our daughter on a long flight, and the five hour battery life was definitely a bonus in that regard. Charges well, reads discs without issue, and is easy to use. So far so good..."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent item
Posted10 September 2013
Customer avatar
By jem28
From:coventry
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"Great for the price and robust. great product"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great DVD Player
Posted03 September 2013
Customer avatar
By JB1400
From:Wirral, UK
Age:35 to 44
"All you need in a portable DVD.
Large screen, very simple to use, nice and sleek too.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted04 July 2013
Customer avatar
By Alibongo
From:Peterborough uk
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"The battery life of 5hrs was brilliant. The one thing we did find was the sound quality wasn't great without headphones but we brought a pair of Phillips headphones and it made it 100 times better.
We did have an issue with the DVD player not reading discs within a week of usage but Argos exchanged it without a problem and 3 weeks on so far so good.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase
Posted19 June 2013
Customer avatar
By Elaine
From:Droitwich
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Brought to take to turkey, wot a fantastic purchase screen excellent size picture quality very good sound quality good easy to use and has a remote control for the parents to control the sound if too loud, kept my 4 year old quiet and chilled on the plane and after a day in the heat, also purchased the carry bag. Brilliant purchase."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ideal purchase for elderly
Posted03 April 2013
Customer avatar
By ANNE
From:fife
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Nice big clear screen with good sound quality .Very useful for elderly person in hospital."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phillips dvd player
Posted03 April 2013
Customer avatar
By pam
From:Worcestershire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
"really good, also long battery life up to 5 x hours i think, although i havn't used it yet, waiting for my holidays"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth the price
Posted24 February 2013
Customer avatar
By inconstantgardener
From:uk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Feels sturdy and is easy to use, excellent visuals. Can adjust for different aspect ratios. Sound is 'thin' but can't expect other at this size. It played a music cd that bigger and better sound systems had rejected! The green light that glows when 'on' can be intrusive. but not in the vertical position fixed on back of car seat, it is easy to hide the light if viewing on a table. the longer battery life is a distinct advantage and the recharging time is reasonable."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
kwap
Posted13 February 2013
Customer avatar
By kicker
From:uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"was absolutley rubbish we binned it"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-42points
1of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic player
Posted06 February 2013
Customer avatar
By loucboss
From:oxfordshire
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"we bought this for our 6 year old daughter after her last one of 4 years got dropped down the stairs. we looked at so many and despite the high price of this one we are so glad we made this purchase. the colour is fantastic, good quality sound and great size. I would happily watch movie on this DVD player"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is all it said it would be in the write-up
Posted22 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Raycee
From:Glamorgan
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"I wanted sharp definition and accurate colour on the screen to watch DVDs on holiday etc. and this provides that at a good price.Listening is better via good head set than the speakers. Controls are responsive through mini controller or on the set. Value for money is great, the player feels like a quality item."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent player
Posted18 January 2013
Customer avatar
By Colin
From:Cardiff
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
"Decent player, bought for long car journeys. The screen is a good size, brightness and clarity are enough for a portable. Charger reaches from front 12v socket to back seat no problem. File support has been great so far, it's played everything we've tried by USB or burnt to disc. Mounting bracket for the car is secure but a real pain to remove. Overall though very happy."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best dvd portable
Posted17 January 2013
Customer avatar
By mags
From:wrexham
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
"we went to egypt and watched 3 dvds and still had life in charge the flight was over 5 hours highly recomended good quality player"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted15 January 2013
Customer avatar
By mara
From:london
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"happy with the product, exactly what i expected"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase
Posted07 November 2012
Customer avatar
By kath
From:Staffordshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"This little beauty with 5 hrs battery life, kept our 3 kids entertained on our 5+ hr flight to and from Egypt, giving the fact Thomson don't do in flight entertainment on short haul flight, this was a god send. Good sound and picture, can't fault it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Happy Bunny"
Posted03 November 2012
Customer avatar
By JoolsG
From:United Kingdom
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"After reading many customer reviews I opted to purchase the Phillips PD9030/05 9 inch portable DVD player and I'm very pleased that I did!!
This DVD player is everything that I expected, excellent clear picture, very good sound quality and a very impressive 5hour viewing with just one charge.
I would recommend anyone in the market place looking to purchase a portable DVD player taking a look at this one. You will not be disappointed!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best buy
Posted26 October 2012
Customer avatar
By katerina
From:uk poole
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
"I bought DVD for my son to keep him entertained on the long jorney. It is simple to operate and the best feature is long battery life. DVD also comes with car charger, mains charger, cable for TV and car mount, so you do not need to buy any separate accessories. It also has a charging indicator, goes red when charging and the light goes off when fully charged. The image is not perfect as on the computer or TV screen but is OK. I would certainly recommend it to a friend. Thanks ARGOS"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.