Top-rated product
Sorry this product is currently unavailable. Please visit Argos for similar products.

Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.

<p>Enjoy all of your favourite movies with this portable Philips DVD player. Complete with 9in widescreen LCD screen, it has a built-in rechargeable battery which runs for an impressive 5 hours with one charge. It comes with a USB port allowing you to access your portable media and also includes a 12V car socket cable. </p><ul><li>9 inch.</li><li>LCD screen screenTFT LCD screen.</li><li>Resolution 640 x 234pixels.</li><li>Contrast ratio 450:1.</li><li>Brightness 100cd/m&sup2;.</li><li>Shock resistant.</li><li>DVD region 2.</li><li>Built-in rechargeable battery with 5 hours battery life during playback.</li><li>Operated via car socket (cable included).</li></ul><p>Connectivity:</p><ul><li>AV socket.</li><li>1 USB port.</li></ul><p>Sound quality:</p><ul><li>Built-in speaker.</li></ul><p>General information:</p><ul><li>Mains AC power adaptor included.</li><li>Remote control .</li><li>Size H3.9, W23.9, D17.8cm.</li><li>Weight 1100g.</li></ul><p>EAN: 8712581595739</p>
Overall rating:
4.659 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 91 reviews
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
86 of 9195%would recommend to a friend
Sort by Customer reviews for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Review 21 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philips DVD Player
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Debbie
From:Hertfordshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great DVD player. 5 hour battery. Feels sturdy which is good for kids."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Posted29 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Hayley
From:Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent Battery Life watched 2 films on plane and still had battery left to watch another film once at apartment, great buy :O)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posted22 April 2014
Customer avatar
By Neil69
From:Portsmouth, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Portability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very happy with overall purchase"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cannot fault this product
Posted19 March 2014
Customer avatar
By baggieboy61
From:Staffordshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Really purchased this for my granddaughter for car journeys but we've all used it.Good picture quality and sound (recommend some Philips headphones to go with it!)I read a review that complained about the green led light on the front of the unit being annoying,yes it is but nothing that a piece of tape can't sort out! Overall I'm really happy with this purchase and i would recommend it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
I also recommend:
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value for money
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By ROADRUNNER
From:uk
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great all-around product and well worth the money"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just loved the compact size and the pink case!
Posted18 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Gran
From:U.K
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"We have just tested the dvd player and were suprised at the picture quality and the easy to use instructions. The sound was ok as well, but as an experiment, we have attached our portable speakers to it and the quality improved so much, so we are very pleased with the set up. We understand the battery life is 4-5 hours, so have not tested that yet, hence the 3 stars."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy
Posted11 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Owensj
From:Flintshire
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Well made and with several useful functions."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent
Posted11 March 2014
Customer avatar
By bix
From:Telford, Telford and Wrekin, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this dvd player is really good with the 5hour battery power i can watch a film on the plane while travelling without it stopping before film has finished"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Portable DVD
Posted04 March 2014
Customer avatar
By Snug as a bug
From:West Sussex
Age:65 or over
Portability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Product OK but I wouldn't have purchased it from Argos if I had realised that the item was not covered by the 30 day return guarantee. The problems that I have had have been resolved directly from Phillips"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philips 9" portable DVD
Posted04 March 2014
Customer avatar
By JoanieC
From:Tyne and Wear
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great product with an amazing 5hr battery life."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great screen quality
Posted28 January 2014
Customer avatar
By anthony
From:wales uk
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Portability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picture Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Decided to buy this DVD player as Philips is a well known and trusted brand and I'm so glad I did...it will accept a USB drive pen so theres no need to carry DVDs around if you so choose.it will also play your music on USB or CDs too so a great combined player ,it has a headphone socket for private viewing/listening its also light to carry.picture quality is great with good colour rendition and combined with the 10 inch carrying case ( an extra purchase) from Argos is a must buy!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Portable dvd
Posted21 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Claire
From:Slough, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Brought for my 4 year old little boy Would not recommend this product took back after a week! Never lasted 5 hours of play and takes ages to charge up!
Picture good and sound but not for every day use
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
philips 9 inch dvd player
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By jagjones
From:lincoln lincolnshire
Age:65 or over
Gender:Male
"Excellent product, very pleased with the purchase,
and the price was unbeatable. first class.........
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Carol
From:Gloucestershire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
"Phillips Portable DVD purchased - thrilled with the quality of the product and reproduction on the 9" screen.- highly recommended"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just great
Posted14 January 2014
Customer avatar
By shabba
From:Yorkshire
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"I bought this portable dvd for my granddaughter to use in our caravan she is 6yrs old and she thinks it's great.its easy to use and she uses it with headphones while we watch the main TV. No faults at all."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large screen size adds to quality of viewing
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Mlel
From:Dumfriesshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
"Purchased this item for parents. Was worried about the fact it cannot be viewed while charging but this does not bother my parents who are quite happy to charge it up before watching a DVD. Sound quality good, picture good. The large screen is definitely worth the purchase."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Philips dvd ideal for journeys and holidays!
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Col1
From:UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Great picture quality; or you can just play your audio cds! A little bit noisy if not wearing headphones and your near to player!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best portable dvd on the market
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Jim
From:Leicester
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
"Good sound and picture well made brilliant 5 hour playback,don't buy a cheap one get this and it will last."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!!!
Posted09 January 2014
Customer avatar
By annie
From:derby
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
"This is a brilliant DVD player. I brought two others before this one and when the DVD was running you could hardly hear the film!! This one is quiet easy to use and lovely sound and picture I thoroughly recommend it ."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Philips PD9030/05 9 Inch Portable DVD Player.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch
Posted08 January 2014
Customer avatar
By Eddie
From:Aberdeenshire
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Picture Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Battery life 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this as a replacement for a lesser known brand which suffered a failure of it's earphone connection. We are very happy with this Philips model - all round quality is very good, it's got a decent sized screen, and I think it's got the best battery life on the market - which is very important considering you want it to last for at least 1 or 2 films between charges when you need it most - i.e. keeping the kids occupied on flights etc."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.